Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Subconscious

by Snicklodocus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The subconscious world is intricately connected with the conscious. Our thoughts determine our path, whether we realize it or not. Master your confidence to rid your mind of negativity. Keep an eye on your movement through the conscious world - events can affect your subconscious as well. How far can you balance your two worlds?

Controls are WASD and arrows to move and space to pause.

In the subconscious world, hit negative thoughts to destroy them. The columns all thoughts stand on affect the direction the conscious player moves. Steer it towards or away from pickups and make sure to stay near the center.

Here is a post-compo version, with many improvements and additions. Check it out: http://gamejolt.com/games/other/the-subconscious/33799/

Thanks for playing!

Contact me:
Tumblr: gamesbyme.tumblr.com
Twitter: twitter.com/snicklodocus
Facebook: facebook.com/timnedatton

I cannot test the Linux build. Please let me know if you encounter any technical problems.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#71Innovation3.96
#134Mood3.58
#195Overall3.60
#237Graphics3.64
#304Audio3.15
#403Theme3.44
#439Fun3.18
#728Humor2.10

Comments

LaFleur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:06am

Oh, wow. Well done!

cstudios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:24pm

I just love games with deeper meaning. I love the parallel of the worlds: your life path and your thoughts.

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Neat idea. Really well presented as well.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:30pm

I really liked the concept of this game. I think it can help a lot of people. The only thing is I was confused at first if I should hit the negative thoughts or not? Maybe have positive thoughts to hit and negative thoughts to kill? idk. Very fun pacman like game with an awesome theme! Good job!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Really enjoyable game, when you get the hang of the mechanic it's really good. :)
I quite liked the audio as well, well done. :)

mramaizng says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:56pm

This game was really well done. Smooth, clean and addicting. Well done!.

ReddogStone says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Man, my path got dark quickly ^^ I like the graphics and the overall awkward feel. I didn't really get the mechanics, though.

Capitals says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:01pm

It looks really good. The only thing is I found it confusing at first however you soon get the hang of it.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Great concept and extremely well executed. It feels very polished and professional!

NicePenguins says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:25pm

A both innovative and addictive game. Well Done :) !

BinaryPie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Easily one of the best compo games I've played so far. Just could've used a bit of a tutorial at the start. Great job. Got to 181.

jmf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Nice job! Graphics and feel are great.

diamondgfx says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:43am

Really neat concept, although after a bit the pattern becomes pretty easy to stay alive infinitely through.

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:35pm

I guess I'm pretty bad because I didn't see any pattern. I'm also pretty bad because I thought this was real-time at first xD.

I loved the concept, very clever, and the theme featured very well here. Needless to say, sound, graphics, and general ambiance made this a great game instead of a good game. Good job!

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:50am

Interesting concept. Once I understand how it worked, it was pretty fun for awhile. I could see that gameplay mechanic being fleshed out into a full game.

gmfk07 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Hard to grasp at first, but quite fun when you do.

Artamus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Nice game, congrats!

Naytron says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Nice presentation, love the use of the monochromatic colour scheme and low-fi visuals. Good job!

dook says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Very trippy and weird. I like it! I wasn't always quite sure how my movements would translate into the other world in the background, or exactly which thing would be best to do. E.g. did I even have to destroy those black things or could I just keep going?

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Really nice concept!

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Thanks everyone for playing, rating and commenting!

You will get a game over if you allow too many negative thoughts to stay alive. They also affect your move direction, so that can be a problem!

In the post-compo version I'll be sure to include a better tutorial and add some harder enemies in the late game.

From Smiling says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Nice game! I like that it gets very frustrating later on, just like it would be dealing with the mind. A pretty unique design to the game too! Text at the bottom was maybea bit distracting?

bentog says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Not very intuitive, but very conceptual. Great work!

Mekuri says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:54am

I liked the idea with the "outside" and "inside" world- I never did understand the numbers in the middle below, but got mine well over a hundred- Don't know if that is good or bad :P

RobotFriend says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Very interesting. Made 188. Not sure if that is good or not though.

Stan Sypek says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:28am

Took a while to find out there was a pattern to this.

Rehacked says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:32am

Great Game with pretty cool idea and gameplay and graphics and sound!!! What more can be asked for ?? I really liked how background affects in gameplay!Good job!!

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 4:59pm

A bit confusing, but nicely done :)

DarkCart says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:45pm

This sort of reminds me of a game that would have been on a 80's home computer. Well done!

TautNerve says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:09am

Original and creative, very well done!
I like how abstract the game feels at first and you are
not clear on the objective but the drive and rules of the
game are unfolding slowly as you play. Great.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Love your use of two worlds. I included it in part 21 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/5xO0Ucfr9co

Moosefly says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Didn't understand anything during my first try, but on my second try, after figuring out the mechanics, I got to 300 steps before quitting, because it didn't seem to be getting any harder.

The different "gameplays" intertwine really nicely, reminds me of this other entry (http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=41177), where you could control bacteria via Conway's Game of Life. Cool aesthetics too!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

barryrowe says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 12:40am

I like the audio and graphics. Everything seemed to work well. I just couldn't grasp the mechanic very well. Seems like I'm in the minority though. Good job.

spacedoubt says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:02am

Brilliant! Nicely done!

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:54pm

71 steps. I loved the looks of the game, the mechanics and how it is easy to play but difficult to master. Great job!

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 4:03am

Thanks everyone for the comments and ratings. I had a lot of fun; can't wait for December!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]