Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Savior: Saver of Souls

by John Drury - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Welcome to my best project to date!

Savior: Saver of Souls, is an Endless Arcade Action-Platformer. It features multiple powerups, outrageously fiery hazards and a leader board!

A small village is set ablaze and the inhabitants are running around frantically for their lives. You come from a parallel plane of to transfer the souls of the villagers to safety! Armed with your cosmic blaster, you will release the villagers suffering poor souls into a new world of freedom.

Tips--

+ Focus on SAVING SOULS to achieve SUPPLY DROPS
+ Utilize SUPPLY DROPS when your current POWER UPS expire
+ Effectively wrap around the screen to avoid HAZARDS and SAVE SOULS
+ Utilize DROP-THROUGH and AIR-JUMP to reach POWER UPS floating above LAVA
+ Destroy BIG ROCKS to have a chance in obtaining a POWER UP
+ VILLAGERS may be used to block ROCKS
+ Utilize the shield to run through HAZARDS to escape sticky situations

Please provide feedback and suggestions on how to improve this game!

Thank you for your time and ENJOY! :3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#13Fun4.11
#89Overall3.80
#163Audio3.44
#174Mood3.48
#175Humor3.09
#218Graphics3.67
#697Innovation2.99
#1032Theme2.40

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:53am

I love how hyper-energetic this game is.

chartinboy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:59am

Woah! This game is done...it feels like a proper, worked-on-for-more-than-48-hours game! Challenging, but rewarding. Great work!

Sequenceko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:00am

Very fun game, nice music!

LaFleur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:29am

Great game! Quite hectic, in a good way! Bookmarked to play again later!

lucienpro says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:40am

Awesome, just awesome. It had cool music, cool weapons, cool graphics, well, the only thing that wasn't cool was the lava :D Well done, seemed really polished. It was really fast-paced.

eatsleepindie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Feels incredibly complete for an LD game. Awesome job, lots of fun to play and I really like how fast paced the action is. This is on my list of games to come back and play simply because I enjoyed it so much.

lkr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Very fun game!
Loved the graphics, sound/music and gameplay :)

Ariake81 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:49pm

good work, very Super Crate Box but that's no bad thing!

esayitch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:52pm

10/10 you should sell this. Polished experience, frantic and a whole lotta fun.

maad9 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Nice game, simple and cool. Really good job! ;)

Zoomyzoom says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:10pm

This shizzle be crazy dawg! Nice job man :D

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Extremely hectic! And fun.

Donutttt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Cool game. Liked the graphics and music. Hectic!

SgtGorm says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Really nice game!

Macocco says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Really fun(ny) game! Sound can get a little annoying after some time but the hectic and energetic gameplay counters that.

elliottd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:46am

I like the super cratebox style weapon variation. also love the theme reversal on the targets. you are saving them with ice instead of killing them. sounds and music go nicely with the visuals. good job

BillToWin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:57am

Really epic. Great pixel, great music, great sound. The audio-visual cues and the controls are really tight which bring this "Endless Arcade Action-Platformer" to a whole other level. Amazing All round. A+

ehtd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:24am

136!

nonetheless says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:26am

Starts slow but after a moment it's getting fun. Not everyday people thank me for shooting ,erm... saving..., them :)

lekochen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:45am

Very energetic and fun! 303!

John Drury says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:04am

Hey guys!

Thanks for rating and commenting! It's nice to hear everyone is enjoying it. I have wiped the leader boards so enjoy :3

kidando says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:01am

Epic... fun! That was very refreshing. Awesome game. I can only hope that you will continue it after the compo. Really awesome stuff.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:03pm

I love the super-caffeinated-action feel of it and how the little guys thank me for shooting them into freedom. 109! I'm rubbish!

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:58pm

I really enjoyed the feel of this. Got pretty challenging once the lava rose - I haven't been able to get past 130 yet.

vicious_br says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Great game made in Construct 2. I am impressed more and more with this software. Good Job, very immersive

mramaizng says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Lots of good qualities on this one. Great job!

Takashy87 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Really fun game :)

fraxken says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Cool game!

Capitals says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Concrete fighting mechanics, I would like a bit of back-story to really round this off.

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:51pm

YES! This was awesome. One of the most fleshed out, solid games I've played for sure. Very brilliant entry.

