Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Greener Grass

by CogentInvalid - 48 Hour Compo Entry

(NOTE: You can play this game on Mac and Linux by downloading the source and running it with LOVE2D: www.love2d.org)

You have long looked up at the constantly-cycling portal above your world, wishing that you lived in one of the universes up there, particularly one that has a ground rather than the bottomless pit that you have spent your entire life precariously jumping on clouds and fish to avoid falling into. One day, you decide you've had enough of your life's never-ending platforming challenges, and climb up to the portal, jump through... and find yourself in a world nearly identical to the previous one, aside from the color of the sky.

You didn't go to all this effort just to wind up in a palette-swap reality, though, so you decide to keep climbing up to the portal again and again, trying your luck until you finally reach the one universe with a ground.

Can you make it to your ideal world, one with a study ground and soft grass? Of course you can; I believe in you.

CONTROLS:
Arrow keys - move
Z - jump
Hold Z to glide
M to mute, P to pause

EDIT: A post-compo version is now available! If you like the original version, feel free to check out the updated one. It includes lives, an actual difficulty progression between levels, and copious fireballs.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#118Fun3.67
#308Overall3.46
#320Mood3.27
#360Audio3.04
#374Humor2.64
#424Graphics3.29
#598Innovation3.11
#1097Theme2.21

Comments

clofresh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:13am

Hard, but fun! The fish are the best! Also, good to see another LÖVE user. :)

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:18am

Its hard! Cool graphics!

renatopp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:18am

A good game. It looks like not very consistent on the world things (they are completely random? including the position), thus, it is a bit slow to advance. On the other hard, it makes thing hard and you cannot simply play this without any concentration (like doodle jump), which I think is a good thing

rob says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:25am

Christ, this was a stressful experience. I gave you a 4 for fun but with the understanding that "fun" in this case means "panic and hysteria". Everything's so precarious! There's nowhere safe to stand! AAAARGH

The first level of this game has that feel to it that you might (in lesser games) only encounter when you're about to face the last boss, you've played for hours and gathered the necessary skills, and the game's throwing everything it's got at you.

But here, WHAM, you get hit with all this stuff right off the bat. Platforms appear and disappear all over the place! Fish make you shoot into the air for some reason! Nothing stays still!

This isn't really a complaint. I did enjoy it. One criticism I do have is that it was hard to tell if I was making any progress — I didn't notice any appreciable difference between one level and the next. And when I died, I was taken back to what looked suspiciously like level 1, though I couldn't be sure. Some more differentiation between levels might help.

Neat game though.

oranebeast says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:25am

Although I didn't understand the connection of the theme, It was a ton of fun and the music and graphics were amazing

CogentInvalid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:31am

@renatopp: Yeah, the randomness can mess you up sometimes. I did add some weighting to the randomness to counteract that, though; if one section of the screen has fewer clouds/blue flying things in it, it's more likely to spawn things there in the future.

@rob: There isn't really any differentiation to the levels, true. The number of arrows at the top of the screen show you how much further you have to go until the end, but I didn't really make that clear.

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:35pm

The theme was missed, however I'm glad I played this!

buckslice says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Really fun, I wish those orange blocks came more often though. They are the only stable thing you can stand on (until they abandon you like everything else does lol). Good job!

fleegle2000 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:01am

Incredibly challenging, but I kept coming back for more. I like the variety of objects you can use to help you on your journey.

Zupoman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:04am

Augh, this game is so difficult! I would really love to reach it to the end, but I just can't! I had to give up.

The graphics are cute, the music is peaceful, it's so much contrast to how brutal the difficulty is!

I also disagree with other comments - I think the game fits the theme pretty well.

panurge says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:56am

Well my stress levels are through the roof but I really enjoyed myself at the same time! This is a great, panicky little platformer with just the right balance of difficulty to make you come back for more. I'm afraid to say that I didn't complete it but I felt sooooo close on occassion...

Graphics and sound are nice and the premise is cool and well connected to the theme. Good work!

Buttsteam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:34pm

The gameplay was SWEET. The music building up over time was really cool, the graphics all fit together. It was just really cool and I liked it a lot.

Marcellus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:38pm

I don't get it. I stand on some clouds, then they all disappear, then I have to restart. What's the point ? (didn't rate it yet)

granut100 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Nice game graphics somehow reminded me of Bouncy Bit.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Its obvious that you are an experienced gamer and you understand that EASY = BORING. Great game and good luck to you!

CogentInvalid says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:31am

@Marcellus: Have you tried jumping? The goal of the game is to go upwards; if you fall off the screen, the game ends. The controls are listed in the game description and readme.txt.

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:01am

Very fun. I like the gliding mechanic and the variety of platform types.

Tanser says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:13am

Nice but the platforms don't really show in way to help me progress...

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:15am

Great graphics, cool innovation, great job!

Stan Sypek says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Is it just me? I don't seem to be seeing what everyone else is seeing? I hop from cloud to cloud until they all disappear and just fall. Sometimes the blocks show up but disappear before there is anything to jump to. I have seen a fish, but along the bottom of the screen. No help there. Not going to rate this, as it's most likely me.

CogentInvalid says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:31am

@Stan Sypek: If no more clouds are spawning, then there's definitely something wrong. I can't imagine what might be causing that, especially given that blocks and fish are spawning correctly. Maybe there's some problem with the drawing that makes them invisible under certain conditions... Do the blue flying things in the screenshots appear for you?

Stan Sypek says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:48am

@CogentInvalid Yep, I see the blue things, but they spawn up high, so I don't know if I'm supposed to be able to jump on them or not. I'll try it again tomorrow night.

MercuryLegba says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 3:54pm

@Stan Sypek I have the same problem. Unfortunatly, I can't survive longer then the first couple of seconds of the game. Sometimes things spawn, but always too high up to save me from my certain doom.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]