Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Bacon Uprising

by Tigro - 48 Hour Compo Entry

April 6th, 2056
5:50 PM

20 years after discovering that bacon strips are, in fact, sentient beings, they decide to stand up against the human tyranny and assemble back into the pig form thus starting The Bacon Uprising.

Help four leaders of the Bacon Resistance Army defeat humans in the exhausting trials separating them from being a pig once again.

=== Controls ===

Shitload of controls so I recommend learning by doing until it's natural rather than trying to memorize. Anyway:

- WSAD + spacebar for the leftmost game
- alternate O and P mashing for the middle-left
- arrows for middle-right
- number keys (either numpad or the one-strip ones) for the rightmost game

== Walkthrough ===

If you want to throw the PC out your window already but wanna see the ending before doing that, I got you covered:

As soon as the game starts, type 68713 as those are the respective solutions to the rightmost game and they never change. This will leave you with three games instead of four.

Then, swiftly mash O and P a few times so that the bar gets fuller and take your plane to the right cause being at the center, it's prone to many more crashes and shots. In the meantime try to nail a few steps in the dancing game cause every missed arrow reduces your HP by 10 (100 total). Don't overdo it, though, since the dancing game is the easiest on your HP among those four, with the plane one being the most deadly.

Shortly, the dancing game should finish and you'll be left with only the two leftmost games. Try to stay off the homing missiles by flying upwards (you're faster going forward than backward and they most likely won't catch you before exploding). Bam, done!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#27Humor3.93
#221Innovation3.61
#413Fun3.21
#501Audio2.79
#514Theme3.32
#530Mood3.02
#628Overall3.14
#747Graphics2.81

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:19am

These worlds are totally connected, I don't think my brain is capable though. Maybe I'll get 4 friends camped out on the same keyboard :)

Foofur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:52pm

aaaah! it's so HARD!

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:56pm

I have barely managed to survive in first two "screens". This is probably the harders game I've played EVER! (but it was quite fun)

hate-marina says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Impossibru!

goffmog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:04pm

This is what happens when you have indigestion after breakfast.

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:39pm

This is hard, but fun. I like the music. GJ.

Donutttt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Insane!

renatopp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:54pm

The puss* difficulty seems to be broken (opened the credits screen).

I don't know, it seems impossible to play 4 too different and fast games at the same. I'm also not sure how it is connected to the theme.

Nanocentury says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:58pm

literally died of laughter.

Tigro says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Thank you very much for all the kind words :)

renatopp - that's the whole joke with that difficulty... :D And as for it being hard, there's a walkthrough in the description :)

micdoodle8 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Nice job, but didn't last more than about 10 seconds :P

Marcellus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:22pm

I love the idea. It's pretty challenging and looks like the kind of game I wanted to make for this LD (I didn't succeed tho...)

Great overall job !

RFMTeam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:43pm

this is super funny, also very challenging. Love it!

granut100 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:28am

Very funny & good game and I didn't realize how hard it is to multitask till now! :)

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:28am

Definitely not something I'd have expected. You certainly have a creative mind.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:31am

Good humor. Hardcore gaming heaven!

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:10am

Very innovative, and funny!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:38pm

That ending screen gave me a heart attack, oh my god.

REALLY HARD, even with the walkthrough. (And people thought my game was difficult? Pshaw.) But the humor makes it great rather than frustrating. I loved this game to pieces and I hope you win the funniest game award.

spotco says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:04am

I REAAAALLLY love this idea. Sure the execution (making 4 games at once) was a little unpolished, but loved the final product.

Artamus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Nice game, congrats!

mrjohnson22 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:27pm

That was certainly...an experience. :P I don't know what I would have done without the walkthrough, haha! Funny stuff, and the overwhelming sensory overload was a blast.

jahmaican says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:13am

Hilarious!

Tigro says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Thank you all very much for the kind words! :)

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Interesting approach, though I do feel sometimes less is more :)

klianc09 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:24pm

The walkthroughs, they do nothing!

This is just jokingly hard. The walkthrough brings it from "What the hell is going on?!" to "How am I supposed to do that?!".

Still the music was nice to listen to, although it repeated like endless.

It wasn't very obvious at first, where the arrows have to be in the dance game in order to be accepted.

I will probably get another laugh out of this when I give it to some friends to "try it out" because it's "sort of a challenge" and then watch them suffer. >:D

swich says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:43am

Nice idea. It would help if you were in control of less games.. like 2 at once is more than enough for a human. ;) For example the focused sub-games could be automatically switched by the main game.
But I managed to beat it anyway, by getting rid of the easiest ones first and then playing just the remaining 2. :)

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Ahah, lots of fun, but this is way too much sand for my truck. But I still won on the pussy mode :p

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 3:00am

This falls under the "Keep Ludum Dare Weird" banner. Keep making games like these! (Thanks for the walkthrough, by the way.)

dylanigan says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Quite hard but still loved it!

Tigro says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 10:45am

Thanks a lot for all the insight and positive feedback :)

Yword says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Wow, the idea is very unique and the story is very funny! Well done!

Sep 13, 2014 @ 10:01pm

I liked that in spite of how chaotic it was, it still felt like it was beatable :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]