Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Clash

by donan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Space Clash.
Restore the Asgari Emerald pieces in 9 Levels(Boss included).

WebGL support mostly required (unless you use the apps)
Controls: Mouse (Gun) and awsd/arrows
T to disable CRT Effect
Hope you like the game :D

¡Remember to get the gun! (First level its impossible without it)

Framework: Construct2
Graphics: Photoshop
Fx: Bfxr
Music: Sonar

Known bug:Maximizing the exe screen makes cursor precision unstable (Trying to fix it). Better use the web version.

If you feel too lazy to finish the game: Press RAD at the same time and then: (L finish level) (G Get a Gem) (P Get Gun)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#239Audio3.28
#301Graphics3.50
#306Mood3.29
#519Humor2.38
#543Overall3.22
#651Fun2.93
#965Theme2.56
#978Innovation2.53

Comments

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 10:45pm

cool game, but controls are too floaty.

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:08am

Doesn't work for me.

donan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:09am

Hey, @PowerSpark, webgl its required to play the game. Try to use Firefox or Chrome :)

handkor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:10am

How many death animations did you make?

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:10am

nice work

please, make levels more simple. can't play :(

pa3kc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:11am

A bit confusing but still nice!

Xeke_Death says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:12am

Looks cool... Nice story too... I didn't play all of it, do I really need to find 1000 pieces...?

The movement did feel a bit slow, especially compared to the yellow enemies, and the small window of opportunity to pass the barriers...

pjchardt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:42am

Nice game. Great mood and graphics. Got a bit frustrated with the controls. Would like faster acceleration and deceleration, as it was difficult to move past the energy beams. Solid entry though!

sanojian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:57am

Really cool visual effects. I wish there were more different bad guys.

Roknsk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:11am

Really liked effect of the darkness with a fisheye.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:14am

Love the music. Also love skating around with a jetpack shooting the crap out of things with unlimited ammo. Great work!

vinhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:16am

I liked the graphics and the music but I was having a bit of trouble figuring out what to do.

akios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:35am

very cool art, but mechanics are simple and repetitive

Lyszie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:35am

Fun to play :) the controls are bit confusing though (or I'm not very good using them xD

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:37am

I like the jetpack moveing around with it was nice .. Just think that for future try make some easier levels at the start :D

ploogle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:01am

I couldn't get past the first level. >.< Maybe I need more sleep...

Awesome art, music, etc! Really good.

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:17am

This game look really promising, only I have no idea what to do when I get to the "gem room". I tried the debug mode but even that doesn't seem to help. Could you please give us more instructions?

donan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:22am

You gotta open the green door on the left. Then you see the story and latter gotta head to the next green door :)

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:38am

Nice effect when you get a gem!
Some little things that will improve the game:
-Please put an arrow or an indicator to first door, its a bit confusing at first glance.
-Ill put some health bar o lifes to make it a little bit easier.

Nice game!

wolfmother says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:59am

25Mb is big!
Excellent graphics and art! Cool visual effects. Good sound and music.
Gameplay pretty good fun, but I keep getting stuck on account of not understanding the mechanics of various elements. Lots of trial and error required.
I didn't have a problem with the controls, they felt entirely appropriate for someone using a jetpack in space.
Not really buying the "connected worlds" angle though.

Overall very impressive.

donan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:59am

Thx for your comment Jupitron. Didnt think about the hint on first door :)
About health, in fact i did a death by x hits animation, but the stages were really short and felt it was too easy :)

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Wow this is cool. Like the controlls... very challenging. Nice mood and light engine. Level design is cool. Nice Entry... It is running perfect with chrome and Firefox... Like to see how the main character is dying in diffrent ways :D

Doubstract says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:16pm

nice visual effects

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Movement was pretty floaty, and I didn't realize the yellow circles could be destroyed at first - seems like they take tons of hits to destroy. Otherwise nice job :)

neipo13 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Enjoyed the jet-packing. Game would have benefited from a slightly higher fire rate to make destroying orbs less of a chore.

Clavus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Nice game. Not much variety in the gameplay, but overall it's solid.

esayitch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Liked the CRT Effect :)
I liked the idea though I think theme could be better used... The controls are also a but sluggish. Certain enemies can be killed from afar without endangering yourself. Graphics are pretty cool, sound added a bit as well.

Good entry, and good luck!

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Little floaty but I like it, reminds me Exile from C64 a little ;)

dylanwolf says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:47am

While it's tough because the controls are a bit touchy and the timing on the lasers is very precise, it's neat that there's almost a stealth element to avoiding the orbs.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:20am

tighten up the controls a little and I think you could have a fun little game here. I've always loved Zero G gameplay, and you did this one well with a nice visual style and cool base line to go with it (the music was great, however I'm not sure it suited the game, needed something more space)

Great work

zatyka says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:58pm

I played this for quite a while. Very nice use of filters to give off a mood. The player felt a bit heavy. The level design was good, but repetitive. I had a big ah-ha moment when I realized that the enemies died in the yellow fields... it made things much easier.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Hi there. Great look and movement. Like the gun and combat. Creatures seem to have a clever AI, to retreat a bit under fire. Nice to see Construct2 being used! Good job!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:18pm

The setting of the mood is perfect even if the gameplay wasn't to my tastes. The CRT effect was a brilliant touch.

dunin says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Nice game. we do not usually see an hub and various dead animations in LD game. But the character is slow and wait for yellow doors further slows the rythm...

Kyatric says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:18am

Nice entry. The pace of the game in relation to the controls are a bit to low/slow though.
The general ambiance is pretty nicely rendering, cool music, nice graphics, but the yellow barriers are especially tedious. They aren't difficult as per say, but they are solid far longer than they are "passable" and it makes it so that most of the gameplay is spent waiting that the barier's state is good enough.

I must admit that I "rage quitted" at the first green barrier level, the one with the horizontal yellow barrier because I felt three unfair (to me) deaths because I can't control the "down" direction and the switching time of the barriers were enough.

Otherwise nice game and congratulations on making a game during the compo !

jjhaggar says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:57am

Spoiler alert!
I finished the game (how could I left humanity to their fate?) and I must say I didn't expect a final boss :D A final boss is always welcome! XD By the way, I'd like to ask, is there a happy ending?

donan says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Nope, there is only one ending. Thx everyone for all the comments :D

Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:06pm

It was a little bit difficult to control, but a really nice atmosphere and setting

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]