Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

HyperGate

by Alucard Jay - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Galaxy has been overrun by Xenos, and all the HyperGates have been damaged.
Travel to planets in the Solar System, collect Ore to reactivate the HyperGates and find your way home.


An incomplete (but functioning) mini RTS.


Controls :

Typical RTS mouse navigation

LMB to Select Unit
RMB to Issue Move or Attack Command
MMB or Space to Pan Camera
Mouse ScrollWheel to Zoom

Mouse to edge of screen to scroll around,
or use WASD / ZQSD / Arrow Keys

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#645Graphics2.97
#694Humor2.13
#758Theme2.94
#950Audio1.67
#993Mood2.41
#1041Overall2.64
#1043Innovation2.40
#1119Fun2.16

Comments

kyru says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Good idea, could have used some sound and some refinement but the idea is there.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Very interesting entry. It looks massive!

MyougaHiroshi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Pretty hard game, as it's not possible to select more allies at the same time, but not bad, it makes this game unique :D

Alucard J says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Thanks for the feedback :) I was going to drop out, but got encouraged to submit what I had. There is a massive list of mechanics and 'refinements' I wanted to add! This really is just a skeleton for what I had planned... (number keys to select/view unit, special ability for each unit, multi-select units, different terrain for each mission, proper pathfinding, visual indicators, different enemy types based on difficulty, real UI; just to mention a couple!). Too complicated for a solo weekend jam. I really didn't expect positive feedback (or any feedback), so thanks again :)

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Pretty cool concept here. It looks like the scope is much larger than 48 hours, but it's a good start, and looks like it could be a deep game.

I really want to be able to select multiple units at once. Not being able to do so makes it feel like a lot of work to control my army.

Anyway, nice start! I can definitely see the potential. I'm glad you submitted.

disdanes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:09pm

I would definitely not stop working on this, you have a ton of great concepts in here! It'd be nice to exit back to the menu but it was a pretty cool entry overall :)

abeing says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Im really bad at those games. but very well done! very cute and cool menu-idea with the planets and the zooming effect and stuff. also cool is the intro were the ship lands on the planet.

dunin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:13pm

I don't think rts is the type of game to made in a ludum dare. But you have tried it and it's honorable.

akymos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:43pm

nice game

OFF says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Maybe too big for a Ludum Dare : the RTS lack of option, and the field of variation, but the control of the camera with the zoom and movement is impressive.
A simple option had to allowed multiple selection or zone selection to move all the characters.
You also can't leave a planet even if you have

OFF says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:57pm

...lost. You have to wait the destruction of the ship.

That's a real challenge that you take, and even if it's not fully functionnal, i'm pretty that i could not do what you have done in 48hours, even i know unityengine.

Good job.

ReddogStone says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:00pm

I liked the setting and the graphics. Though, game-play is obviously still very basic.

PERECil says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:17pm

The RTS genre is hard for a compo like the solo 48h compo. You should try the jam with friends next time :). I'm amazed on what you could achieve in such a short frame time.

mramaizng says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Fantastic attempt, but like others have said, this was likely too big of a project to handle in just 48 hours.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:25am

The planet surface looked really good but I couldn't figure out how to play, which is sad :( However, it is an amazing feat that which you accomplished in just 48 hours so I cannot imagine what you could do with this game with a little more time. Keep up the good work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]