Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

80s space trains in hell

by EatYourBeef_Doug - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I was probably a bit too ambitious as usual so I haven't even really been able to test if the later levels are even possible.

I'll try and do a mac port tomorrow, after some sleep!

Aim:
Take your train from planet to planet, buying and selling stock. The prices of all goods are randomized on all but the first two planets, with the harder planets giving more variation so you can profit more, however you'll need to upgrade your ship first as more and more bandits will attack you when you start heading out to the further reaches of the Galaxy.

Controls:
Press 1 to access your turret when travelling mouse click to fire.
Press 2 to look at your sweet train (wasd to look around).
When docked on a planet its all point and click.

Uncompleted things:
I had really hoped to make this more Oregon Trail-ish, that's why you name your crew, I had intended for them to catch all kinds of crazy sexy space diseases, and maybe even jettison their coffins from the train, but alas I ran out of time.

Also all the planets are configured, but I didn't have time to make all the paths, so although you are theoretically travelling between planets the route you take always looks the same, but with the enemy spawning controlled by the difficulty of the chosen destination planet.

Bug/Typo Fix:
Thanks to Mechabit for pointing out that the enemies werent getting destroyed on level complete, thats now fixed

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#170Humor3.11
#339Graphics3.46
#554Theme3.26
#619Mood2.90
#676Overall3.09
#741Innovation2.91
#749Fun2.83
#786Audio2.23
#1796Coolness30%

Comments

Lyszie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:06am

Cool visuals, nice game play!

goffmog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:31am

Ah, the 80s was the decade for space trains. They don't make space trains like they used to anymore.

Fantastic graphics and engaging gameplay, what else can I say?

The one thing I'll criticize (but not much because I do this a bit too!) is having to get through a bunch of UI screens before getting into the action. I think the game would benefit from a short training (hehe) section immediately as you enter the game before it hits you with all that stuff. Not only because people are impatient but because the choices you're making about what equipment to buy are relatively meaningless when you haven't yet experienced any gameplay.

There was no option to give it spacetrains/5, so I settled for 5.

JosephLittle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:32am

Nice graphics and I feel the gameplay could have been good but it felt like it took far too long to get between worlds. Plus, turret sequences get tedious very quickly.

But saying that, I did enjoy it and I liked the Train Squid :)

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:38am

Looked great! Fun gameplay. The laser sound is a little annoying though =)

mechabit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:30pm

I only managed to get to the first planet because the aliens kept shooting me while I was docked and I couldn't do anything about them. Otherwise pretty cool game :)

joonamo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Another train game, cool! Nice graphics too!

John Drury says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:04am

Lots of depth and potential! Would love to see this polished! Really funny when we died, the squid dude was still smiling LOL

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Very nice idea, the main char is very well designed.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:55am

Nice entry! Good job!

Hexadecima1 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:44am

I wrote a poem about this for poemsaboutgames!
http://poemsaboutgames.tumblr.com/post/96506539337/80s-space-trains-in-hell
(sorry couldn't find any other way to contact you)

hb3p8 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Nice graphics.

psychomonster says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:41am

Really colorful 80's space :) But hey this idea is coll. Gameplay is really good. SO I enjoyed it...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]