Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Spacewatch

by sekaru - Jam Entry

Spacewatch is a procedurally generated pseudo-puzzle game. You are tasked with monitoring the solar system for threats as part of the "Solar System Space Watch". When a threat is detected, you need to send a transmission signal from your current planet to the distress planet. However, you can only transmit signals between planets that have one or more mutual languages. You need to quickly decide the best possible route with the least amount of links to get the highest scores.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#6Theme(Jam)4.36
#83Innovation(Jam)3.69
#137Overall(Jam)3.60
#203Fun(Jam)3.36
#377Audio(Jam)3.07
#450Graphics(Jam)3.21
#481Mood(Jam)2.92

Comments

Mali says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:50am

Game is really solid! Very well polished, I enjoyed it but struggled a bit because my eyes are bad with colours. I really liked the SFX for level complete, felt nice.

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:18am

Very enjoyable. I really liked the core mechanic of the languages and finding matches. Sometimes it seemed that it was impossible to find matches close enough to the planet to save it? But it's very possible that's just me being bad :P

Definitely unique, good gameplay mechanics. The sound added as well.

blindfox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:43pm

What a cool idea with the languages. My only complaint is that the text on planets usually just seems like gibberish and is preventing systems from seeming truly cohesive. I understand that that isn't the point, though.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Very solid idea, quite challenging too.

Freudian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Fun to play!, Unfortunatly I was unable to play it... I am colourblind :(

Dissiden7 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Took me a couple of tries to realise there was a time limit, but after I figured that out, it was very enjoyable. Nicely done.

kyru says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Good use of the theme and a neat puzzle game.

Z.B.G.E. says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:14pm

It was hard to find the good path the first time but finally I manage to find a way to the target many times after ;)
Good realisation

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:16pm

The limited time to setup the links made me lose many points :P
The game is nice, well done!

Binary Gambit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Not bad, took me a while to figure it out. Very polished but it would be nice if the arrow was more pointy towards the business end!

sekaru says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:30pm

@blindfox: they're aliens, they don't need to follow our language rules :p.
@freudian: sorry about that, not really sure what I could do about it.

Thanks everyone!

HellBlazer says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Very original concept, and the mechanics work quite well. Perfect idea for a game jam: simple but fun. Nice work!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Zooming out would be great!

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Loved the music and the mood.
10 gameover, to find the GPS arrow in the corner. I'm getting old!!

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:25pm

The polish is very nice, I dig it.

ZYXer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:08am

Quite innovative and promissing game mechanic!

I really like the look of the procedurally generated levels. But I have the feeling that the difficulty of the individual tasks is a bit arbitrary.

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:14pm

On my first three tries or so, I failed after only one or two connections, but on my last try I made it to 20k points before I quit because it didn't seem to get any harder. I found it a little annoying that you had to mouse over a planet and wait a bit before you could see the languages of that planet. The maximum distance of a link could also be visually presented so that the player won't have to keep guessing if the link can be made.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

lytedev says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:53am

Fun game! No audio, though on Windows 8 64bit. Took me a while to get good!

sekaru says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:07am

You sure you didn't mute it or something? I'm running Windows 8.1 64bit and the audio works fine. Did for other people too I assume.

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:15am

Cool concept, but I feel it's a bit hard. Remember that the developer often finds the game easier than most players. That being said, I enjoyed it, I'd say this was one of the better games I played. :)

Lvyn says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Great game ! Would be awesome on a tablet ! Sounds are good, the gameplay is simple and solid, graphics good, gratz !

bentog says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:15am

Cool game once I got the hang of it, very well polished. The sounds were great and the music too, but that lead synth got very annoying after some time. My high score was six thousand something, I don't know it exacly because the game didn't show it. With some other features it could be even better. Good job!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:38am

Took me a while to get the hang of this, but finally managed to finish about four in a row. Nice idea.

invader says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:35am

polished and really challenging game. The music and SFX are really setting the interplanetary mood.

+1 for portability, so I can play in on linux ;)

Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Wasnt really sure what to do but I included it in part 17 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/02vIiZyi3-c

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]