Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ethereal Plane

by ManicTheNobody - Jam Entry

This probably isn't worth playing because I only implemented the very basic mechanics.

Controls:
WAD or Arrow Keys to move, can also jump with space.
Press o to fire projectiles
Press the period key to switch the focus of the camera on the bottom screen.

Currently there is no way to win, but two ways to lose. You can lose if either your health or your castle health reach 0.

Non-gameplay related if you press F8 you'll enter the level editor. From there you can edit the level, but the controls are strange. Also, I didn't implement saving correctly, so no changes you make will be saved. It's still fun to play around in though.
Level Editor controls:
Arrow keys left and right to cycle through placeable tiles/spawn points;
[] to cycle between placing tiles and placing spawn points
T to switch from top world to bottom world
V to save changes
F8 to switch back to play mode. Fair warning, there's no input delay on this so you'll probably accidentally cycle back and forth between level editor and play mode.
Each level must have a player spawn on the top world and a castle, ally_spawn, and at least one ally_caster on the bottom world. Otherwise you get a NullPointerException and will have to redownload.

I plan on continuing to work on this game in the future, so if your interested check my website (http://www.manicthenobody.com) in a month or two and I'll probably have some updates. Right now that place is a wasteland.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2202Coolness0%

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:17am

I get an error message when I run it: "A Java Exception has occurred." I'm running Windows 8.1.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Silly me, I used Files instead of InputStreams. I'm away from the source code at the moment, but I'll fix that bug and reupload as soon as I can. Check back in a few hours.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Yay, I fixed it. If you downloaded the jar file at any point before this comment it wouldn't work. Go ahead and redownload for a working version

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:08am

Sorry to say this, but I also got the "Java Exception" error and I just downloaded it.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:10am

If that helps, I have Windows 7 Pro and Java 7.0.670

Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:54am

The project was compiled with JRE 1.8 compliance, so that may have something to do with it. If you could run the jar from the command line using "java -jar etherealPlane.jar" and get me the error log I may be able to figure something out.

doomista says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:53pm

here's the error:
java -jar etherealPlane.jar
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: core/Game : U
nsupported major.minor version 52.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$100(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at sun.launcher.LauncherHelper.checkAndLoadMain(Unknown Source)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Yup, that means you need to update Java to run it. If you have any reason not to update Java I wouldn't bother doing it just to try my "game".

Luthwyhn says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:08pm

I somehow managed to win(ish) - the dude on the bottom ended up lost in an infinite white world?

Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:31am

I suppose you could call that winning, as that is what happens when your allies kill all the enemies on the bottom screen. The infinite white world is the camera following your allies falling off the map.

fauge says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:27pm

interesting concept, controls are a little strange. o to fire? . to switch? decent graphics and animations for a 72h game

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]