Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Panel Galaxy

by Colorvade - Jam Entry

http://www.stencyl.com/game/play/27977

Panel Galaxy is an RPG or Strategy game or something.


The game may be difficult and obtuse so here are some tips:

- You start off placing panels. Once you've finished you can move from panel to panel.
- After moving 3 spaces you're back to placing panels. If you walk into a dead end panel it's game over.
- Your goal is to defeat the boss by getting stronger. Certain panels help with this and others hurt.
- Checking panel descriptions before placing them is key.
- You can check your garnered stats and items with the buttons on the top right.
- To avoid being trapped make sure you give yourself enough space to move 3 times per turn (I would have a workaround for this given more time).

Feedback is appreciated. I'm sure the game is chock full of bugs and balancing issues at the moment.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#31Innovation(Jam)4.06
#76Fun(Jam)3.65
#83Audio(Jam)3.77
#84Overall(Jam)3.75
#152Mood(Jam)3.57
#153Humor(Jam)3.11
#167Graphics(Jam)3.94
#249Theme(Jam)3.45
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:42am

Well done and clever concept. I did a very similar thing, but I think yours was really well done.

JNyknn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:42am

Innovative concept, I like it!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:47am

I love this. Really pretty, good audio, great concept (I'm a fan of RPGs generally so I'm a bit biased!) - really nicely done!

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:50am

Great art style! The fights are fun and the pace is good with some catchy music. Nice work!

taocayo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:01am

Great concept! Reminds me of some games in the 90s.

Oxeren says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:02am

Awesome! Fun and well polished. And quite difficult - are boulder bugs immortal? :)

pjchardt says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:13am

Great game! There were some bugs and other issues as you mentioned, but ignoring these hiccups I really enjoyed this game. Not just enjoyed it as a game jam game, but legitimately as a game experience. Nice work.

DrHahn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:13am

I continually trapped myself. A lot. I had no idea what I was doing wrong. But the concept itself seems interesting and solid, just need a way to untrap myself.

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:59am

awesome work, art sound and concept top notch.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:23am

Pretty good and clever game, I like the graphical style and the tile based gameplay, even if it feels little too random at times. Bad luck of getting dozen hazardous tiles in a row or encountering an enemy immune to fists can end your adventure pretty quickly.

Tanner says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:10am

Great graphics. Nice idea. Also great audio!

01010111 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Awesome game, awesome concept, great art, nice audio, I loved it!

DarkCart says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:05pm

I trapped myself :P Good job anyway.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Neat concept, nice art :)

Spang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:10pm

I enjoyed it a lot. :) Hope you keep this game after the competitions it may have potential

dook says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:13pm

This has a lot of potential. With some balancing and and more variations in the tiles it could be a super addictive little web/mobile game. Definitely worth a shot to improve upon it! That said I kept getting stuck on the boulder creatures, I didn't manage to hit them a single time, even with different weapons :/

simplesmiler says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Very clever concept and awesome execution. Please keep on working on this!

ceosol says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:43pm

This is a very nice game. I love the entire concept of creating a world and walking through it. I had trouble also with not having enough strength to damage boulder guys and have bad tiles popping up a bunch of times in a row. One of my plays had quite a few enhancements right away. Eventually I got stuck with the choice to get poisoned or fight maw... I fought maw and lost :)

yodamaster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Nice twist to RPG.

Natrium729 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Addictive idea. A little unbalanced (I always encounter enemies that are imune to fists) but that is what makes it good: you try and try until you win (I haven't won yet though :p).

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 8:26pm

This is great, although balancing is definitely needed. I've found an axe and a sword at the beginning of the game and successfully fought monsters until my weapons broke; after that I've died pretty soon since I didn't encounter any more loot.

Also, leaving the tiles on the map and disabling them after we left would probably be nicer than erasing them - that way, we'd see a map of our adventures, and maybe some nice tactical decisions about tiles placement will be added.

Anyway, awesome concept.

Frankus says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Really nice concept. Would be a great casual game. I lasted a good while, unitl I've got more damage tiles than good ones. Awesome :)

Ryan Melmoth says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Finally got around to playing this and it's fantastic! One of my favourites from this LD. Very charming and unique. If it gave the player more choices so that we could succeed even under bad luck, then I could see myself playing this for a long time.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]