Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

What Could Possibly Go Wrong?

by Andrew Shouldice - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Update: As requested, I have added an "anti-wrist strain" version. This change was made after the compo ended.

This game uses the arrow keys (or WASD) and the mouse.

Warning: some flashing images.

--------------

After you've played, perhaps you would like some "connected worlds" context:

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=22249

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=22249

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=22249

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Fun4.35
#15Overall4.17
#15Graphics4.44
#27Mood4.06
#66Audio3.72
#75Humor3.46
#520Theme3.31
#833Innovation2.79
#1523Coolness42%

Comments

Bemmu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:13am

Great entry. I can see some connection with "our god lives underground" with the purposefully grainy art style and mood. Nice polish with the hair, blood, gunshots with trails and recoil.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:55am

So slick! Great shooter. Sometimes the mouse would get stuck, it was probably due to me clicking outside the games boundaries. Really enjoyed it still :)

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:47am

This is great but it really, REALLY needs the ability to just hold the mouse down to shoot. A trigger warning about that potentially epilepsy-inducing flashing on the game over screen might not be out of place, either. xD

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Thanks for the feedback, Crowbeak. I've added a warning about the flashing; good call. You're right about holding the mouse too: post compo version maybe! :)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:10pm

That's really cool. Retro is great. Lovely smooth movement, great kill effects and final death is unpleasant! Terrific graphics and sound. Great job!

Lemonade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:12pm

This was excellent.
Is there a way to beat Wave 6 aka AAAAAAAAA?

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Definitely agree that you should be able to hold down the mouse button. Great job with the feel/polish/effects, it's quite satisfying. The text between waves is also a nice touch, I think it actually adds a lot.

joonamo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Not very innovative, but solid gameplay. Also nice animations and hair physics!

Opelious says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:19pm

I actually like the 'press to shoot' rather than the 'hold to shoot' method, though I would like there to be an option on the keyboard itself. Using Space to shoot would be ideal.

That said, really like the game feel. Both the sound and visuals make it very satisfying to play. Now if only I could beat wave 6...

elliottd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Fantastic feel, very juicy. Sounds and visual effects are very intentional and polished while still feeling raw and simple.

ehtd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Autofire would be appreciated :)

jayhof says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:15am

Such a nice feel to the shooting, I could not bring myself to stop. The art style is very nice as well. Body parts flying everywhere blood and explosions what else does a game need? ;)

rylgh says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:36am

Great fun and game feel. Only complaint (besides no hold-to-shoot) is that the enemy bullet color kinda blended with the ground color for me.

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Juicy visuals, awesome sound and hectic-fun gameplay. Excellent entry!

steve says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Great shooter, loved the connections with your previous LD entries, camera could have been a little further out though as mostly I killed stuff off screen by spraying'n'praying ;)

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:31pm

+1 to the request for hold and shoot! I came back to check your entry after "our god lives underground" stuck with me for so long. I like this one too and you have a great way of bringing out atmosphere with audio and misting effects. another great game. :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:21pm

The scale of your character and the view really made it for me. Give a very unique feel, tense and lively.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:51am

Cool game, great execution.

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Pure awesomeness :)

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:57pm

The feel of this game, especially regarding the gunshots and the alien noises, is really compelling. I'll have to see if I can make it to the end of this.

MicroChasm says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:46pm

This is the best game I have seen so far for LD 30. I love the feel, the graphics, the chaotic combat, and the humor. Nice "juicy" feedback. I think the best part is the hair though. Nice touch.

XenosNS says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Very cool! Love the blocky art, humour and the sound effects. The wind is creepy, especially.

Had issues with the mouse though, kept going too high and accidentally click on tool bar tabs in my browser. Perhaps if the game window was further down?

alvivar says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:15am

Solid work! Great gameplay, sounds, mood! Good job.

micahcowan says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:55am

Gets my blood pumping. It's friggin' hard! Really, really solid entry.

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:48am

Awesome ! Really like graphics and effect! Congrats!

chas says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:48pm

The sound, camera work, and animation all work together to make such a visceral impact. Very effective.

runvs says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:01pm

What a great game! Very Juicy, indeed.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Man, that gun feels good!

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:00am

Would have been nice not to have to start over again when dead, but it was fun nonetheless!

The persistent enemy death decals and screen shake added a lot to the polish!

hadesfury says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Great game !

lekochen says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:36am

Excellent game feel, well done!

anssipe says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Nice, solid game. Graphics have a neat olskool feeling. Love the recoil effect when you shoot.

Pavel says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Cool game. Love the graphics and pace.

OFF says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Even the game over is cool.

It lack of a little bit of intensity maybe with a soundtrack. Also a way to enlarge the field of view (maybe when you didn't shoot for example) could make the game more strategic, and less random.

But for 48h it's technically terrific!

Sargonius says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Amazing!

malf says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:07pm

VEry good game, impressive what can be done in 48h

igoramendola says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 3:54am

Wow!! After hours of playing, my best was reach the Wave 7... wheee! \o/
That wave is insane!! hahaha... the game is pretty good in many aspects.
Super cool entry :D

local minimum says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Really nice and hard entry! Lots of good work on the effects, shakes and though-through style of the game. Got a couple of waves down, but playing with touch-pad that was about as far I deemed possible. I'm hard pressed to come up with something constructive other than praise, but one possible thing that might make it more fun would be if one could re-up the health. Either by low chance spawning hearts from killed aliens or by long cool down health station.

Macocco says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Really fun shooter! Awesome graphics including the little details like the hair and nice screenshakes! Approach to the theme is surprisingly simple compared to your other games though.

wdebowicz says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:05pm

AI is simple but I still have a lot of fun. I like the graphic style, so simple so cool.

mcapraro says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:05pm

i love your entries! very polished and feels really smooth.

oscarmbp says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 6:11am

Nice Carnage

Sep 19, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Was hoping for some power-ups or lives but I understand for the time limit some things must be cut. Seems very old-school without those features. Got to Wave 4, didn't find any bugs. When you replay it a couple times, figuring out you can hide behind rocks and the enemies fire slower than you think makes it pretty strategic but only having four hearts means death comes eventually without perfect reflexes.

greytram says ...
Nov 11, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Nice game! A little suggestion: it would be great if movement keys could be modified (WASD isn't a great setup on AZERTY keyboards).

mynametiger says ...
Mar 22, 2015 @ 10:44am

Can I use it in my game

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]