Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

World Absorber

by crneumre - 48 Hour Compo Entry

World Absorber is a puzzle game about connecting different worlds to get their abilities and using those abilities to get to the exit.

If you get stuck or don't understand how the game works here is the solution for the first level.

There are 2 worlds,in the first you can't jump high enough to get to the exit,the exit only exists in the first world, in the second world your jump height is increased and you can jump high enough to get to the exit in the first world.

The solution is you press Space to make a connection press 1 for the world that is going to absorb the properties of an other world,and then press 2 to choose the absorbed world.

The first world receives the properties of the second allowing you to jump high enough and get to the exit.

Also i posted gifs of how to pass some levels.
Notice the connection icon in the top left corner.
Level 1-http://i.imgur.com/vWtehMm.gif
Level 2-http://i.imgur.com/CHp0G95.gif
Level 5(The first level with the three worlds)-http://i.imgur.com/uXTPBfJ.gif

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#171Innovation3.71
#222Theme3.71
#820Fun2.74
#889Humor1.75
#905Overall2.84
#1074Mood2.14
#1074Graphics2.21

Comments

wolfmother says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:15am

Mechanics are obtuse and difficult to understand. Couldn't get past the first puzzle. :/
Am I missing something?

crneumre says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:15am

Ye I should have spent more time explaining the game.
I'll provide the solution for the first one.
There are 2 worlds,in the first you can't jump high enough to get to the exit,the exit only exists in the first world, in the second world your jump height is increased and you can jump high enough to get to the exit in the first world.
The solution is you press Space to make a connection press 1 for the world that is going to absorb the properties of an other world,and then press 2 to choose the absorbed world.
The first world receives the properties of the second allowing you to jump and get to the exit.

Transmit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:48pm

I had a very hard time trying to work out what I was supposed to be doing.

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Quite confusing.

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Wow - absolutely terrific concept. The controls and mechanics are difficult to learn, as noted. Providing a solution for the first level helped a lot. I'm glad I spent the time to learn, as it's actually a very rewarding game!

I'm stuck on the first level with 4 worlds. Oh well - I'm sure I'll figure it out.

One critique is that when there are three worlds, the solution to room 1 is often the same as the solution to room 2. Perhaps that's remedied when there's 4 worlds. I'll keep trying to beat this level and find out ;)

BinaryPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Very cool idea, nice take on the theme. Definitely could use some sort of tutorial, but fun once you get it.

Ekilibr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:56pm

A few bugs, and the GUI isn't truely clear, but the idea is great and the game is good and absolutely in the theme !

Well done !

miotatsu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:59pm

I think it's neat and the puzzles are very creative, but the mechanics are implemented in an extremely confusing way and the controls are qwerty specific which makes them very strange for us non-qwerty users :p

Squidtank says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Great concept. For me, it was a bit hard because I instinctively always press "spacebar" to jump and since that makes a connection it would really mess me up, hah.

JNyknn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Confusing gameplay and hard-to-understand controls: I could not get pass the third puzzle. For some reason this is not a bad thing: I like games that have their own logic.

crneumre says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Hey everyone,
Thank you all for the feedback.
This was my first try at creating a puzzle game and i learned a lot through the process and through your feedback.
I'll be working on a post compo version improving a lot of stuff like better introducing the player to the mechanics of the game,fixing a few levels and bugs and polishing the game more.
Thank you for playing and providing your feedback :)

esayitch says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:35am

Pretty cool concept, I really liked it! At the second level I jumped high out of the screen and didn't drop back in :(

Could do with some animations and sfx, but right now it's a great concept with neat mechanics that still need some fleshing out. Great effort!

Dohan says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:33pm

The concept is interesting, but I got stuck at the first level with 3 worlds, having reached the door. Here's a screenshot in case it's a bug: http://i.imgur.com/RYFTcX5.jpg

Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Nice concept, taking the properties of a world into another. Difficult to understand too. Got stuck in a stage with three worlds

crneumre says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:01am

The first level with the three worlds requires to get a cube from the second world to activate the door in the first.
I uploaded a Walkthrough gif of that level:http://i.imgur.com/uXTPBfJ.gif
Thank you for the feedback : )

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:19am

So many levels and so beautifully constructed, I have no words! I did not have any issues in uncovering the solution to the puzzles, they felt very intuitive, until rooms 1-4 appeared, the third or second of those type. I played until then and I loved it. Great job!

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:38am

It is really difficult to figure out how this works, but once figured out it's pretty great. Really need to work on a tutorial next time, though.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:47am

It was really confusing what you were supposed to do. Once I got it the puzzles were pretty fun. Sometimes it was difficult to know what the difference was in each of the worlds. Interesting idea!

oakus says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:52am

Once I understood the mechanics, game started to be actually really fun. Give it nice graphics, a tutorial and you have very original platformer.

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:20pm

A very cool idea, but needs a better tutorial and controls. I loved the mechanic enough to keep playing though! Good job.

malf says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Weird... but incredible fun. One of my favorites

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]