Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Taxi

by glocks - Jam Entry

It's Space Taxi! Drive aliens around to different planets, avoid asteroids, and listen to the radio.

Credits:
Code: James F - @_glocks
Art: Chloi R - @_chloi
Music/Radio: Peter H - @pretorhunter

Controls:
Move - WASD or Arrow Keys
Map - M
Change Radio Station - SPACE Bar

v1.0.0
This is our first submission. Since we can't enter into the 48 hour competition, we may add more to the game over the next day.
- Fixing some issues with Flash version of game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2124Coolness10%

Comments

LaFleur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:59am

Brilliant! Loved the different radio stations.

Ryan Melmoth says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:08am

This has tons of personality, I especially love the radio stations! Very glad to have played this.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:32pm

$3200 Grade S, nice game.

pxlcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Loved the radio stations, the graphics and the physics! Solid effort!

zillix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:16am

Fantastic work! The radio stations will great, and I loved how all of the planets were named so as to be readily identifiable :D

Magdev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:22pm

alien pictures and radio bridge and connect worlds in a good way

Hemuuuli says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:31pm

I really loved this one. It was nice just drifting around the space and explore the radio and planets.

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Controls are little tough for me, good idea with radio stations. Nice game!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:54pm

nice, a mini space GTA

ZYXer says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Okay, either you stole my idea or I stole yours, but our games are far too similar.

Admittedly your sound is much better than mine. (Though that's not difficult, considering that I have no sound at all.) But your radio stations are hilarious! I could listen to them all day. :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]