Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

CMYK

by PixelArtM - Jam Entry

4 connected worlds. One color x world.

Programmed by Miguel Sanchez (@pixelartm) in 7 hours the last day :D

space: jump
mouse: move players

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#313Theme(Jam)3.32
#479Innovation(Jam)2.87
#532Humor(Jam)2.00
#559Graphics(Jam)2.93
#673Mood(Jam)2.33
#695Fun(Jam)2.35
#710Overall(Jam)2.61
#2027Coolness17%

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:56am

Congrats on your game! I like the idea of this game, but it needs a few more features to make it a bit less repetitive. Mix up the gap spacing, or have some additional element to jump over / avoid etc. Cheers, Ben.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:43am

It's more like you're controlling four people in the same world, but I like this idea more than the usual "connected worlds" gameplay. I expected the colors to have a meaning, e.g. that you have the same objects in all four "world", but if the object is the same color as the background, it's invisible and doesn't exist. Pretty good for 7 hours of work anyway.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:15am

Nice try, I'm sure that with more time, the result would have been a lot better, but I love the concept and the idea.

iczubak says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:20am

It reminds me of:

http://www.ferryhalim.com/orisinal/g3/dog.htm

PixelArtM says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:30am

@iczubak Yeah, it's the same idea :D

Tanner says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:40am

Nice game! Work hard and next game will be better :) Even in 7 hours :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:44pm

The concept could be interesting but the gameplay needs bit more variety, the pits were exactly the same on every row and there was no use for moving characters.

LuisDC says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:47pm

I like the idea and the graphics. Make the gaps appear in a random position, different for every world, and you can port it to smartphones :)

Ludipe says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Too bad you only had 7 hours :/

Nice concept, a post-jam version to expand the prototype would be great.

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:03pm

I like the idea and how it fits the theme. As Martin Vilcans said, I also was expecting that the colors had some meaning, but with just 7 hours of work I think it's pretty good :)

spitfire87 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:27pm

It needs more work! The idea is simple and effective and fits the theme well. ¿Ready for mobile? Look like :P

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:54am

Interesting aesthetic, but it got a bit tedious doing the same jump over and over.

igoramendola says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Cool idea! And it looks promising...
I'm curious to see how will be the post compo version :D

Simplexcity says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Interesting concept. only thing i would change is the score on the end screen is black on a black background. make it CMY(notK)
GG

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Extremely repetitive, but the art is very nice! Off to try the Post-Compo version :)

WebFreak001 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Its good for 7 hours of development (including idea I guess)

havana24 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Good concept, well executed! :)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:10pm

It's pretty nice! Two things that I think would make this game better:

1. Make the gaps show up with greater frequency when you have only two guys on screen.
2. Try to add scrolling in each world's background-- gives a greater sense of movement.

Otherwise, this was slick and fun! I enjoyed it.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:38am

Concept is quite interesting, however this game needs a lot more features to feel complete! Looking forward to post-compo version!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Not bad for 7h. It's like seeing your printer ink levels running out :P Nice to see you've addressed many of it's problems in the post-compo version. Needs some music!

zatyka says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:47am

There isn't a whole lot to the compo version, which isn't surprising consider you only had 7 hours. The post compo version has a bunch of the suggestions I was going to write down... it was quite fun.

Encofrado says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:49pm

The first version it's good, but the black color bloods my eyes xD and it's easy to jump, because the hole shows at the same time in every runner. I played the POST-JAM and it's much better, adding these backgrounds and the random gap spacing sure it does more challengin, nice job!

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:27am

Nice concept, could do with some fleshing out though

Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:51am

Nice take on the theme and on the endless runner genre, I think it's great mixing one touch keyboard with the mouse.
The post compo already shows some great potential. One thing I miss from the LD version is how the characters "fell" to a lower platform when they missed.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 11:25am

Buen trabajo para 7 horas! However, as most people said already, would be good to see more mechanics added to the game, as well as enemies and pick-up items. But good work for the time you used, next time though go for something bigger, you may surprise yourself :)

Frankus says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Nice concept but very repetitive. Great job for only 7 hours.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]