Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

From Earth To Mars

by IHateATMFees - Jam Entry

An extremely literal interpretation of the theme. The goal is to shoot some asteroids (from the moon, because why not) so that you create a connected line between Earth and Mars. You should start by connecting to the green node attached to Earth, and make a chain that completes within the checkered node attached to Mars.

There are 7 levels. A couple of them are very difficult. I promise that they are all doable!

Tips:
* You do not have to hit the green node (or any connected asteroid) exactly. Just going near it will attract the asteroid and make a connection
* Press Alt (or the non-Windows equivalent) to restart a level

Thanks and please let me know what you think! I will definitely check out all games from people that leave feedback. Game was made in Unity so non web builds will be uploaded soon.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#95Theme(Jam)3.77
#345Innovation(Jam)3.11
#413Graphics(Jam)3.31
#522Overall(Jam)3.00
#532Humor(Jam)2.00
#577Mood(Jam)2.72
#596Audio(Jam)2.15
#615Fun(Jam)2.60

Comments

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:36am

Nice 3D planets.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:36am

That was so hard, but pretty fun game. Good job.

Kate Kligman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:37am

Interesting puzzle game and good use of the theme. First level took me a couple tries to get the hang of it. My only nit is that the planets didn't explode when I crashed asteroids into them. :)

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:37am

It's interesting. The gravity meechanics make side attachments tricky and fun. Nice idea.

Healthire says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:40am

Fits the theme well. Nice looking planets and interesting concept.

fserb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:40am

Nice concept! :) It gets hard at latter levels (I could win the first two by just spamming the balls and walking), but fun! :)

ruthiepee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:41am

I enjoyed your literal interpretation of the theme, haha. It made perfect sense-- simple and straightforward. I couldn't get past level 3. Guess I'm not cut out for interplanetary travel. The physics on the asteroids is a little strange but I'm impressed with how well it works. Oh, and the splash screen is beautiful! Altogether a really solid game.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:47am

Interesting, it's tricky to figure out exactly where to shoot the asteroids. Plays nicely, well done!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Congrats on your game! The graphics are really cool and I like the concept and the mechanics work really well for it. It's quite challenging which is great but I think even a simple backing track would have really helped set the mood for this game. Cheers, Ben.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:04pm

really a trickey one... nice idea... cool planets... passed level two... than my hand gets tires ^^

SoulGame says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:26am

Love the concept, really nice mix of multiple familiar gameplay like puzzle/shooter/physic. It's a bit hard to play right now because controls are kind of rough and the level design is a bit harsh but I think it could become really cool. Thanks for the idea on Galactic Dump, I just wrote it down ;)

TagliatL says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:16pm

some level are incredibly hard but it's cool, great concept !

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:51am

intersting concept for puzzle

Budaniel says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:00am

I struggled and gave up on the level with the block in the middle, but it was all in all a fun little diversion. Graphics were pretty good but sounds were minimal.

Galan says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:04am

Love the literal interpretation of the theme. Game is a bit on the frustratingly hard side, at least by stage 3. Maybe some other mechanics could keep the difficulty curve from needing to ramp up so fast.

fauge says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:05am

Textures on 3d planets are pretty good, very hard game but pretty fun

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:03am

Great graphics. The game mechanics are cool. I just missed some background music relating to the game. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]