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:53pm

YES! This was awesome. One of the most fleshed out, solid games I've played for sure. For the future maybe add different level layouts.
Really brilliant entry.

alvivar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:37am

full arcade experience. fun++

Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:27am

Yeah, this is a very finished-feeling game in a lot of ways! I'm impressed.

leafarz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:38pm

i like how some bullets go in different curves and directions! but there are a lot more reasons to be voted up for. simple yet fun game to play. good job!

TheExGenesis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Very enjoyable! Very Super Crate Boxy, if you've played it, which you must. Good job!

gnx says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Very polished and really fun arcade game. I think it is quite challenging to do a varied an interesting single screen game, but this one uses the available space really well.

Polona says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Awesome game!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:56am

Thats cool! Nice fast-paced platformer! Sounds are great!

creative630 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:04am

Loved this! Had a ton of fun with it an played it over and over again.

I loved that the game was about rescuing people by shooting them in the face! Made for such a great experience.

Great concept and a real joy to play through. You should definately take it further!

I look forward to spending more time with this after I try play the remaining 2487 LD30 entries I haven't got to yet.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:10am

Lovely art, dynamic gameplay! Totally enjoyed this one!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Ah, the type of game that I love to play and wish I could write. Bookmarking this to come back to after LD judging.

It most definitely has a "one more go factor". I died lots, but kept coming back. It's reminiscent of Super Crate Box whilst being very different. I love the powerups, and it's incredibly polished.

Cracking good game!

stasss says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:10pm

))Nice. Good dynamic!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Really enjoyed it! Stressful! Great action all time!

Artamus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:10am

Nice game, congrats!

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:26pm

It got a Vlambeer feels, that is good. I like it

ambi says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:33pm

I liked the music and the gameplay was good.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Fun to play, nice audio

steve says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Fun little shooter, being able to shoot+collect the same targets made for some interesting gameplay, good work!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:38am

5 days post compo and no source? What gives?

LTyrosine says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:28am

133 salved souls =D
Amazing game.

Good:
+ Furious gameplay (and fun)
+ Upgrades that really change game experience
+ A leaderboard in a 48 hours game. How cool is that?

Bad:
- Loose theme connection

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:34am

This is great fun to play.
You created a likeable visual style and the sound effects work perfectly!
Going back to play more!

Oana says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:08am

Not bad! Not bad at all! It is a pretty fun game with a clear objective. Graphics are ok for their purpose. The controls feel a bit floaty, but good. I like that you have powerups. It is rather funny that you can just shoot villagers to collect their souls... Also the leaderboard is working strangely... putting out the google ID rather than the name.

As for improvements, just make the controls tighter maybe. Also, I kind of dislike that when you go off to one side you appear in the other. It is rather confusing, but that's just a personal preference.

P.S. I think you need to share your source code too for the 48h compo.

ALobker says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Really fast-paced game. Fun and very well executed.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Great game, fast-paced and well polished. Well done!!

John Drury says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Sorry for late upload one the source guys.

It's now up, along side a windows and mac client version for your pleasure! :D

mechabit says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:46am

wow amazingly polished for a jam game
the "save souls by shooting them" is a bit of a stretch to fit the theme but loads of fun all the same

spotco says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:21am

Fun action shooter game, though a little repetitive (wish there were more enemy types/etc!)

Tosic says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:09am

A really nice game, I like the fact it starts fast and goes even faster! :D

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:01am

Love it, add some screenshake in there!

egos says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:36am

so nice and fun
gameplay bug
Position too the right or left side of the screen and shoot you observe that you shot in all direction and never lose

rjhelms says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Wow, this feels amazing! Very slick arcade style.

I agree with others that the connection to the theme is a little lose, but I've got no other criticisms - this is great!

grillaface says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Love the controls.

Sep 9, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Psssst.... You are in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XshA79i3By8

oobie says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 7:51am

Overall this was awesome! Loved it and I think you should further develop this!

alpha_rat says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Great game, very dynamic !

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Souls Saved: 100. Liked the power ups!

01010111 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Super awesome game! I love the energy, powerups are great, especially the missiles :D

Pavel says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:55am

Great game. Super graphics and music. Enjoyed playing.

May 8, 2015 @ 2:47am

Source Link is broken

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]