Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Forgotten Day

by Kuupu - Jam Entry

1 - The Forgotten Day

The Forgotten Day is a action/rogue like game where you control a boy who forgot what day is today.
To help the boy to discovery the day you must lead him through 10 mazes, every maze is located in a different dimension, so be careful.
The truth is behind the portal that leads to the 10th floor.
Each floor leads to 3 others floor, not necessarily the next one.

3 - How to install

To install and play The Forgotten Day you just need to unwrap the downloaded file and execute the "TheForgottenDay.txt".

4 - Controls

You can control the boy by any of those options

WASD keys
Arrow keys
Click and drag
and Anolog Stick of a controller
we HIGHLY recommend this last option]

5 - Features

Innovative gameplay
10 Thematic levels
12 Unique kinds of enemies
14 Unique kinds weapons
Upgrade system
Non linear progression
Funny stuff

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#92Fun(Jam)3.60
#100Audio(Jam)3.73
#137Overall(Jam)3.60
#140Humor(Jam)3.18
#177Innovation(Jam)3.45
#206Mood(Jam)3.42
#252Graphics(Jam)3.70
#640Theme(Jam)2.38
#1767Coolness32%

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:14am

Really enjoyed the combat in this one. The art and music are fantastic too!

SoulGame says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:18am

There are very good elements here but also a few bad. For instance I liked the innovative way of attacking enemies but it should be better explained in the help section, I almost quit just before I understood I had to rotate my mouse like hell :) Fun, but a bit redundant after a while. Also being automatically transferred in the next floor is a very punitive thing for a player who didn't want to go. Especially with the incredibly large hit box the holes have!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:45am

It's a funny mechanic to swing your sword, but a controller is definitely required to enjoy the game at least a little bit. The amount of enemies are cool and the levels are fun to walk trough, but I wished more time was spend on actual game mechanics and refining the sword mechanic then extras. Also, some of the randomly generated seeds are just impossible since 10 guys are standing next to you. And, no, this is not the fault of RNJesus.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:57am

Really appreciate, congratulations! Liked the way of attacking with mouse, but it took me a while to understand. Great job guys! :)

deathray says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:13am

Well done! Artwork and music and mood are great.
As others have said, it's hard without a controller. I think for those of us with a mouse and keyboard it should be: move with wasd and swing just by moving the mouse.

JNyknn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:35am

Nice game with good concept and gameplay.

brian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:44am

one of the best! this is really cool! good job guys! :)

ATTA Games says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:03am

Great entry! Cool innovative way to attacking and nice pixel art.

jwin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:12am

This was the most fun game I've played so far!

Zambini says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:12am

This was very enjoyable! I could see this playing very well on mobile with the mouse controls.

I enjoyed the fast paced nature of the gameplay and the well put together art assets. Sometimes the audio was a bit overwhelming/jarring and I'm not sure how it fits in the theme, but overall great work!

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:26am

I agree with what deathray said. If you could just move with wasd and swing with the mouse it have been nicer. I did enjoy spinning around like a garbage disposal and destroying everything around me :) Nice job!

whack47 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:40am

Great!

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:21pm

I tried both controller and mouse and I actually found mouse to be a better control for this game because I can rotate the sword faster with my mouse than with the analog stick.

It game looks and sounds fantastic and the game play is interesting. It is challenging at first to get used to the control but once I passed that stage it is quite fun to slice enemies. It gets repetitive when I once I get up from level 1 to level 9 though but getting different weapons at different levels are interesting. Would be better if the swords does something differently or feel different when you swing it. Overall it is a really well done game. It was the game I played the longest since I started rating.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:34pm

The controls broke the gameplay a lot, it is very difficult to hit enemies since they stop you when you got hitted. Liked the graphics.

schizokoa says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Wow it's hard! Nice, but hard. Music rocks, I had a lot of fun!

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:34pm

This gameplay is awesome! really different and cool! (but a little difficult...) I think it would be better on gamepad.

iSamurai says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:15am

I like the art of your game, nice gameplay too. But sometimes I find the controls a bit unnatural for me.

TheGreenTie says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:21am

Controls were kinda odd to get used to. Music and art are perfect.

ClownAround says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:00am

Great gameplay. Liked all the unique levels.

ponk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Mixing move and attack is pretty smart !
Really cool !

skiddings says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:55pm

nice amount of content, was hard to control though

FrederickK says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:17pm

I really like the concept to spin to attack. What I think that would make it better is if the club and the movement were independent, like, movement by the keyboard and the club direction using the mouse pointer, it would make much easier to attack, because like it is, I have to spin in place to do it.
As usual, the game of yours looks that have a lot of stuff, which is a thing that I really like about your games! Have a "complete game" feel.
Great job!

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Very nice game. I get SOCKS!! B]

mcapraro says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:04pm

i really like the spinning mechanic, well done on this! super challenging but nice polish

GFM says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:22am

There were some great songs in this game! :)

The attacking mechanic was really innovative, but also hard. That's not a bad thing, though. :)

Frankus says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 7:05pm

The music is really nice in this game! However the controls are a bit awkward at first. As the others say, dragging your mouse and spinning like crazy is the only way I've managed to progress in this game. Nice graphics too! Good job :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]