Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Frankie Goes to Heaven

by ShellfishGames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

2D Platformer/Adventure. With bits of exploration, puzzle solving etc. and a relatively complex dialogue system.

Only runs on Windows, requires DX 9.0c.

Controls: WASD/Arrowkeys to move, Space/Shift to Jump, P to Pray, CTRL to use pickaxe, ALT to use grappling hook.

Note: During some of the dialogues, you may end up saying something stupid that prevents you from finishing the game. So if you want to see it all, make sure to not insult or provoke anybody, especially God or the Angel of Death. Also, there's strict punishment for atheism in the game, so if you happen to be an atheist, better don't tell any of the NPCs*.

Enjoy!


*if this isn't clear, this game is meant to be a joke. I'm agnostic, so religious indoctrination certainly isn't on my list of cool things. Just saying. :>

- - - - -

Please note I added an enhanced version to the download list. This new version includes improved controls (CTRL + Alt replaced by Q and E), slightly better hook controls, the possibility to skip the intro screens (by pressing enter), game saving (automatically at a few points within the game, will show on screen), possibility to respawn at the last checkpoint at any time (so no more getting stuck anywhere), screen settings (settings.txt file contains both window/fullscreen option and resolution) and a few minor tweeks. It's still the same game, just more user friendly. So I'd recommend playing this new version instead.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#20Humor4.04
#297Audio3.17
#318Fun3.33
#340Mood3.25
#363Overall3.40
#704Graphics2.88
#749Theme2.96
#1013Innovation2.46
#1542Coolness41%

Comments

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:53am

Too bad it's Windows only, it looks quite nice and I'd like to try it.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Sorry about that yodamaster, one of the downsides of using Dark Basic. :/

For those who can play it: Note that it's possible that some of the dialogues don't quite work as expected. Considering this is how I created them: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/13847228/frankie_dialogue.png (and there are about 10 of similar complexity). However, I went through the game multiple times without problems, so I hope it works out for you as well.. :)

Donar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Well done, dude. The first runs was over pretty fast because I'm an atheist but now I know better ;)

Nice idea to disguise as a person everyone knows. This way you know exactly what to do, when you get stuck.

I liked it, so have a good rating ;)

hungyg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:32pm

Very cool game! Unfortunately I managed to grapple out of the level in the underworld at one point, and couldn't get back. Had a lot of fun however, the dialogs were very entertaining. Also don't use Alt as a button please, as it kept getting a context menu out together with spacebar. Great job!

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Haha those dialogs options are hilarous! :D
Great game too, though it was not very clear the first time that red tiles were lava...

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:59pm

@Donar you have been warned! :P

@hungyg How did you do that? Where? Didn't even know that was possible.. :D Sorry about the Alt thing, didn't know that could be a problem. Guess I'll upload a post-comp version at some point with X as grapple button.

Thanks for all the feedback!

DrMelon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Been a while since I saw DarkBasic getting some use! Interesting and humourous game! :D

Zupoman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Excellent game. Great music, really funny dialogues. Though, I got stuck in the Underworld, behind a large wall of gravel (that kind of wall you can't use grappling hook on). Praying haven't helped. I think I wasn't supposed to go there.

Conk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Nice length, didn't finish it though, got stuck using the grapple, quite hard to control (plus, with the controls, I either open the file menu or turn on sticky keys :/ that's jump and grapple). I feel the background makes the art look quite poor, if you kept the same style, would've looked a lot better. Good job though!

c023-dev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Yey! I'm on my way to HELL! Yipiee! Free beer! ... not to sure about the religious content. I just stuck to the dark skinned guy at the beginning, smoking hell herbs and talking about girls... guess I belong in hell then. =) ... other than the religious stuff it was all functional and playable good work and congratulations on finishing!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Yeah, sorry about the controls. I didn't think that far and it didn't cause any problems here. :|

For those of you who either can't play the game or weren't able to finish it, here's a complete walkthrough video of the game: http://youtu.be/zVFOd9icIp8 (at 6:00 I leave hell, at 12:00 I get the hook)

I'd still recommend playing it - if you can - as the dialogue options can indeed make a bit of a difference (you don't necessarily have to turn the lake into wine, for instance, you can also convince the guy otherwise to just give you the hook). On the other hand, it's less focused on gameplay than the whole "journey" which you can watch as spectactor just as well. So I guess that's up to you. :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:00pm

The enhanced version is now online. Controls are fixed, so is the problem of getting stuck at dead ends (you can respawn at the last checkpoint now manually, which hopefully solves this issue). Furthermore the game saves your progress, so no need to play through in a single session.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Fun little game, got me hooked til the end.I think I played enhanced version and have some glitch that made water, lava and the main character invisible and visible each step...but it was fully playable. Nice entry!!

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:26am

Realy nice entry! I had lots of fun with Frankie and his quest. Very original idea and execution, the graphics could be more polished but sound and gameplay are very well done.
I'm never pirating a game ever again xo

Tanser says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:00am

The introduction was nice but a bit slow. I love the music, makes unique atmosphere! The graphics are nice though the player could be viewed from the same angle as the cubes rather than being flat 2d image.

camlang says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 11:22am

Nice little game! Good entry.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]