Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Quest For The Missing Baby

by Ofursnati - Jam Entry

The baby has gone missing and you have to find it. There are two worlds, one of good and one of evil connected by a device whose mystery is only exceeded by its power. With great power comes great Evil.

Controls:
Left and Right arrows: move around
Up arrow: jump
Hold A: Device (you can use it for 4 seconds at a time and only after you get the Device Of Evil)
Escape: exit game
L

Tools used: Game Maker, Reaper, Photoshop, Illustrator, BFXR, Abelton Live, Teamviewer, Skype, Paper & Pen.

Please let us know if you would like to see this as a full game!
-Ofursnati & Hellberg

P.S. Music is here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GdVKTZ8HHUk

Follow us on Twitter if you want updates: @wrenchatrap

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#100Audio(Jam)3.73
#169Humor(Jam)3.02
#257Fun(Jam)3.25
#294Overall(Jam)3.35
#309Mood(Jam)3.22
#343Theme(Jam)3.24
#405Graphics(Jam)3.33
#528Innovation(Jam)2.78

Comments

Majko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Cool idea, like the music transitions and visual look!

Pinqu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Both graphics and music are very nice. I got to save the baby! Makes me feel very happy inside :)

Robinerd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:50pm

So cute!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Congrats on your game! OH MAN I LOVE THIS GAME!!! It's only a short little game but was super fun to play and fits really well with the theme. Being a metal fan I only wish that you had of went with the evil world as the main \m/>_<\m/ Controls work well, graphics are good and yeah although short the gameplay is rock solid. Cheers, Ben.

silentlamb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Music and visuals are lovely. The game is very short, it would be nice to have it a bit longer because the graphics style and audio quality are really strong.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:40pm

That's Peppa pig, isn't it?

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Like most of the commenters, graphics and sound were very good. Fit the theme well. If you flush this out into a full game (which you should) it would be interesting to see how you handle the collisions when switching worlds; should present an interesting challenge.

Hellberg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:56pm

@43iscoding Yes! You're right :)

I was heavily inspired by Peppa Pig. I have been watching the show alot with my 1 year old boy. I used it as a starting point for the graphics and animation. http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/6/61/Peppa_Pig.png

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Oh man that was funny. I went in thinking it was gonna be a peppa pig style game, and then I pressed 'A' and I couldn't stop laughing. Really great job on this.

tchem says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:45pm

cool

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Oh hey this game has got a realy nice style. Love the main character. Story is so cute. Nice seeing people doing this kind of game :)

bob_fish says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:39am

Quite fun, a little bit like my game with a platformer that has dimension changing, but mine you can't just press a button to switch. Like the peppa pig art style :) Also the music is really nice!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Devil mode. Enjoyable!

TeamConn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:05pm

The music is really good, especially the evil version.

Simon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:25pm

I just wish there was more to do I loved swapping between worlds it's so smooth I was doing it again and again, just to hear the music change. Nicely done!

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Awesome game! very well executed! rock on \m/

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:37pm

I really wish this was longer. Good thing that what it lacks in length it has in awesomeness! That transition between the worlds just feels sooooo good and ties really nicely into the gameplay. If you feel like it, I don't see why you couldn't make it into a complete game. Reminds me of Giana Sisters: Twisted Dreams in a good way.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

dook says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:56pm

I think this is the first one I can give full marks! Awesome all around. Sound and animation and, aw man, that music effect is great!

danidre14 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Damn man is this pepper pig? :P Used to watch it at a younger age!

Nanolotl says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Amazing use of audio. Very polished.

dylanigan says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Liked the music!

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Music has been uploaded to YouTube, enjoy!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GdVKTZ8HHUk

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Good game, best LD game music. There was a hole I fell into several times and the game didn't restart, so I had to close it and open it again. I would like to see the full game, but PLS port it to Linux! (It works through Wine but I get a fatal error when getting to the baby)

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:46pm

This is a very decent platformer with a simple idea of switching between worlds to progress through the level. It works very well, and the metal track is badass ;) Good job, guys!

saguaro says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:54am

This is such a great game, and a lot of fun. I wish it was longer. I laughed when I fell in that first pit.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:04pm

As I told you before, there are a lot of little fixes you need here and there, visually and technically. I liked how the graphics and music changes when you swap the worlds.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:38am

Alright, that was much cooler than I initially expected; the art and music was great here. Kinda reminded me of Eversion, and that's a good thing. :3

mechabit says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:16pm

cool game

LeafThief says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Hey there. The game was very basic but well playable. The music was really good especially at setting the two worlds apart.
I think there are a few things you could address to easily improve the experience:
1) Squash & stretch in your animation as well as keeping the direction the sprite is facing.
2) It's not the best strategy to mock the player when he fails. Think of some other form of feedback.
3) It's hard to tell when it's safe to switch and when not. It'd also be helpful if you had some sort of visual information as to how long the switch will last.

Other than that: you made a game, it works. That's quite an achievement right there! Good job :)

Andrew Adams says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Why you no mac?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]