Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Into the Woods

by emmelineprufrock - Jam Entry

A short Twine story about growing up, memory, and the collision of two worlds, and the relationship between mothers and daughters.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#171Mood(Jam)3.52
#254Theme(Jam)3.44
#366Overall(Jam)3.25
#456Innovation(Jam)2.91
#520Fun(Jam)2.80

Comments

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Loved the ending. You are a very talented writer :)

Andre Blyth says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:09am

Really nice writing, you set a great mood. And I especially liked the short bit about the crows.

Snoother says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:12am

Really good piece. Thank you for writing it.

My only gripe is that it doesn't break with the default Twine font and layout. But that's superficial I suppose, and the prose itself is quite evocative.

firstbass says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:25am

Very interesting take on the theme and well written story. You set it all quite elegantly.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:41am

@Snoother I normally like to break a bit from default Twine, but got held up the first two days of the jam (most of the reason that it didn't end up a compo entry is that it was written today). I would've liked to see it change more depending on your interactions. I might still work on it.

Thank you all for your kind words!

mechabit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:31pm

some good writing there, could have done with some more options.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Into the woods, it's time to go, I hate to leave, I have to though...

Anyway-- very good atmosphere and good writing. Never sure how to rate text adventures, but this game's pretty darn good.

vandriver says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:01pm

i ended up with the more magical ending. i like that it diverges depending on the material in the clicked phrases. wish more of them altered the story even if just a bit.

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:44am

This is interesting. I like the choice of worlds to cross.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:27am

Good writing.
A bit short. But that's how I write mine too...

Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:07pm

nicely written, not just the prose but how you tell the story. spotted one typo at (one of?) the ending/s: "you never to me that". should be "told", i reckon.

whalebot says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:46pm

You're very good at this story telling business...

Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Wow the style gave it a good mood, Excelente work , the story is awesome! :D

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:36am

Great writing, good job!

pjchardt says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Well crafted, I enjoy your writing style. I am interested in hearing some sound being used in the experience, even if more abstract than literal, I am curious how it could be crafted and integrated to enhance the experience. Either way, well done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]