Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Earth Defense Team 2492

by Toestee - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In the year 2492, the only thing in the way of total destruction of the humanity's greatest achievement, The Moon Tether is the super cool Earth Defense Team. A skillful group of pilots spearheaded by the brave and amazingly awesome YOU. YOU command the entire sqaudron from the aptly named ship YOU's spaceship.


Controls:

Move the MOUSE to move

LEFT CLICK to shoot

SCROLL UP or SHIFT to enlarge

SCROLL DOWN or CTRL to shrink

ESC to exit


You can also check out my other games at http://toestee.itch.io/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#42Fun3.91
#133Innovation3.80
#226Overall3.56
#407Humor2.55
#452Graphics3.23
#486Mood3.07
#725Audio2.38
#934Theme2.63

Comments

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:29am

The swarming effect looks really cool, and I love the density and concentration of fire mechanic.

soyliquid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:47am

Interesting about controlling the swarm of fighters as player. looks bustling and fun.

bakwards says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:03am

Controlling a swarm of fighters - brilliant

SkyWolf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:16am

Tight, but kind of ear deafening. :P

Demorro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:38am

Played this one for a long time, the swarm mechanic is something I haven't seen before. Liked how there was a boss at the end too.

NnelGdaBandit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:41am

Freaking sweet! Controlling a swarm of fighters is a lot of fun. Would be cool if you can jump between formations.

saguaro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:42am

I really dig the enlarge/shrink mechanism. Very cool idea. I enjoyed this one.

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:43am

Nice Work! I loved the idea of this game. And it was pretty addicting for how short it was.

Piat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:15am

Sweet mechanic of making your swarm larger and smaller. I felt like it was best to stay small most of the time. I think a good addition would be if the enemies had some AOE damage, which you would take more damage from if you are smaller. I think that would give me more incentive keep changing sizes.

porglezomp says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:26am

It was fun controlling the fleet, they looked really nice as they moved, and it was very interesting to be able to change the spread.
First of all, it was disappointingly short. I know you had 48 hours, so it's obvious why.

I also felt like once you started losing ships, it would just reinforce your losses, making it even harder to do well. This kind of negative reinforcement doesn't feel like very good design to me, although it didn't kill me. I'm not sure if you need to worry about this point, to be honest, but it does bug me.

Also, it was annoying that I couldn't aim very precisely. I think my ships should be able to aim very slightly so that they can line up with the advancing ships. I don't know if this would be too OP, but it seem like it would be more fun if it wasn't.

I think this game could be pretty fun, but right now aside from the swarming fleet it's a bit dry.

PixelFeet says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:38am

I love the idea of changing the size of your formation. It adds a cool strategic function to the game.

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 5:51am

That was pretty fun! The swarm was easy to control with mouse and it felt very natural. Agree with NnelGdaBandit about the formations, being able to to toggle between some presets would have been cool for different attack patterns.

Also, POOP

mess110 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:02am

cool swarm

maad9 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:05am

I love that game mechanics, good job! :)

Lythom says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:11am

Hi, here's some feedback.

What I liked :
- controling a full esquadron in a shump is an original idea
- reactive controls makes the game pretty fun
- Full playable game with intro and proper end

What imo could be improved :
- Audio is a bit agressive, and fact it repeats ALOT does not help. Still, I could play the entire game without cutting the sound so it's not that bad either.
- Graphics are basics but you already got some correct lightings, could be improved with some texturing.
- The theme is used in a very common way, I'm pretty suure that even with a similar gameplay something more original could be found

Overall I enjoyed the play, thanks for the game !

ajopart says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:24am

Very nice idea and solid build ! But I did all the game with my squad "shrinked" to the max. More firepower and less risk to be hit. Maybe you should add some features to encourage players to enlarge the squad. Great job anyway !!

nosfer says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:00am

swarm effect is cool, reminds me of Wonderful 101 on WiiU. You could add formations and special attacks

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]