Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gatestone

by Aevek - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Gatestone - my isometric survival adventure game.

Controls - WASD/Arrow Keys to move, right click to open interact menus, E to open inventory, space to fire arrows once you've crafted them.

Move between worlds by using the Gatestones. Be careful, the other realms may be hostile. Be prepared.

Sorry no web version, the controls are far too right-click heavy to work well in a web version. I tested the linux version, but encountered too many issues. I'll post versions for other platforms once I've had a chance to test the OSX and fix the Linux.

Honestly I'm not all that happy with how it turned out. Maybe I've just been staring at it for too long. Suggestions on how I could have done it better are appreciated. I look forward to playing all of your games.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#339Graphics3.46
#429Mood3.14
#611Humor2.24
#668Fun2.91
#684Overall3.08
#833Theme2.82
#950Audio1.67
#962Innovation2.56

Comments

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Would like to see this game in full version, with some history and house building ability. Looks promising, good job though.

MintArcade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Interesting. It took me 10 minutes to remember NOT TO TOUCH [Exit to Menu] button, but the game is fun, isuals are good and there is nice general vibe to the scene, unfortunately no music or sounds. Lots of things was done in 48 hours and I appreciate it. Nice job!

Zupoman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Nice game. I like how large the world is (it's random, right?). The gatestone was a bit too far away though, and it is hardly anything visible after the night falls.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:59am

Nice job for the amount of time you had. Not sure why but a lot of the time I couldn't harvest rocks or bushes.

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:01am

really good! Good graphics, and gameplay. I had alot of fun.

Drew Van Camp says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:01am

Holy cow! Very interesting! The visuals were a cool style. That hellish place was hard on the eyes because it was hard to see past the smoke or steam or whatever. First location was somewhat peaceful (until I kept getting stuck moving around). Nice seeing wildlife! I was surprised by that! Then things got scary in the second place and I almost made it but was double teamed and fumbling over keyboard/mouse controls. (I totally freaked out!)

I'm a big fan of the isometric 3D look, but would be cool to make the controls more comfortable. Could use some audio. Really good work, nonetheless, as it's looks really neat and is an adventurous challenge.

pvtroswold says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:11am

Fun, kind of lengthy to reach the gatestones though. Maybe could have used a save feature! Good job!

ethankennerly says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:34am

Crafting a workbench to make a knife to gather fibers to make a bow to shoot a deer in the blocky world charmed me. If you continue to develop this, have you considered clarifying space in the inventory, such as showing a progress bar? I felt confused why I couldn't pick anything up until I figured inventory was full. Also have you considered turning down the rate of spawning deer in the beginning? It's neat to participate in the ecology yet the fearless deer swarmed me after a few minutes.

Berail says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:16am

I want to see it finished :D it is promising game :D

4xisblack says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:34am

I like the visual style!

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:25am

That was fun. Nice graphics. I really like isometric games and this one is no exception. Good job!

Endurion says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:26am

Nothing too innovative, but a good start. This needs some audio!

Putting the exit button was a really bad idea :)

varun says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:45am

Impressive that you were able to make survival game mechanics in such a short time! Loved the art style. The exit to menu button however, is unfortunately placed.

Crefossus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:57am

The lighting gave it great mood.

The particles in the nether could use a light around them like the fire spell or just be darker as it becomes night.

If you can't harvest a bush it could be red and say "requires knife" or whatever. If your inventory is full and that prevents you from harvesting you could give a similar message or feedback.

The portal indicator didn't seem to be based on the player location even though it probably was. It felt a little off.

The exit to menu button should go on an escape menu and not the crafting menu.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:13am

Pretty good concept, night time takes WAY too long to end.
Also, you may want to use that ambient lighting,increase it's brightness during the day and such. Is this randomized?

Lvyn says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:21am

Nice idea and mood, but feels really long to reach the gem stones.

Ted Brown says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:27pm

You picked an extremely challenging game type to do in 48 hours, and got very close to what I'd call a "full game." Well done.

Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:50am

Nicely done! Kinda like the forest. Could have used some sounds though :)

mystakin says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 1:05am

I think this is a strong start to a Minecraft style game, especially given the amount of time put into it. I really dig the art, even though it's very polygonal. Feels like papercraft, so I think it works.

Chaoslab says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 5:13am

That was fun! :-)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]