Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Afterlife Dance Party

by Wertle - Jam Entry

Just an illicit dance party between forbidden friends.

I originally was doing this as the solo comp, but decided that my lackluster composition skills would not do justice to the need of a dancey tune. Thus the switch to Jam and John Fio to the rescue with the music.

Also used some sounds from freesounds users cmusounddesign, robinhood76, henrique85n, ondrosik and rivernile7

Known issues:
- if you spam the controls sometimes the animations lock
- there does reach a point where things spawn and it's impossible to avoid them

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#12Humor(Jam)4.23
#28Fun(Jam)3.97
#29Theme(Jam)4.03
#48Audio(Jam)3.91
#80Overall(Jam)3.76
#99Innovation(Jam)3.64
#104Mood(Jam)3.73
#247Graphics(Jam)3.71

Comments

tigerbyte says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:27am

Good job, Wertle!

My mind just couldn't get that "the devil is going to go a different direction" and I ran him into too many spirits!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Really clever game. I love the reverse control system, and the music is very groovy.

Ludipe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:49pm

I loved the game, very fun and with nice art. The intro was awesome :D

Well done!

P.D.: I also used Construct to make something(not really a game :P ) http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=20471

rojo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:09am

Ha, very clever. The comic book-esque intro was a nice touch. The art did a good job of portraying the mood.

Also you're my first LD30 game, so hooray for that!

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:49am

I am learning so many moves from these two!

slakhorn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:38pm

I found myself jumping to the beat more than to the ghosts, great work!

thiaguera says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:19pm

pretty fun!

barryrowe says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:38pm

This mechanic is really fun, and a really nice interpretation of the theme! Awesome job!

Frankus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:20pm

I was dancing while playing it! It was hard to synchronize the movements on the low and upper screen. Amazing work!

SnoutUp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:39pm

This was so much fun! :)

audiosprite says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:27am

Yo, glad you guys enjoyed the music! You can listen to & download it here https://soundcloud.com/audiosprite/afterlife-dance-party

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:32am

Nice!

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:02am

Haha, that was fun to play. The music is great, the sounds are nice, the graphics are super cute and its well in theme. Well done! :D

Artamus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Nice game, congrats!

Kyatric says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:17pm

The control scheme/feel was a bit rough. Indeed the "sticky" animation bug (even without spamming though :( ) added to the inversion and yet link between the two characters was a bit difficult to apprehend.

Nonetheless, the general cute look of the assets, the indeed bouncy music and the faces expressions while dancing gave a great tone/humor to that game.

The mini story ("Dancing with the devil" was kind of missing some moonlight though ^^) with the boss man and the "when the cat's away, the mice will play" attitude gave great humor and an overall enjoyable experience.

Good job !

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:27am

That was fun. One of the more unique games I've played. The opening cut scene was awesome. The gameplay was simple, yet entertaining. The hand drawn graphics worked well with the genre of game.

My only complaints were the the controls feeling a bit unrefined, and the lack of variety. Otherwise, I enjoyed it quite a bit.

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Super fun entry! Love the opening and animations. Fun music too :)

JavadocMD says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Very fun and unique concept! The setup is brilliant and I love the character design.

The hitboxes felt a little unforgiving which is a pain when you have to quickly switch poses. I also wasn't sure if the game sets you up for "impossible to not get hit" situations, or if I was just bad at the game. (If I spent more time with the game, I'm sure I could figure that out on my own, but anyway...) :)

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Hahah! That was great :)

Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:00am

Haha, I like this style)) Nice entry!

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Funny game with a simple artwork, good job!
It's difficult, but on a good way.

DarknessFades says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Great job, i rly enoyojed theme

EndingChaos says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Wow this was so fun to play! Great job on the animations and programming. and the music was addicting and on point with the gameplay. Great entry.

IamAcoconut says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Really fun to play! I liked the music you used, and the plot line was funny!

