Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Road Rage

by ChuiGum - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my fourth Ludum Dare. Last August I failed to create something. This is my favorite entry I've made so far, I can see I'm improving :D Road Rage is an endless shooter arcade game. Switch through three lanes, collect money, avoid logs, avoid cones, and shoot your enemies! Little Tip: Shoot the cones to get them out of your way.

Bugs: Some items or obstacles may overlap, really want to fix that.

Everybody seems to be having a bad day. They're all taking it out on each other. Maybe they all are... Connected?... Obviously you can tell that I didn't know how to incorporate the theme into the game. :)

Up and Down Arrow Keys to switch through lanes, and Z to shoot. Enjoy c:

Check out my website for other games as well!
ccolongames.com

Thanks for all the feedback guys, really appreciate it! I'll definitely update the game and notify you when you can check it out.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#436Humor2.50
#452Graphics3.23
#473Audio2.82
#486Fun3.12
#746Overall3.02
#969Mood2.45
#1135Innovation2.14
#1184Theme1.64

Comments

Jaloko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:04am

404 on the download link, would like to play this game please fix.

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:08am

Same issue as above - 404 with the download link.

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:12am

Yup: "The file you're looking for has been deleted or moved."

headchant says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:15am

same issue as the others, file is missing

hungyg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:15am

same here

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:25am

Impossible to download.

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:28am

Ooh thanks everyone! It's fixed now.

Jaloko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:41am

I enjoyed playing and the pixel art is great. The cone graphic sort of look like the VLC icon anyway nice work.

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:47am

Love that I can just blow obstacles out of the way. Great job!

talecrafter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:58am

Nice game, even fun for a while. Great music.
You should make the game restartable by a key stroke if all other controls work by keyboard.

hungyg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:44am

I see you've fixed the link. Really cool game, liked the graphics. I found it difficult to shoot enemies without taking damage however.

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:38am

The pixel art is crazy! I really like this game, I was going to make one myself a while back and it's good to see it in action. Well done! and thanks for the positive comment. The full version of High Flyer will be coming soon! :)

pighead10 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:42am

Could have made more effort to make your game around the theme.

hyouko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:46am

Only slightly disappointed that this was not, in fact, an N64 game from the file name. High score for me was 117, which is a bit lousy, but the hearts kept spawning on/around logs for me.

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:12am

@hyouko Oh, yeah thanks for letting me know. Need to fix a couple bugs.

kidando says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:10am

:D very entertaining. Pretty awesome idea. Awesome work

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Seeing every other car I encountered was driving backwards made me realize maybe I was the one driving the wrong way! That's why they kept shooting me, I am the madman! :P

Lazdo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:34am

I actually really like this, the graphics are simple and we'll done. A little weak on the theme though. Great work overall

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:13am

You've captured exactly how I feel while driving to work! LOL! Solid entry! Good luck to you!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:16am

Solid mechanics and fun to play. Did not really get the link to the theme though.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:44am

Nice game! The audio is compelling and the gameplay challenging. Well done!

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:54am

The art and the audio is good, it is not quite related the theme but it is a fun game. The game is a bit hard, if the control is more responsive and the randomly generated levels are more reasonable(sometimes the obstacles are impossible to avoid or the power up is overlapped with them) then the game would be more enjoyable :)

Endurion says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:00am

The theme seems rather shoe-horned on. Still, it's a decent game. A bit more polish as in avoiding impossible situations (eg. pickups too close or under an obstacle) would be neat.
Plus bosses :)

Made 375 points.

