Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hexahedron

by Jon Fisch - Jam Entry

Have fun exploring everyone's worlds! A new one should appear every 1-4 minutes, so stick around. ;)

Originally, you were going to be able to go to other worlds and DO things, like fight baddies or something, and then unlock new building materials to use. The unlocking functionality actually still exists in the code, but we didn't get the time to hook it up or think up unlock requirements.

Please note that this game requires XNA Game Studio 4.0 Refresh (http://bit.ly/1ubmn4I) and .NET 4.0 (http://bit.ly/1gGliNl)
If the game crashes immediately or does not run at all, 99 times out of 100 you're missing the XNA redistributable (the first link); practically all modern Windows systems have .NET 4.0 installed already.

Controls:

WASD/arrow keys to move
Right-click to open editor

In editor: click icon to place object; click placed object to move/delete it (pre-generated objects can't be moved or deleted)
While placing:
R - rotate
Right click - cancel/delete
Click - place
Shift+Click - place multiple
Mouse Wheel - scale object (post-compo version only)

Currently known bugs and things:
Jumping in a certain direction is less powerful
Scaling of objects was not implemented in time
The player clips through certain objects slightly
The framerate gets low when there are several worlds connected

A post-compo version is included as LD30-post-compo.exe and fixes and adds the following features:
Fixed weird jumping problems
When the character is behind objects, they will fade out much more reliably
Fixed and added scaling (scale with the mouse wheel, not mentioned in instructions)
Camera rotation with the E key (although it's not mentioned in the instructions)
Worlds can be connected to worlds besides the host, allowing for interesting branching
Because of the above point, an infinite number of worlds can be connected
Bridges are much more correctly placed and nearer to the center (although still placed a little wrong sometimes)
Bridges are placed between all adjacent worlds
Massive performance improvements; it's unlikely that you'll experience slowdown unless there are lots of worlds onscreen, even when ten or more worlds have been connected

Most of these features were almost finished (namely, scaling and the world connections, as well as part of the camera rotation) but had to be cut in favor of more important features instead of fixed.

Additionally, all of the uploaded worlds can be seen at http://pastebin.com/u/ld30worldbot. To view a particular world, copy the raw paste into [paste_name].wld and save it in %appdata%/ld30, and it'll appear as a world in the world selection. Only the first five worlds by alphabetical title will be shown in-game, though.

You're welcome to download the source from the GitHub link provided, but if you use any of it, it would be nice to credit the programmer (Alex Van Liew) or the artist (Jonathan Fischer) for it. Thanks!

We encourage you to comment and send us screenshots of your world by posting a link in the comment section, or by finding us on Twitter: @_snoozbuster (Alex Van Liew) and @jon_fisch (Jon Fischer)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#59Audio(Jam)3.87
#282Mood(Jam)3.29
#298Innovation(Jam)3.18
#304Theme(Jam)3.34
#312Humor(Jam)2.57
#481Overall(Jam)3.07
#518Graphics(Jam)3.00
#670Fun(Jam)2.45

Comments

snoozbuster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:45am

I just fixed a small bug that caused the game to crash shortly after you start it; if you downloaded it in the last hour please try downloading it again!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:43am

You can't rotate the camera, so often the perspective is difficult, and objects are obscured.

snoozbuster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:46am

@Robot Souls Games: Yep, that's one of the things that I didn't have time to implement; not because camera rotation itself is hard but because if you rotate the camera, pressing W no longer means "move along the positive X axis".
Anyway, you can get around it by building from the back. It's not a huge deal.

lakael says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:36am

seriously, that song was amazing

Evil Scotsman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:51am

I'm not sure I'm playing correctly, I don't seem to be seeing any other worlds. How do I connect to other worlds?

IsaacL.Balogh says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:01am

A very interesting concept, I really enjoyed messing around and trying to make a multilevel house, if you could rotate the camera it might be a bit better though as I did and up putting a lot of squares in a line trying to make a platform. Other than that though the music fits nicely its a fun and interesting idea and it would be cool to see it improved upon!

snoozbuster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:09am

@Evil Scotsman: I discovered there was a bug that deadlocked the downloader thread when I was playing, but it only occurred after five worlds had been uploaded. I just uploaded a fix, try again! Every 1-4 minutes one will show up.