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Groovy music, and so much charm from the characters! One of the few great humor scores I have given out :)

Natman says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:45am

I really, really enjoyed this. Clever, funny, and well executed rhythm gameplay. Sometimes it seems like the spirits spawn in impossible-to-avoid configurations though, which is a little frustrating when you're in the flow of things.

Squidtank says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:23am

Hah! That was a blast! Great idea, and great execution!

kibertoad says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Great art, music and premise, satisfyingly working gameplay. Good job!

bluewizard says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Love the little comic

commodoreKid says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Very good mechanic, if graphics would be polished it could make a really good game.

Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:41am

Enjoyable and cute game. Pleasant entry. Well done. :)

Sanguine says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:49pm

The game taught the mechanics very well. Reminds me of games like Dance Dance Revolution, but it made more sense to me and was more fun.

nesis says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Fun game! Taking dodging to the next level. I love the animations on the characters, they're very cute :D Good music, too.

Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Great intro, and a good idea overall. The whole thing was quite sweet and made me smile. Good controls too, although I did shout at the screen a tiny bit, it was hard!

rantt says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:35am

Loved it! It got hard pretty quick. Really enjoyed it, great job :)

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 3:27am

Soul dancing just got another meaning. Well done!

plash says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 4:01am

Ha! This is cute. The dance moves are adorable.

My one mechanical annoyance is that I'm not sure what the extents of the character hitboxes are. Granted this is somewhat moot since collisions occur when I'm scarcely able to pay attention individual spirits, and by that point they are effectively bound to collide with me.

Longest dance: 2m12s.

Nitpicks:

- It does not appear that there is a way to restart the game once bossman comes back. Let me dance, Wertle, let me dance!

- Cutscenes are timed well enough, but I would like to have control over them. Since it isn't voiced, my expectation was that I would be given a frame and could signal the next frame by giving input. Nitpicks, nitpicks!

Thank you for commenting on my entry.

Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:38am

This is a fun little game! I really liked the animations and the mechanic was pretty clear. I felt that the progression was a bit slow. I played it for 3 minutes and I could barely notice that the game got a bit hard.

Budaniel says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:40am

I like the art a lot, and the cut scenes are priceless. The controls are easy enough to get in to but I kept getting hit because I would dance when no spirits were immediately nearby and kinda get forget to stop in time to dodge them when they do come around. The only thing that slightly bugged me was the clock on the screen - seeing something like 1:2 as my time was a little odd. Other than that, I really liked it.

bob_fish says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:42am

Loved how the controls worked! Pretty hard to get used to. Very well polished gameplay and great music. Maybe try to add some colour to the cutscenes?

Erkberg says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Cool music, very cute art, a really nice game overall.

orbitantlers says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 7:06am

Loved the theme/humour/animations.
I couldn't quite get into the dancing groove I wanted because of unavoidable(seemingly) spirits. Like someone else said, perhaps it's down to the size of the hitboxes.

Sheepolution says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Lovely game. After a while I thought I wouldn't mind if it went a bit faster, but then got hit 3 times in a row so I'm not sure if I still think that. The art is cute, and I like the sound effects in the cutscene.

TobiasW says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Just when I praised your comic-making skills on Twitter, I finally get to play your game and get more of that comic style :D

Awesome intro, great use of theme - and above all, fun gameplay! I don't like the situations that pop up where it seems I cannot evade, but until then it's fun and I see why this is hard to avoid algorithmicly.

And yup, good choice on switching to jam - the music fits perfectly.

PS: I love how they call each other to dance independently, but together. So cute!

MechanicMoon says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Woah! Really nice concept! Animation of the dancing are really funny!

Kayelgee says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:25pm

I would really love to give you constructive critisism but this game is just too perfect :D I love the art, music and the gameplay. The pace was good too. I didn't get what I had to do at first but after I got hit by two souls I understood it. The reverse controls mind fucked me a few times :D.

PixelFeet says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Really simple premise, but incredibly challenging execution. I was terrible at it, but it was a lot of fun. Great job!

TaoPhoenix says ...
Nov 10, 2014 @ 10:32am

Yep, this was just a blast of fun art!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]