Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

RacerrAcerworlD

by loadsofmana - Jam Entry

WASD controls, Lshift to brake, Q to respawn Lcontrol to boost (not reccomended). P ejects you from the car but that serves no purpose and breaks respawning.

Race through multiple worlds connected by portals, with a trials-like clear the stage without dying style!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#171Humor(Jam)3.00
#465Audio(Jam)2.83
#487Fun(Jam)2.85
#497Graphics(Jam)3.08
#576Overall(Jam)2.93
#653Mood(Jam)2.45
#687Innovation(Jam)2.30
#725Theme(Jam)1.96

Comments

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:17am

The signs were cool, and the music fitting, needs some AI to race against, though :).
Also, the camera is a bit too snappy, would be nice if it was smoother.
Also, I kept getting stuck in walls and stuff.

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:30am

Hahaha, that is quite the experience. I seem to have run into a couple issues requiring browser reload, though.

1 - Ack, I'm stuck in the wall at turn 1!!! Is that supposed to happen? I forgot to turn and slammed halfway through it.

2 - Uh oh... I've fallen off and I'm not respawning, even though I'm still in the car.

3 - My cursor keeps escaping unity web player and going onto other windows (not sure this is something you can control or just how unity web player works)

Great concept, art, and sound, really creates the fun and excitement. I'd love to see slightly tighter controls. I found myself going reaaaally slowly around turns, which kind of kills the fun. But I simply die too quickly if I go all out. But high marks for all of the creative aspects. Thanks for sharing it.

loadsofmana says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:47am

you can press Q to respawn, holding brake while turning makes corners and Us a lot easier, but i agree the controls do need work, thanks for the comment!

Kato says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:43am

Nice graphics and mood, but the car kinda handles like mush :( I really wanted to see more levels, but found it difficult to make it to the end of the first track (kept getting stuck in walls) and impossible to make it to the end of the second. Audio needs a longer loop.

Vytheros says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:45am

Game is way too fast, and it is awesome. Used boost on the starting ramp and went way off the map. Audio is a bit annoying after a while.

loadsofmana says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:17am

there is supposed to be a different song for each level, but that broke, and our music guy bailed for the weekend so i had to use randomly generated music.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:35pm

I liked the concept of the main char, but the controls are very difficult.

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:14pm

I must not be very good at this game, haha. It was difficult for me to control. Great effort!

Pesty says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:16pm

A nice idea, perhaps a bit too ambitious for just 48 hours

Toubib says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:17pm

i like it xD, but the controls are soooo messy xD. Great audio. 2D + 3D was a nice idea too.

tiff says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Very cool!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]