snoozbuster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:13am

@IsaacL.Balogh: Yeah, I would have loved to add camera rotation but I just ran out of time. Something else that's buggy that I wish I would have had time to fix is the way objects fade out when you're behind them; it's offset too far upwards and could use a few more rays to be more accurate. But hey, what're you gonna do.

darklightteam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:21am

The idea is awesome and it's f*** hard to execute in a jam. Congratulations! Btw my game started to go slower once the second world appeared.

snoozbuster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:27am

@darklightteam: Yep, that's the physics engine sobbing softly. Even though none of the cubes collide with each other, it still has to do bounding box tests for all of them, or at least all the ones that are nearby. I didn't have time to tinker with it and boost the performance, unfortunately. There were a couple things I tried to get working but I ran into implementation problems and ended up having to scrap the whole thing.

Oana says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:01am

Seems to work fine for me now. So basically you build pretty things without a specific goal, am I getting this right? It would be nice to have a goal of sorts added later on. Also, I haven't quite figured out how to visit other people's worlds. And it would be nice to be able to rotate the camera, or dig. Awesome soundtrack, btw.

snoozbuster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:10am

@Oana: Yeah, just building. I had originally planned to have unlock conditions for some materials, but didn't have time. Other worlds show up each 1-4 minutes you spend in the game, or at least they should! There was a bug in an earlier version that prevented it from working, maybe you had an old version.
As for camera, I agree. It would have taken maybe 30 minutes, I just ran out of time. :(

jprogman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:14am

I don't see how I could connect with other worlds. How does that work?

snoozbuster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:31am

jprogman: It should happen automatically if you wait long enough. One will connect to the edge of your world.

ZirconCode says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:27am

Amazing concept, good audio, very relaxing atmosphere. The idea has so much potential, interesting source too.

Xentira says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:11am

I couldnt get the bridge to work but I did like the look and feel of the game. Really nice job on this.

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Just gray screen for me =(

snoozbuster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:54pm

@ZirconCode: Thanks!
@Xentira: I'm not sure what to tell you; it's worked for me when I've played. Sometimes the bridges get placed in weird places but so far I've been able to get to them.
@SaintHeiser: Someone else in IRC had that same problem. I have no idea what would be causing it, unfortunately.

snoozbuster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:05pm

@SaintHeiser: Actually, I just found the bug; it occurs when you have a 360 controller plugged in. I didn't have time to fully add controller support so I stripped it instead; looks like I didn't strip it all the way :p I just uploaded a fix.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:20am

It looks more like a design tool than a game. However could be turned to a game since building mechanic is ready. I liked how you can see what other players did before.

snoozbuster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:21am

@commordoreKid: There was a lot of features that had to be cut; the main feature is just to see randomly what other people have made. Oh well!

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Intresting concept, lots of potential there, but the camera is a bit annoying.

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:19pm

This is a great idea! I played the compo version and was going to complain about the camera and shaky jumping but it seems you fixed that! I don't think you need to add any goals or unlocks really - this could just be virtual Legos. Seeing others' worlds is pretty impressive. Good job!

snoozbuster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:12am

@Lokarunith: Yeah, that's why I added rotation in the post-compo build.
@Snicklodocus: If you like virtual Legos, let me introduce you to http://ldd.lego.com! Thanks for the compliments, though!

Dohan says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:43pm

A very interesting entry. And reading the post-compo version notes, it seems that you already have adressed the main issues I've found playing the compo version (that you weren't able to rotate the camera and bridges beyond reach).

snoozbuster says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:36am

@Dohan: Thanks! I would have fixed those things in the main version too, but I just ran out of time. I had to take the stance of "functional but buggy" instead of "well polished".

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:09am

Gave the audio 5 stars because it was awesome! Great job!

Crefossus says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:25am

I liked the menu and the mouseover text. I would really like a free camera and being able to move while placing.

Maybe keep placing until you rightclick again? I know shift is there but I use it a lot.

Having other players worlds load is spot on for the theme.

The random generation is okay, but I'd rather have more freedom in where to place things. At least let me clear it out.

Having an option to teleport home when you're looking at another place would be great. Why not just be able to teleport to your neighbors? Unless the movement starts to feel really good it's just a chore to get there.

Sep 8, 2014 @ 1:07am

WOW. this is awesome. i throughtly thaought this game was neat. Great potential. the scaling and odd shaped stuff is wierd.meaning, the direction of movement took some getting used to and the blocks and how everything worked was a bit to learn, but the concept and applicatoin to this theme makes this game soo nice. Good job jammers!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]