Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Please Hold

by Liz England - Jam Entry

Please Hold: A Representative Will Be With You Shortly!

A QUEST for a connection, an ADVENTURE in customer service, and an EXPERIENCE you will wish you could forget!


Made in Ren'Py!
Please USE AUDIO!


Alternate Download:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/167055177/PleaseHold-all.zip

Check the about_this_game.txt for full attribution for music & images.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Humor(Jam)4.50
Coolness98%
#13Mood(Jam)4.22
#20Audio(Jam)4.15
#24Overall(Jam)4.08
#38Fun(Jam)3.85
#69Innovation(Jam)3.77
#96Graphics(Jam)4.17
#130Theme(Jam)3.69

Comments

MercuryLegba says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:17am

God, this is soooo frustrating!!! Great game!

polarkac says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:27am

Great! I cant get off that song from my head :D.

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:48am

hehe. I see what you did there ;)

xoxopanda says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Extremely annoying, though an excellent game!

Martins says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Awesome game, but i would like to point out that there is no such thing as "outdated sci-fi" :D

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:04pm

So realistic that I get annoyed.
Good work!

lucidsheep says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Hilarious!

Ludipe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Cool game, frustrating, as it happens with this situations in real life. Once I screamed at them for a long time, it surprisingly worked xD

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:02am

Such a brilliant game! I can't help but feel annoyed. Great job!

JordanFitz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:04am

This game was hilarious, and I loved the music and art.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:10am

That was really cute! I loved the artwork and audio. Everything fit together so neatly. It was really polished. Perhaps you captured frustration too accurately.

rojo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:32am

Pretty much nailed the "customer service" experience. I laughed a few times, but only to cover up my uncontrollable inner sorrow as I remembered my own calls from years past. Good job!

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:51am

I think I got the good ending. I need to go spend a week in the forest with no technology soon.

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:57am

Haha, I've been pretty much through this exact thing before XD
(also, nice touch by adding the 'cellphone near speaker sound' in there) :)

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:23pm

So good. Especially the music!

MintArcade says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Awesome. I hope it will never happen to me ever AGAIN ;) Great game... Excellent audio

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:33pm

5/5 in everything! make moar! this is amazing. PS. make a mobile version too!

C_Walden says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:57pm

That was delightfully maddening. I laughed several times! The music was very well-chosen, at first sounding relaxing, but gave the impression of having subtly condescending undertones as things progressed. Great job.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Great game! Hilarious. Would love some added scenarios!!

Literal Games says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:25am

Hilarious game. Great work with the dialogue options.

SiMouth says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:30am

Fun!
My entry is a customer service game too, of another kind

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:32am

I loved it, great game

Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:18am

Good going. But I hope you can fix the save/load/options menu.

jahmaican says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Quite amusing. And art-wise it's really nice. I especially enjoyed the music.

dook says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Haha, what an infuriating game! I love it. The music and the crazy blinking modem cracked me up ;)

gnerkus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:27am

This is so frustrating! This is a very beautiful game.

dtruby says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:57am

Really like the take on the theme. Also reminds me of IGTCED, but the other way round. The soundtrack was pretty fire - the static noise made me check my headset :P
- Qualia

Artamus says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:35am

I did it! Very funny. (I could totally have tried to re-play the game in October.)

Adam Thompson says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Point was really made! Lovely little adventure about something we can all relate to. It was as frustrating as the situation is in reality, but with a sense of humour and nice production values to offset that! Glad I played it, cheers :)

Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:56pm

"Thats plenty of time to get a few more hours into this MMO-RPG-RTS-FPS roguelike-like match-three game i've been working on." Omg dude that was so hilarious x'D

The game was so fun, hilarious and the story was so awesome xD Excelente work! i also loved the music!!! The phone call was so useless xD

Druid says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:19pm

This is.... OMG! Best game here ! XD

Dans17 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:27pm

I really want to play this game but I can't seem to get it past my anti-virus software.

GrooveMan says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 9:48pm

It took a while for the best joke to appear, but it was definitely worth looping through tech support a whole bunch to get it.

Graphically, I really like the skeumorphism you have going - all realistic textures, but /just/ stylized enough to not feel out of place. The music choice is really good too.

I think the overall experience could be improved if the "It's been an hour since..." increased every time that message came up, and if the background shifted to evening lighting as you kept playing. Thanks for making this!

Sep 11, 2014 @ 3:25pm

amazing game, great writing! so frustrating and fun!

Sheepolution says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Very close to reality. Refreshing browser, reseting modem, turning on and off the computer, and that all 100 times.

Really funny game, I like how much options you have instead of a straight forward story.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]