Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Battle Of Solis

by Super Hamster - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A little arena game where you shoot enemies.
PLEASE READ ALL OF THE INSTRUCTIONS BEFORE PLAYING.

YOU MUST HAVE JAVA TO PLAY THIS GAME! If you do not have Java please do not tell me you do not have java. (It makes my coolness to ratings ratio go down :( )

Controls:
Space bar - Jump
Click - Shoot
Escape - Menu

Settings information:
Color is just a fun playing around thing.
Team size is the number of ships per squad.
Solo is whether or not you want to be alone on your squad.

Have fun and good luck! :D

Updated version 1.0.1
-Minor Update to make capturing planets more fair
-AI jump chance 4 times higher
-Respawn time double (10 seconds)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#357Fun3.27
#394Innovation3.37
#471Overall3.29
#716Theme3.03
#873Graphics2.59
#886Mood2.59

Comments

headchant says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:23am

Love the idea! Always wanted to do something similar.

A small problem: I don't know why but it runs choppy but without any resource pressure.

hungyg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:31am

Interesting concept, fun game. Was a bit difficult to control at first, but got the hang of it after. The big guns were quite difficult to use, I found the small ones to be more efficient.
Good job!

Crefossus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:33am

There are a lot of rules, but the descriptions are pretty good in game. It's a bit frustrating towards the end because they keep respawning before you can finish even if you kill them.

Hamsternator says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Very interesting game, even in the unpolished state a development time of 48h brings ^^
This game certainly has potential to become something more if given some extra time in development =)

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:32am

Sorry, no Java.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:36am

I was easily captured by this game and excited to win. Sadly, the information on HOW to win was a little overwhelming. Maybe it just make up for all the feedback I have received that says I didn't give enough info..

uberscientist says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:41am

"Press any key to continue" besides spacebar apparently, I guess it's a bar not a key :P -- also had the same prob as Crefossus... cool concept and game though, thanks!

Super Hamster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:46am

Alright I think I'm going to double the respawn time because otherwise its sometime nearly impossible to capture a planet. (Right now it's 5 seconds for capture and 5 seconds for respawn so unless you hack the game it impossible) Thanks for all the feedback guys! :D

madmaw says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:38am

Never played anything like this before

mess110 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:11pm

pretty cool game. nice idea

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:46am

Gravity mechanic was smooth. Would make for good multiplayer!

Cad says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:50am

Very good overall, took a little bit o get the hang of things but once I did it was easy to play for the duration it took to beat it. Good job!

Wertle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:14am

I really liked how only being able to move with gravity shook things up. I played with only one ship per squad but I can imagine how chaotic it would get otherwise. I kind of wish this game wrapped around pacman style, but that's just sort of an intuition. One thing I think you could do to really help is give some manner of feedback about the range of the gravitational pull on the various space objects, as I often overshot because I thought I was gonna get sucked in when I actually didn't. Perhaps some manner of trajectory arrow?

alvarop says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:45pm

There are some nice features and ideas in this game. It is a little bit repetitive and there are some things that are hard to understand (why is it so sandy? Why is it so slow? etc.)

moomoo112 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:53am

That is utterly chaotic with larger teams, but it makes for much more interesting battles.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:45pm

This mechanic is really good that I'm so sad it wasn't realized well. Graphics need to be redone. The game lags a lot. Sound and music would also help. I think this could be something bigger than this. I guess time limit didn't allow. Would like to play a post-compo version.

Tanser says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:23am

It lags a bit but the idea is nice. Good job for compo!

Rock48 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Wow, this is actually pretty good (other than the use of comic sans), the framrate is strangely low though.

granut100 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:07pm

The mechanics of the game are cool. With a few touch ups this could be really good :D

Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:22pm

This was really fun! I think it would be a great multiplayer game, but it was a lot of fun to play it alone as well. Great job.

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:44am

Awesome idea, pretty fun too!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:28am

This is a lot of fun! The computer opponents are surprisingly balanced: they give the right level of challenge.

elefantopia says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Fun game, a bit overwhelming at first, but once you get the hang of it...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]