Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Terminal

by Menesetsu - Jam Entry

This game is about operator's life on a space station: connect that ship there, this ship here.

It was like this before some strange damaged ship warped nearby his station. And there goes the connection.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#4Mood(Jam)4.36
#23Innovation(Jam)4.15
#52Overall(Jam)3.92
#107Graphics(Jam)4.15
#230Fun(Jam)3.30
#381Audio(Jam)3.06
#477Theme(Jam)2.96

Comments

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:26am

The mood is really oppressive and this unique design is very pure. I like originality of your game. I forget how use a command line :)
Well done ++

flatgub says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:53am

Very cool!
I had trouble with the difficulty as it kept telling me that i couldn't send the technician to repair sys_nav, but other than that i think it was very atmospheric and moody, and it was a great concept, well done!
-Flatgub <3

Aglavra says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:44am

I liked the atmosphere and the gameplay. When playing, I tried from time to time to open man in separate tab, as I get used to. :)

udo says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:22am

Loved it, very atmospheric :) It's a good version of what I did last Ludum Dare (http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=6821)

CoolIron says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:47am

Awesome!

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:50am

love the mood you have created, takes me back to my days of learning bbc basic! :-~
Good job

Menesetsu says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Thank you, guys!

@flatgub yeah, we know about that bug. I wish I could fix this in compo version. :)

varun says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Never though reading man pages would be so tense! You guys nailed the mood!

Manou says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Excellent, no sounds for me :/

Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:50pm

I love the idea and everything but I'm stuck very soon, I have to repair the navigation system, I woke up the technician and typed "repair technician nav_sys" and it didn't work.

camlang says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Wow, trully authentic. That's the game mechanic I was looking forward to see in bigger games for a long time. Graphics, mood... all tops.

ambi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:14pm

I have to confess that I'm lazy and asking me to learn and memorize various text commands to play a game, of which the purpose isn't even clear at the beginning--is a lot. Still, the originality and the shader effects impressed me. You really nailed the console visual authenticity down to a T.

JoshuaBurr says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:17pm

The first time I ran the game it wouldn't let me input anything. When I refreshed the browser I was able to input but after inputting "start" nothing happened and I wasn't able to input anything else. I like the look of it though.

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:27pm

a command line game, nice idea!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Quite an intriguing and addictive game. I could imagine Terminal being even more immersive once there is audio added. This a great entry to a modernised version of a text based adventure.

alexco12 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Really nice, did you use Unity Pro shaders?

Menesetsu says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:42am

@alexco12: nope, we wrote our own shader for the terminal.

Tanser says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:19am

Love how it looks!

slice3d says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:37am

alexco12,
Yes, we've used Unity Pro features (RenderTextures and post-processing effects),
but all shaders were written from scratch (Glow post-processing effect and terminal screen shader).

TKia_ says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:44am

Incredibly atmospheric and interesting; always like command line-based games. Did get confusing, though; some commands didn't work when they ought to have, text went down the screen and there was no way to scroll down to read it, etc.

steve says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:33pm

awesome idea, was disappointed I couldn't play it further due to bugs/it being incomplete.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Really cool idea and presentation.
Unfortunately, it's extremely complex and difficult to remember all the little roles and locations. I have to keep typing man every 3rd command, then crew, then systems, etc etc.

There's too much happening at once right in the beginning. It also seems like the roles are quite limited, like you can't send the technician to repair the navigation systems. And after a few days, the text that it prints telling me what's going on overflows the screen and there's no way to scroll I can find. If I hit enter, the screen is just cleared.

Too bad, because the idea has great potential, and the graphics are beautiful too. 5/5 for graphics and mood, despite the problems I mentioned.

alexco12 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:42pm

@Menesetsu, @slice3d nice, do you guys have a webpage, as a team?

simplesmiler says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Immersive and compelling, this game has minor issues. You've got a lot of my stars.

Menesetsu says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:39pm

@alexco12: no, we don't as most of the team members are from different teams.

We do have some sites though:
http://deepdreamgames.com/
http://en.fatestudio.org/ (in russian, sorry)
http://sibgamejam.ru/ (also russian)

Sunflower says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Couldn't repair the navigation system, at some point game told me that everybody died due to life-support system malfunction, but then checking technician status revealed he's alive. Tried the Web (post) version, but repairing didn't work here, either.

>repair developer ld_terminal? ^^"

Menesetsu says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:39pm

@Sunflower: almost here :)

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 4:15am

Wow, that was something else. Very geeky and quirky. Great effort!

Dohan says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 5:30pm

The looks of the console are very polished, with its glitches and all. I've finished having more errors than the monitor can show and while all my crew was lost or wounded I still was reading the man of the console... I think I won't be a good spaceship console operator XD

Sascha says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 11:53pm

Wow, what a great atmosphere! Loved the graphics and feeling of being an operator in charge of their (somewhat) helpless crew. Greeat job!

vividhelix says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 3:25am

Brilliant!

BertyD says ...
Oct 27, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Unfortunately, the game was completely unplayable for me.
I can see from the screenshots what it's *supposed* to look like, but on my PC the text is all rendered far down and to the left

http://imgur.com/WjZZFoI

panda says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:16am

The screen looks gorgeous! The mood is great and the game is interesting, though it's hard because we have to guess who can do what - and the error messages aren't very helpful. Being able to scroll would help, too.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]