Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

World Islands

by joshbradbury52 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a game where there are groups of islands which are the worlds. The aim of the game is to collect the treasure chests to build bridges which connect worlds. This has only 2 worlds and only 1 level as I spent too long on other stuff. Also this is my first 3D game and I first got textured quads in OpenGL about 2 days before LD so don't hate too much on the graphics :D

By the way, I used LWJGL and paulscode SoundSystem.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#868Audio2.00
#962Fun2.56
#962Graphics2.44
#974Mood2.44
#1014Theme2.44
#1048Overall2.63
#1147Innovation2.06
#1730Coolness33%

Comments

JTGaming2012 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:49am

I can't understand the download page... Too complex.

wolfmother says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:54am

The binary download link points to the source repo. I don't see a binary anywhere in or around that repo. :/

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:04am

Yeah sorry about that, I was really tired last night as I was rushing and it was 2am for me xD I pasted the wrong link originally but it should be fixed.

wolfmother says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:20am

Downloaded WorldIslands.jar OK, but attempting to run it with the java runtime results in an instant exit with no message.
The screenshots look interesting too :(

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Yeah I am getting an issue with lwjgl, I think I know how to fix it so will do so now. Sorry for the issues xD.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Okay, it should NOW be fixed, he says hopefully/

Dx724 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:12pm

I'm getting "A Java Exception has Occurred"

local minimum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:20pm

I also get the Java Exception

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Okay, turns out I uploaded the wrong jar xD I think now there should be no more issues, as I have had too many :/ Hope you enjoy it :)

ob6160 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:17am

java -jar mv.jar

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: no lwjgl in java.library.path

Rothens says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:27am

please cull the lower body, that's really annoying when you look down :( Overall I liked your entry, even though I'm really get bored about minecraftish games, but anyway, this is your first quad texturing, and first 3D game, so no problem this time :P And try to fix the 'air-jump' thing too :D (if you go down on one of the sides, you could still jump once)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:15pm

ob6160 I am really unsure how you get that as I fixed it before so :/ Rothens thanks! I didn't want it to be minecraft like but it just happened to so oh well :D yeah I did notice that and I know how it is caused I just ran out of time :P

Spang says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:07am

It Worked For me. :D

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:24am

Unless there is a 3rd person view mode I am not aware of I don't see the point of having the camera see the red of the model when looking down to try and figure out where you will land.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:37pm

I was going to add one but time constraints meant I never got round to it :/

KEFIR says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:48pm

This one is very solid for the first 3D game! Good job!

Benjamin says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:51pm

The game works here.

It was a bit difficult to jump on small platform with a 3rd person view. Jumping flash on PSONE had a nice camera rotation on double jump you could be interested in : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vyQI10yfl1E&feature=youtu.be&t=1m10s

Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Thanks! And yeah that jump looks cool :)

RHY3756547 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Very nice work for just getting started with 3d! I understand your plight with the graphics stuff being hard to put together alongside the engine, though having the game look like minecraft is a little uninspired. The platforming was enjoyably difficult at parts, though it would have been nice if after I got the first bridge to spawn a way to skip to it after dying appeared. Though I did manage to get around this by jumping the gap corner to corner and barely making it. ;)

DarkCart says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 9:37pm

These textures are very similar to Minecraft. That may be a problem since, to my understanding, every asset has to be made within the 48 hour period. Good job anyway.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]