Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mathwiz

by greysphere - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a Math Wizard, Heir to the Fruits of the Connectrium, a series of worlds connected by the universal language, mathematics. Use your equationatorial powers to defeat each of the worlds guardians, and gather upgrades to your calculateral power.

Do you have what it takes to defeat the Connectrium Overlord and become the One True Number One?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#50Innovation4.03
#164Fun3.57
#175Overall3.63
#229Humor2.94
#329Graphics3.47
#331Mood3.26
#431Audio2.89
#1146Theme2.00
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

kenrickrilee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:08am

I have no idea how it relates to the theme, but I *love* it! I want to see kids playing this game :)

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:08am

I loved it. That was really entertaining. Rearranging the tiles and creating those equations really scratched an itch. And solid game feel. The interface was really fluid and it never got in the way. Tons of fun :D

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:09am

Very fun, and a great concept!

diamondgfx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:10am

It was really hard to get the numbers needed to cast spells; it's super easy to get murdered by the RNG

haveric says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:12am

Pretty fun game. I ran into a lot of streaks of minuses though when I needed 24+ from any of my spells.

The dragging to create equations felt a bit awkward to me. Perhaps a version where clicking the tiles creates the equation would feel more intuitive.

greysphere says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:15am

There are some 'secret' ways to generate numbers:

[2][1][+][7] = [28]
[4]-[9] = [5]
[90]+[21] = [11]

Try 'em out if you get stuck!

SketchyGalore says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:16am

Interesting mechanic! I can't say as I've seen math-fighting done like that in a game before!

Calciumtrice says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:18am

Wow, this is really great. It took me a play or two to totally grasp the mechanics but it's incredibly clever. Very slickly implemented and a really great idea. You did a fantastic job.

NEVER TRUST A WIZARD.

greysphere says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:19am

@diamond: The rng can be pretty rough, particularly at the start. I'd probably do something about that if I had more time. That being said, w/ practice I can get to the 3rd-tier monster almost everytime.

@haveric: And now I know why Jumbline implemented two completely different ui schemes, one for folks who like what's in the game and one for folks who like click-selection!

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:28pm

great game!
Well, I feel the easiest method is to keep all individual digit and try merging them together, never calculate number > 10

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:49pm

This was really good fun and very compulsive, I had to keep playing. It had a real feel of scrambling to get the right numbers. Very enjoyable.

orukinawa says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:14pm

very original game! I forgot how hard math becomes when under pressure. The RnG can be pretty harsh sometimes but awesome job :)

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:46am

The randomness kills this game. Getting nothing but minuses and low numbers, when all of your available spells cost 34 or more just sucks. Couple that with having to wait after just trying to move numbers around to free up space while you get destroyed makes you feel helpless, and like the game just isn't fair. When I finally managed to get what I needed to obliterate that 3rd enemy, he changed the number I needed, and I just gave up. With so few options, pure random just ruins it. Great concept, good potential, but I can't enjoy it as it is.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Hi there. Interesting idea. Lovely professional presentation, the volume buildup and the great buttons/numbers. Was frustrating that there was quite often (after lv3) no possible 'spell matching answer' for ages... so you'd lose lives regardless of what you did. But overall, great job!

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:54am

Very cool! Wish you'd get a bit more operators

ruerob says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:49pm

I like your game and the connected worlds of math learning and game playing. Very very good. Thank you for your game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]