Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Last Call For Magrathea

by nintendoeats - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Relive the last days of Man's first and only extra-universal colony.

I must apologize for the way I handled the menus. I do not recommend playing the game at an unusually high or low resolution (typical resolutions like 1080P and 1024 * 768 will be fine). If I could do it all over again, I wouldn't have done them that way.

The camera is controlled with the arrow keys or WASD. Escape to quit. Space to skip the intro. All other controls are mouse based.

Special thanks to my mother for the VOs.

OK, OK TUTORIALIZING: Ideally you would discover how the game worked through experimentation, but I accept that most people don't want to spend half an hour playing an LD game. So here are the basics:

-Magrathea has needs that you need to fulfill in order to keep the population going up
-Manufacturing happens automatically (at different rates depending on the item), but you can have one item accelerated.
-Add items to a ship. When it is launched, it will go to Dali first.
-Click the arrows next to a universe to move the currently docked ship to a different universe. Collision detection on them is a bit fidgy, but click 2 or 3 times and they will work.
-Some universe connections are one way. A thick line that tapers to a thin one indicates direction of travel.
-Different universes have different effects on your cargo which happen over time. The descriptions are clues as to what might happen. For example, Einstein (accelerates time) turns pets into food, food into penicillin and penicillin into carbon.
-Not all items can be manufactured, some need to be produced by a universe!


//BugFix: menus are now scrollviews, so all manufactureable items are available
//BugFix: Population now adjusts correctly and won't go negative. Accompanied by minor balance tweak.
//BugFix: Timer now stops at game end.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#223Audio3.31
#231Innovation3.59
#279Theme3.63
#292Humor2.81
#331Mood3.26
#583Graphics3.06
#585Fun3.00
#676Overall3.09

Comments

sharpcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:46am

Nice game! The UI mechanism was pretty unique and may be something that could be polished up. Especially because items seemed to become unreachable due to their scaling (as you pointed out already). Otherwise though, cool concept. Good job! And I liked the intro.

ruthiepee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:17am

Well, it took me a little while to get the hang of it but in the end it was pretty fun. Somehow I ended with a population of -25, lol. My highest was 995. Those people use too many damn toothbrushes. I think you know the main weakness of the game is the placement of the menus, i.e. the "items needed" window being too far from the other windows. A static interface would probably have been easier to use. But I want you to know the sound effects and the "item needed" voiceovers are great! It makes it feel like you're really controlling the flow of the space toothbrushes. Thanks for submitting. I had fun!

hyouko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:17am

Playing this felt a little bit like going crazy, though not necessarily in a bad way. I'm going to give it another go when I'm not quite so tired from 48 hours of game-making.

Given the name of the game, it's clear that you know where your towel is.

jprogman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:48am

While the idea is straight-forward, I find myself constantly on thin ice trying to ship the goods rapidly. I haven't gotten to know how each world works and if I could do something with them. Nice voice work by the way!

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Wow, very ambitious, I like it! Actual backstory and voices, that's great! I got survival time 6 minutes cause I went afk after I lost! ;) (the timer doesn't stop but you probably knew that ^^)
Great entry!

Boodog says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:33pm

Sweet game! Pretty fun!

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:42pm

Very clever on the name and backstory. It was fun to play. Good luck :)

radmars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:56pm

this feels like it could be something pretty cool with a little more time. works fine on linux, graphics are kinda rough, but the game is intriguing. I played it until the colony population became negative and it seemed to end, not sure if i "won" :)

Vallar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:06am

Wow, that is a nice game. There were elements that confused me like how do I get the ship to target a specific planet?

Or perhaps how can I speed production of something (other prioritize it).

Wasn't sure of my controls and how much I can affect things around me.

However it was fun sending ships all over and packing them up. It is a bit of a hard game but it was interesting.

I loved the voice acting in the game and the music was spot on too.

All in all, well done and good work! I like it :)

Clyde says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:55am

Nice presentation! A bit more tutorial could have been helpful, but I like the way the UI was set up.

guimonpa says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:15pm

I downloaded the OS X version and there's just an empty "Data" folder !

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:20pm

My apologies, I didn't export the Mac version properly. A fixed version is now uploading.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Really nice atmosphere and interesting game play. I couldn't survive for very long at first. I can imagine really getting absorbed in a more polished version.

gaarlicbread says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:32pm

This is cool. I like the interface. It has a nice pace, a little like GalCon or Civ. I really enjoyed the audio intro story. Using a voiceover is a great idea that I may use in future game jams. I also enjoyed the use of the mandelbrot set in the background.

I quickly figured out to send in the needed resources to Magrathea, although I had trouble understanding what was good about new universes. I also had a little trouble sending ships to specific locations. Sometimes I would click an outgoing arrow, and the ship would travel along it - but other times nothing happened, and I wasn't sure why. In other words, it would be cool to make it easier for players to learn in-game how to play. But I can envision a polished version of the UI, and it seems good.

mechabit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:49pm

nice hitch hikers reference :)

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Stunning design and fun game

whilefun says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:49am

Interesting entry! It ran pretty poorly on my ancient laptop, but it was enjoyable. I was a bit confused by the manufacturing system, but the atmosphere was cool. I enjoyed the fractals/introduction a lot.

banana4life says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Can't play it. My Macbook Pro get very very hot...

bluesky says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:41pm

this game is awesome. Really nice done!

rantt says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:50am

Interesting story and gameplay. You manage to pack a lot of stuff in 48hrs, very ambitious. I really liked it, good job.

cardboard says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 6:45pm

During one playthrough I got an insane amount of coffee and a handful of toothbrushes for my colony needs. After I fulfilled these needs, no other needs appeared, and the population then increased constantly (by doubling), going to the max positive integer before looping back through the negatives, etc. I like the voiceover and the background music is very nice. I love how your games always have an intro and an interesting backstory. The game mechanics are unique, and take a bit of time to get used to, and I enjoyed this game and its atmosphere.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]