Phaix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:02am

Nice game. I'm missing the theme relation a bit, but in general fun to play.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:04am

Nicely entertaining. High score: 261. With a little tweaking her and there (enemy bullets another color than your own, more balanced cars instead of just random ones, maybe the ability to also drive forward a bit, etc), and some added variation, this could be a pretty nice game.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:06am

I find the graphics and audio to be the strongest factor in your entry. Solid looking objects and the scrolling background makes it that much more polished. The gameplay is slightly lacking though, the speed at which your car changes lane feels too slow for a game so dependant on quickly changing lanes. Also the theme is a bit too abstract for it to stand out. The only hint of the theme I got was from your description of the game.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:35am

Great idea, animations feel slow and clunky in relation to gameplay mechanics. -Flurkin

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Good game, it's fun

uvwar says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:48am

Really fun music. The scrolling was a little too slow for me though. Also: not related to the theme. At all!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:59am

I didn't have very high expectations, but I actually really enjoyed this. Issues such as dodging sometimes being near impossible detracted slightly from the gameplay, but otherwise it was simple and nice. Good job!

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:16am

"404, The file you're looking for has been deleted or moved" D:

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:44pm

+ sound effects
+ animation
- theme

dtruby says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:14am

Having a delay before registering the shoot key isn't a great idea - it foiled my trial-and-error attempt to control the game. Switching lanes was painfully slow, and looked quite weird - might have been better to only slightly rotate the car, if at all. I like the art style a lot, and really dig the music, but it gets a bit too busy towards the end with the pad.
- qualia

pansapiens says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:08am

Great fun, cool pixel art (muscle cars !) and I love that progressive soundtrack. I sort of zoned out and kept playing for longer than I would have expected :) I think it would feel fairer if the player hitbox was a little smaller, I seemed to clip logs too easily with the back of the car when changing lanes.
(Twitch streamed http://www.twitch.tv/omgwtfgames/c/5029045 from ~44:45)

Lvyn says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Good and fun game, but no related to the theme :(

PS. I love the music!

dook says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:55pm

Suprisingly fun little game :) I played it a lot longer than I though I would at first sight.

Dohan says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:28am

Although it has nothing to do with the theme, it's a fun game to play.

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:49pm

I like the graphics and sound, but the gameplay feels kind of stale. Because you are limited to 3 lanes and change very slowly, I didn't feel like I had very much control. There weren't many tense moments of "Oh man, I almost hit that thing", which are key to Burnout/Spyhunter kinds of games. Also, because the enemy cars shoot along the same line that you use to shoot at them, it's impossible to shoot at them while avoiding them so health loss is practically guaranteed with every duel.

HayManMarc says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Very retro. Simple, straight-forward gameplay.

moi93101 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:54pm

remember me old school games ;)

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:54am

It's fun, and the music is catchy.

Crefossus says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:11am

Dying from a transition and hitting a barrier in between lanes feels wrong. I think ti's from the size of the car and the way it switches lanes, but I'm not sure. The controls take a little getting used to but they work out.

Maybe ramp up the pacing a bit more (don't put death barriers in until a little bit).

Music is a bit intense. It feels like two tracks are playing. SFX are nice.

vividhelix says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:13am

Fun game and good music, though not really related to the theme :) But, a game is a game, and it's better than many I've played.

sikosis says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:28am

Simple yet fun. I enjoyed playing

Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:21pm

This is fun! I like the game. Keep it up! :)

LostTrainDude says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:37pm

I really like the graphics and the overall gameplay. It seems to be not so related to the theme but as far as the game goes is still fun to play and engaging!

Sometimes can be hard to survive, but some strategic shooting helps :D

Good job!

chowee says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Solid entry but as you said, not really conected to the theme though.

The graphics and sounds are the best parts of your game. Gameplay is solid and very nice but the game sometimes screw you over (randomization does that ^^) and the controls feels a bit too unresponsive in my opionion.

Good entry overall, I had fun :)

igoramendola says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Nice game! Like others said, it's not related directly with the theme, but it is cool and it has pretty nice graphics. Also, the sounds are good :D

Agecaf says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:53am

It's surprisingly more fun than it seemed! The gameplay is simple, but very well done.

klianc09 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Nice game, like the graphics. The music was... strange.
If switching lanes would be faster, that would have been cool.

madmaw says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 8:45am

Shooting cars, grabbing thick wads of cash, what's not to like?

H1S2 says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:21pm

cant download

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]