Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Orbital Kombat

by Adjotur - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hope you like it! It's inspired by arcade fighting games like Mortal Kombat and Streetfighter. Struggled to get a solid idea with the theme and the gameplay is kind of all the same but the most difficult AI is actually rather challenging. Controls can be found in game. Control to open help can also be found in game.

All source/resources/sounds are a separate download. Long story short the source might be messed up (Deleted the wrong file, ended up having to decompile my Jar to get the source back) so if it is just drop me a comment and i'll look into it.

--- JRE 1.7 or higher required to play ---


Sidenote : Forgot to include it in the game but you can in fact use the arrow keys as a substitute control for A and D. My bad!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#204Humor3.00
#428Innovation3.32
#431Audio2.89
#565Fun3.04
#669Theme3.11
#697Overall3.07
#707Mood2.81
#757Graphics2.79

Comments

sharpcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:39am

+1 for recognizing pluto as a planet :D This is a cool concept, though I found the controls really hard to master. And I kept getting stuck in the CPU. Fun idea, nice job!

C_Walden says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:45am

Had sound, which is a plus. The music was unpleasant; just a repeating bass beat. Interesting concepts of planets battling each other, but I didn't really get the "connected" part of "connected worlds". Controls are awkward, having to play with one hand.

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:10am

Ha ha, this game is ridiculous. Hilarious take on the theme. I found the controls kind of stiff, but it was still fun. More variety between the "planets" would be an improvement. :)

Mali says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Very literal interpretation of the image Ludum Dare used when they tweeted the theme! I like it. Controls were wonky and I didn't like the font. Graphics could have done with some work too and like sharpcoder said I also kept getting stuck in the opponent. Still fun though, better planet graphics and better controls would make it better.

esayitch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Hiya,
I liked the concept, but I think you could have used the theme better... there is no "connection" here.
I liked the circular move pattern and the controls seemed suited for it. Nice entry, good luck!

kyru says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Fun idea, making worlds connect with a punch is good theme work.

micdoodle8 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Nice game, though I don't see how it's connected worlds when they're fighting ;)

Flyinpig5 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Good use of the theme. Certainly a difficult game :D

Amvere says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Nice game! I like your take on the theme. A lot of people have already commented on the controls feeling awkward, but that is the main thing I noticed to improve. Mainly I wanted to be able to shoot without having to take my finger off of movement.

Adjotur says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:14am

I guess I neglected to mention anywhere that you can also use the arrow keys to control. Whoops.

Adjotur says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:15am

(I think, not sure if I left that in)

Adjotur says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:15am

Yes. Yes I did.

OFF says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:42pm

The idea is pretty funny, but as comabt game, it's maybe two simple, but that's the first 1D combat game. With variety in the size of the planet, and maybe on trajectory it could be a more "gravity" like combat game : if you have to fight Jupiter don't come too close, because of the size, but you can easily target it with an asteroid from far.

But actually the idea of making fight with planet itself is really new.

Put a K to combat and add some fatalities! :D

Spang says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:54am

Nice Entry, I had a great time playing it. (Even that is a little difficult). :)

PinkNinja says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:22am

Pretty cool. The controls are a little bit difficult, i think it would be better to use both hands (one for move and the other for attacks and shield, for example). I like a lot you add AI to the game :)

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:33am

Solid entry, I love me some fighting games(great audio for that)! ;) The gameplay itself was interesting, but I like to know when my cooldowns are done so that would be a great change. And maybe variety as someone else said. Thank you for some variation in games though!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]