Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Into The Shadows

by Dans17 - Jam Entry

There is a rumor that there is an abandoned school that was built on a portal to another world. Your friends dare you to go inside, but just after you enter, the door disappears into thin air. You soon realize that if you concentrate, you can slip in to the other world. Armed with only a flashlight, you must use your ability to go between worlds to find the key and leave the school alive... but don't let the shadows overcome you...

WASD- movement
Mouse- look around/aim flashlight
Hold Spacebar- fade into the other world
F- turn flashlight on/off
Esc- pause the game

Instructions: The bar at the bottom of the screen represents how far into the other world you are. If it fills up entirely, you will be overcome by the shadows and die. The key can only be seen and obtained when you are in the other world, and some doors will fade away, allowing you to walk through them. While in the other world, the shadows will move and try to overcome you; use your flashlight to slow them down. However, make sure you watch the flashlight's battery level on the left side of the screen.

Made in Unity
Credit to Mark DiAngelo for the wind sound effect
Made by Sam Westerlund and Daniel Sousa

Choose your OS version for best graphics

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#121Mood(Jam)3.66
#165Theme(Jam)3.62
#170Audio(Jam)3.50
#359Innovation(Jam)3.09
#366Overall(Jam)3.25
#496Graphics(Jam)3.09
#512Humor(Jam)2.08
#619Fun(Jam)2.59

Comments

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:53am

Scary spooky shadows thar. Ended up walking backwards a lot to slow them down, not sure how much it helped, but whew. Never was a hallway with lights so welcome.

Aevek says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:11am

Love the concept of the kind of shadow world thing. Not one to play right before I go to bed. The audio really completed the experience, great job there. Awesome job guys.

mactinite says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:17am

The audio really made this one creepy. I'm a wuss when it comes to scary games so I couldn't get very far, but it definitely hit right in the creepy feels. lol

Zambini says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:18am

I wasn't quite sure what to do once the shadows appeared. It seemed like my flashlight didn't really do much.

A fun exploration though. I liked the shadow mechanic.

The mood though was great. Felt really creepy the whole time.

CoopNasty says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:19am

Flashlight seemed very ineffective and died far too quickly for how hard it was to get out of the shadow world. I died quite a few times before I finally found a key and ended up dying because I was overrun by like 6 or so shadows. I like the ideas, would love to see them implemented when you have more time to work on them!

AortaStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:19am

I love the flashlight mechanic, really reminds me of Alan Wake. Sadly I couldn't even find the key haha but from everything I played the game is really well put together!

Lissar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:20am

Pretty creepy! Especially the wall posters.

Tom Liebmann says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:21am

The sound is really creepy and after dying about 10 times I finally was able to end the game. I don't know what positive effect the flashlight has but overall it is a nice entry.

tommyboys0107 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:24am

Shadow is so fast and many..., even I use the flashlight.

But the atmosphere is good!

DeathPidgeon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:24am

I like the detail you put into this game. The horror aspect was well done. It was hard to play though, I kept on getting killed by multiple shadows ganging up on me.

DarkCart says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:35pm

I like the backwards sound when you die, as well as the 3D effect. Nice Job.

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:22am

Scary atmosphere, really liked it :) I'm too wimpy to continue playing XD but great game! :D

DDFranky says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:37am

Nice concept and the sound design is amazing! I have the feeling that a dumber IA maybe would be more enjoyable

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:26am

ok, creepy as fsck. the mechanics were a bit weird, but it was interesting and novel. nicely done.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:29am

Wow, that was spooky. I had my earhpones in and volume to max the first time i encountered the shadows gave me the chills! I'm not a big fan of horror games but this was fun!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:37am

Nice atmosphere, got terrified when I ran out of battery.
~funkeh

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:37am

Atmosphere & mood are really great! Good job!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:55am

Wow! I found the key once bit I couldn't make it to the exit. Great atmosphere. I wish I were able to get the key a second time.

CrefossusJam says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:08am

Intense game with great sound effects and intense gameplay. I didn't feel like the flashlight had much effect at first. I wish it would defeat the shadows instead of merely slowing them down.

It wasn't that fun to have to run backwards while shining a light downwards, but it did evoke plenty of emotion.

I liked the flickering lights, although all the textures seemed to be a little flat.

Minimal UI was nice.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:45pm

It's interesting and graphically very well for a jam! good job!

danidre14 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:12am

There is kind of a bug, cause they say hold space to go to other world, I just tapped space, and now I can't get back to my world. Also the flash light does absolutely nothing, and they still chase me! :(

RawboSaurX says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:20am

Died the first time, but got through on my second attempt. Very short, but everything works and the mood is really creepy when you're getting close to death. Great entry, man! Well done.

ShadowStryker says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:26am

Definitely had a spooky mood to it. Love these kinds of horror games. Although it was difficult, you did a good job.

elefantopia says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:03am

Wow, amazing game with good graphics and sounds. I liked the controls of slipping into the other world and the flashlight for protection.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Oh man, it remembered me of Slender Man, so moody! Too easy to die, or I guess that I did not know how to properly play. Great job!

tiff says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:55am

Great idea!

bendmorris says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:00am

Fantastic. You got the Slender Man mood down perfectly.

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Very moody

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 11:42am

Cool game but the key location really should be randomized, after descovering where it is the first time, the game becomes so plain simple, it's not a challenge anymore. The mood and audio are very good though.

Sep 14, 2014 @ 7:04pm

It seems like I just die. O-o I dunno... I included it in part 24 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/3RN80xyak-c

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]