Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ghost N' Not Ghosts

by Perspicacity1 - Jam Entry

A game based on the concept of controlling both your physical body and your ghost body, but not at the same time. I made a simple action adventure dungeon to try and create a small representation of possible mechanics.

Features:
-8 way movement
-Actions sequences with multiple enemies
-Challenging difficulty or perhaps relaxing casual fun time.
-Excessive overstatements in the Features list.
-At least one dragon to fight.
-Secret wizards that make never trust your surroundings.
-No sound makes it ideal for playing while watching tv, listening to podcasts, whatever.
-Upgrades that fill you with a real sense of accomplishment.
-Two intertwined and necessary styles of play keeps things varied.
-Helpful helping ghosts help new players play the game right.

Controls
Arrow Keys: Movement
Z: Stab sword
G: Enter/Exit body
X: ?????

Made in GameMaker.
Everything by Andrew Baillie (@PIZZAPRANKS)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#248Humor(Jam)2.75
#415Theme(Jam)3.09
#499Fun(Jam)2.83
#549Innovation(Jam)2.74
#602Mood(Jam)2.65
#617Overall(Jam)2.85
#751Graphics(Jam)1.96

Comments

DeathPidgeon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:40am

Chrome is blocking it because of malware.

blindfox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Just switch to a different browser like Firefox and it should work fine.

Capitals says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Avast Anti-virus has blocked this for me :(

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:58pm

I really liked the possession mechanic. Great job!

gwa says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:55pm

It was fun!

Pierrec says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:23am

The simple graphics scared me at first...but I must say I eventually had a good fun playing this game. It reminded me of Berzerk on Atari 2600. The switching betwee words and the face your body is still vulnerable is a very nice touch. My only complaint would be the fact that the sword is blocking (you know, you can't use your sword when walking, like in Zelda for example). I think this could be really easily improved.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:37am

Funny, and it feels real retro with the graphics.

Rehacked says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:55am

good job

Scipio Xaos says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:02am

Interesting game.. now if only I could kill the dragon... :P

gladers says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:08am

I love possession in games, lots of fun :)

reheated says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:33pm

The ghost and shield mechanics are clever and fun. I would like it if there was better feedback when I was damaged or dealt damage.

[SPOILER] In particular, it took me ages to realise I could do something to the dragon. I've killed his head now but his hands are still there and I don't know if that's the end. [/SPOILER]

dook says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Very nice. Good use of the theme and the mechanics work well, could definitely be a start for a longer little puzzle game

JonathanG says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Reminds me of Adventure on the atari :) Enjoyed the way you made the player understand each mechanic before moving on. There's a bug where you can take over the enemy near the switch and then release him without hitting the switch, you get stuck. Would be nice to get some feedback on hitting/being hit a bit more, maybe pushing you away a bit extra? 'g' for going in/out of your body was too far from the other keys to be comfortable.

vividhelix says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:01am

Interesting, good take on the theme!

Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Simple game but well done. I included it in part 17 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/02vIiZyi3-c

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]