Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Firevania

by ShawnFeatherly - Jam Entry

Keyboard Controls:
Move - Arrow keys
Space - jump
Left Ctrl - FreezeGun
Left Alt - FlameThrower

XBox controller:
x = freeze ray (after you get it)
a = jump
b = flame thrower (after you get it)

Metroidvania-style game where you try to find eight MacGuffins across two worlds. In order to find all eight, you will need to visit both worlds and collect several items.

Water will drown you, but once you find the freeze ray, you can use it to freeze the water and walk across it. The flamethrower can make water evaporate and burn wood. The high-jump flip-flops come in handy for those tall jumps.

More details:
http://blog.8bitmmo.net/2014/08/firevania-30hr-weekend-gamejam-entry/

Art by: Larry James - http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/author/wulfdesign/
Code by: Robby Zinchak
more code by: Shawn Featherly
Audio by: Tom Miller

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#119Humor(Jam)3.26
#437Audio(Jam)2.91
#520Fun(Jam)2.80
#550Overall(Jam)2.96
#566Theme(Jam)2.69
#626Mood(Jam)2.59
#641Graphics(Jam)2.68
#682Innovation(Jam)2.32
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

okmmjyygv says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:13am

when you get a MacGuffins, a joke appears. i liked that. nice jokes :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Everyone likes jokes ;) #ld30 The game feels a bit glichy though.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:52am

The jumping is a bit sketchy but the music is solid!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:57am

The controls could use some re-adjustments.

Spencer Alves says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:59am

I didn't realize that a game's controls could feel both stiff and floaty at the same time :)

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:19am

Yeah I won at MacGuffin! %)
Kinda crazy game %)

katanagari7c1 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Got 9/8 MacGuffins :) Although the character got stuck from time to time and some other glitches, I enjoyed the game. Mostly by the jokes... nice ones!

Tanser says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:40am

Nicely done, only problem was that sometimes I was getting stuck in nothing at the floor. Collision needs some work, otherwise its very good. :)

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:20am

Funny, well paced, and good use of the theme :) Nice work

Crefossus says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:33am

I like the (bug?) with the freeze gun resetting your jump ability since it gave you a lot of freedom and was fun.

The humor didn't really come through for me.. maybe if it was even more ridiculous and more visual?

The bright tiles and contrast between worlds were great fun.

Rehacked says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:25am

Good job.the moving and jumping were a bit unnormal for me. if game was more juicy and longer it was better

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]