Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Wizards Gone Wild

by Lizzip - Jam Entry

Controls:

L - Switch active wizard/world
K - Fire magic bolt (you can hold down the key, don't wear your finger out mashing)
A/D or LEFT/RIGHT - Movement
SPACE or UP - Jump
F5 - Restart

Aim:

Survive to wave 10 by killing the enemies. The wizards have a shared health pool, so if one dies it's game over.

The inactive wizard cannot shoot and is shaded, but he can still take damage. Through the game you need to switch to the wizard who is most at risk and defend yourself.

Story:
We forgot to actually describe the story, but it's one evil wizard who has split himself in two with the intent of destroying the Ice and Fire worlds.

He has planted a magical device in both worlds, which you spend the game defending. The waves of mobs are trying to kill the wizards and disable the devices, but we ran out of time before putting this all in

Tools:

Created using PlayCanvas, MilkyTracker and Paint.NET
Made by @Auroraimortalis and @LizzipFish

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#103Theme(Jam)3.75
#278Innovation(Jam)3.21
#307Humor(Jam)2.58
#356Fun(Jam)3.08
#453Overall(Jam)3.12
#468Graphics(Jam)3.17
#511Audio(Jam)2.67
#551Mood(Jam)2.79
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

OathAlliance says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:08am

Wow, that's really hard, but fun!

Good job and an interesting concept too.

Rehacked says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:14am

hi why i cant replay and why there is a collision with enemy when he is above me ? good job

Lizzip says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:29am

Thanks Oath!

Rehacked: when an enemy is above you he can still reach you to do damage. And we didn't get around to putting in the ability to restart, you just have to reload the page I'm afraid (which is rubbish, I know)

CrefossusJam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:28am

I liked the fade out/darkness depending on which side you are on. The ice guy shouldn't spawn near you. There needs to be more feedback when you're getting hit as I didn't understand it at first. Nice particles and graphics/animations.

However, the fire seems like it would hurt the ice guy, but it doesn't matter. Once I found out about auto-repeat shooting that made the game a lot more fun. Fun game and fairly polished overall..gj!

ivanhlb says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:50am

It's a simple concept, not too shabby.
Haha btw are the wizards twins?

oranebeast says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:31am

Interesting and fun conecept

Lizzip says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:08am

Thanks ivanhlb, oranebeast.

We forgot to actually describe the story, but it's one evil wizard who has split himself in two with the intent of destroying the Ice and Fire worlds.

He has planted a magical device in both worlds, which you spend the game defending. The waves of mobs are trying to kill the wizards and disable the devices, but we ran out of time before putting this all in :P

hexagore says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:50am

This is so hard. Love it :)

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:10pm

A fun time! Good execution of a split screen concept like this. Nice!

Literal Games says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:17am

A pretty good game with a nice use of the theme! The difficulty was spot on, so well done with that. Jumping physics seemed a little jumpy but that could just be me. Great job!

KuGrou says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Cool idea, and I like the art. The fire effects look nice, but at first I thought it would hurt me since it didn't look like it was in the background.

pjimmy says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:56am

nice, well done

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:31am

There's something lonely about these wizards...

01101101 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:35pm

really fun but hard but fun but hard :P Several background would have been great, well done!

tiff says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:28am

Holy hard, Batman! Still a lot of fun though and I love the way you used the theme! :)

MaesK says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:35pm

A little bit too difficult, but interesting. Might improve with a better position for spells, like Z/X instead of L/K, for example. Nice contrast between fire and ice.

sbarrio says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Beat the whole 10 waves :) I liked the idea and had fun playing it, but the music was really annoying after a while.

Great job!

Sep 16, 2014 @ 3:50am

Cool game! I included it in part 29 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/dd4UkBLKHXI

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]