Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeon Blaster (Unfinished Demo)

by BrainSlugs83 - Jam Entry

Dungeon Blaster (Unfinished Demo) -- Ludum Dare #30 (JAM!)
Michael Jensen (@BrainSlugs83)
http://www.twitter.com/BrainSlugs83

Game is currently unfinished, there's a *lot* more I'd wanted to do with it, but it's playable, and it's a good start. I will probably continue developing it in my spare time.

Keyboard Controls:
Movement: Arrow Keys
Directional Attack: W, S, A, D
Simple Attack (same direction as walking): Space, Shift, Control, or Alt

Xbox 360 Gamepad Controls:
Movement: Left Stick, DPAD
Directional Attack: Right Stick, or A, B, Y, X

Toggle Fullscreen:
Keyboard: Alt + Enter

Exit:
Keyboard: Escape, or Xbox Gamepad: Back

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#324Humor(Jam)2.53
#450Fun(Jam)2.92
#490Mood(Jam)2.90
#588Audio(Jam)2.19
#629Overall(Jam)2.81
#657Theme(Jam)2.30
#660Innovation(Jam)2.42
#718Graphics(Jam)2.30
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

riktothepast says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:45am

Reminded me of Robotron 2048, you should finish it!.

Konste says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:56am

I liked this game a lot! Good work. The particle effects for the shooting were spectacular. I liked the retro feel to it all. Check out my game too if you have a moment. http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=42403

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:36pm

I don't like that you have to install it. The graphics are good and so are the controls, but the game is repetitive and there is no consequence to dying. If these were fixed, the game would be much better.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:02am

Good luck completing it!

torvik88 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:37am

The game is fun :) It is a shame that you had no time to complete it but i get where you are coming from, i always had similar problems. But it needs more work to much greater.

jomomomo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:37pm

I can't play on windows... any chance for a web version? Thanks for including the video... very beserk-like.

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:25am

Thanks guys, that's the most positive feedback I've gotten on an LD; yeah, I wanted to do a lot more (and have been working on it a bit lately), but for several of the "cop-outs" I just went "meh, if berzerk can get away with it, so can I." -- I haven't seen Robotron 2048, I'll have to check that out, thanks for the tip!

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:28am

@jomomomo -- I wish -- It uses XNA's 3D routines and HLSL for parts of it, so it's too much for JSIL. I'm evaluating switching to another platform. Not many appealing options for .NET though. (Not a huge fan of Unity or Silverlight, and JSIL isn't really mature at this point...) -- are there any good options for web game development with C#/.NET? ~sigh.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:23pm

want to see the finished version, what I saw was great

DarkCart says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:58pm

This game screams "1980's" to me. Good job.

Razoric says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Great start, looking forward to the final version. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]