Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Parallel Worlds

by Brunodev - 48 Hour Compo Entry

*Extract the files from the .rar, right click the .jar and click Open With Java.*

That's it everybody. I'm really happy with what I accomplished, it was quick and easy, had a lot of time to spare, took many breaks, slept well maybe even more than I should have. Nonetheless it was a really fun experience using pure Java. I think I can really say goodbye to Flash and Actionscript.

____________________________________________________________

So the goal of the game is simple, you start in a cute an dandy world, completely stable, and you have to bring order to the chaos of the connected worlds. In order to do that you have to collect magical scrolls. Each time you collect one, the world will get more and more unstable and crazy, with different kinds of baddies after you. You win the game when you collect all 5 scrolls within a time limit. You lose the game if: you get trapped by the hazards, the hostile mobs kill you or if you run out of time.

____________________________________________________________

What went right:

I think the whole engine went perfectly quick and well. Level editor (pixel to tiles), tile map, menus etc.


What went wrong:

Mob collision and mob AI. For starter, collision between mobs and the player is awful, since it's comparing (x,y) from sprites and it went messy. Other than that, my chase AI is really dumb, I did not had time to actually learn A*, so I used a real simple chasing algorithm, then when I applied mob collision to tiles, they would get stuck in walls, water, lava etc, and never get to the player, so I just removed all the tile collision from Mobs and let them chase you freely.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2124Coolness10%

Comments

Boodog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:51am

Awesome job, Bruno! I like the state of the world thing :) Nice graphics too!

danidre14 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:01am

Awesome game Bruno! Like the graphics, weird collision glitches, and music errors! :3 Alot of fun, had me bawling! Did not see much of the theme in it, but still good job!

GhostID says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Bruno, awesome work! This is my fav entry that you've made so far :). I liked the concept of the world becoming unstable, and the enemies changing after each state. Awesome work! (Ps. I'm glad you switched over to java :3. You did fantastic for your first java game!)

Brunodev says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Thanks bros!!! <3

Brunodev says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:26pm

@danidre14 And I thought that the actual theme was my strong stat on this game ;(

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:37am

Make sure that your "Web" download is actually a web version, and not a download!

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:26am

Excellent game, I really liked playing it ;D

Brunodev says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:31am

@Nooner Bear Sorry man I didn't know I could actually edit the submit fields haha.
@fcpfoof Thank you :)

Robert says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:26pm

I liked the Conzept but.There is no real gameplay all you do is running around and hope that you find a scroll.

Brunodev says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:26pm

@Robert Yeah that is pretty much it. =/

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]