Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Slay Zone

by iossif - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Welcome to the SLAY ZONE!

You will assist two battlefield commanders during their endless struggle. No matter how many troops they slay and send to their enemy - there can never be an end to this fight because they are bonded together for all eternity. If one of them falls, the other perishes as well.

Keep them alive during three different stages!

-------------------------
created for ludumdare by @iossif in 48 hours
-------------------------

HOTW:

since some people asked about controls:
- press UP and DOWN to select rows.
- press RIGHT or LEFT in the selected row to slay the monster on that side
- the monster needs to be in the slay zone when you press LEFT or RIGHT
- your attacks have cooldowns so you cannot spam attacks. the green bar next to the two characters on the bottom of the screen shows the cooldown time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#328Innovation3.45
#375Audio3.00
#424Graphics3.29
#456Fun3.15
#543Overall3.22
#568Mood2.97
#637Theme3.15
#673Humor2.16

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:50am

Cool game! Challenging. I included it in my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/CHUuhEZvNWU

Njord says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:21am

I'm having a hard time understanding the controls, maybe a tutorial screen would help ! The music is nice.

iossif says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:24am

i added some text that may help you :) it is too late for tutorial screens i am afraid :)

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:40am

Interesting idea!

Sharkxx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:44am

Really funny game but and not that easy after the 5 row i can keep up with both sides but still very fun

iSamurai says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:52am

Nice game, though the control is a bit confusing.

gwa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:03am

Nice one the text here is enough for me to understand. I wish me a little more feedback for the punches. I sometimes have the feeling nothing happens than i am punching. But i like it.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:22am

Wow, that's a really fun gameplay mechanic! If you'd have more diverse enemies and stuff to make your choices more strategical... well then it'd be even beter! :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:45pm

That really gets frantic, controls feel great, soundtrack fits the pace perfectly.

duncankeller says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:56am

Great mechanic, I enjoyed the game a lot. I think better music and more sound, as well as just a better presentation all around would have gone really far. As it stands, it's still a lot of fun.

LeafThief says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:22am

Great gameplay! I think the connection through the controls works really great. And it's challenging!

Really great work for 48h!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:55am

This game has so much going for it, but it feels like the components don't exactly match each other. Sprites look good, and music is good but it doesn't really match the tone of the game. It wasn't hard for me--didn't lose a single HP--but I had to concentrate with each attack creating another problem. I would have liked it if the waves actually needed to be completed to progress to the next level, as I would have had a better sense of what was happening... I agree with the other posters. More juiciness all 'round to add to the succulent gameplay!

iossif says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:38am

@Victory Garden: i did write a postmortem that may clear up a few things: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/08/28/the-slay-zone-postmortem/

DhantonGames says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:00am

At first It was difficult to understand what to do, but the game idea is really cool and it was fun after all. 4/5.

dunin says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:21am

I like the "card style" of units and the music.
The mecanic is simple but challenging...

Stending says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:32am

Nice idea and pretty cool graphics!
I just don't like the white background. That make a too big contrast with the medieval/fantasy theme

jawm says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:57am

good game, not intuitive but once i got going it's quite fun

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:33am

Hi there. Interesting approach. Scored 293, but I felt as though the up-down movement was impossible to be fast enough by then. The left-right attack move feels the wrong way around to me... not sure. Shame no attack/combat noise. Good job!

MintArcade says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Controls are bit odd, but idea is interesting, very interesting.

H1S2 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:50pm

stopped at 10584 points. After you have the right technique its pretty simple ;) I really liked the gameplay and more levels would be really appreciated :) good job

SelfishGenome says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Really like the concept of them being linked together and continuously fighting. It did get quite hard when things picked up with the controls, maybe could do with a faster method of killing the enemies.

spotco says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:00am

Novel concept, though didn't really get hooked on the gameplay. I would have wanted more variety in actions taken.

Moosefly says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 10:47pm

I don't understand the people saying it was easy, my best score after a few tries was a measly 597 :(. Some feedback would definitely have been cool, but good job for a compo entry anyways! I didn't find the music fitting though.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]