Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Artifacts of Color

by Jaucheman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have to prevent the black hole from swallowing all color and existence, it appeared suddenly and out of nowhere. All the flying worlds are in Danger so hurry up before it sucks all color and existence out of everything!

To destroy it you need the three artifacts of color. you will find the artifacts in the different connected worlds.
The worlds are connected with ancient bridges so there are no safety arangements. watch your step and dont fall it could be your death and the end of everything. You have one minute and 15 seconds to destroy the black hole otherwise everything is lost, color is sucked out of everything every second so you should hurry.

to take artifacts just walk over them!

if an obstacle is blocking your way to a artifact and it seems impossible to reach it you can either reload or walk infront of the obstacle and just walk trough it backwards(no collision detection this way).

The game is made with webgl.
ENJOY the Game!

Controls:
WASD to walk
space to jump(for no reason)/restart when you failed

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#713Humor2.12
#878Graphics2.58
#944Mood2.50
#998Theme2.49
#1044Fun2.41
#1071Innovation2.34
#1075Overall2.58

Comments

koalamo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:40am

Controls were a bit funky for me (sticking when changed directions, etc.) Jumping over the rocks would be a useful thing - I like the visuals though.

Lyszie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:56am

I love the challenge of walking around, it seemed like it was gonna be easy but it was hard just to the right amount, I had a fun time trying to walk the different paths. One thing I felt didn't always work was to catch the items, sometimes I walked over them more than once and wasn't able to collect them :c gratz :) nice idea!!!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:24am

Haha. love the graphics :P

komjaur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:24am

bit confusing but very cool and i think i reached the end

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:27am

Controls and collision detection are so frustrating :(

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Controls are a bit bad, but game concept is pretty great.

Hamsternator says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Very literal interpretation of the theme ^^
Those controls need some extra TLC to work properly and for some reason I didn't drop the artifacts when I fell off the edge, but I did play to the end so there's something to be had here =)

Jaucheman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:25pm

@koalamo thanks for the feedback, at first I wanted to implement jumping over rocks but i thought it would be too easy to reach the end in time when you can jump over them. So I didnt implement it :D.

Jaucheman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:29pm

@Hamsternator I fixed a few restart issues, like the artifact drop just a few seconds ago and uploaded it right before your comment came in, should be better now :)

kidanger says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:22pm

I like how the jump is useless! :D
Otherwise, controls are quite annoying, but the rest is fine.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Interesting use of the theme I'd say!

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:32am

Controls were confusing, and a bit annoying. I did however love the art style, and I really liked the "fading color" effect, it added a nice feel to the game :-)

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:38am

the controlls are a little wierd. and so is collission.

LexGear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Controls and collision detection was frustrating. Jumping made no sense? Still the concept was good and a more polished version would most likely be a lot of fun. Good job.

leondryaso says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:31pm

I liked the graphics, but the controls seemed a little bit broken. Nice idea tho.

bobrocks says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:34pm

My score was 340 ;) Not a bad game, I would like to see where you can take it. I'm guessing the controls were frustrating on purpose (similar to QWOP, though not exactly). I was able to play to completion, though. Nice work.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Iffy controls but a cool little concept. Could be clearer what to do!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:05pm

The art concept is interesting, but the guy just stopped walking now and then and the movement did not feel quite real and in my hands.

blurryroots says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:07am

The visuals are hilarious. I like the fading of existence, very poetic ;) Fun game. The controls and collision detections are clunky though.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:04pm

Great work! Short game, but quite fun. I wish the character was a bit smaller though. Even though he is transparant, he is blocking the view quite a bit. Other than that, good job! :)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Hi there. Interesting, and very tricky, camera viewpoint. I saved the world... hurrah! Shame no sound. Good job!

pjimmy says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:54am

great concept, sometimes controls can be a bit stiff, looking forward for updates

Endurion says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:16am

The link doesn't work.

grayhaze says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:39am

The odd lack of camera controls and the strange collision detection make this quite difficult to control. I often found myself blocked by invisible barriers or falling off the edge after inching closer to an artifact. Seems like it could be interesting with a bit more work though.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 3:57am

Indeed Link 1 did not work. Though then with the second one I won and saved the worlds! Controls need to vastly improve, but then if you don't bother with that the game is actually fun. Good job!

Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:40pm

The controls are a bit wonky, but cool game. I included it in part 20 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/3H1YVzN-nuA

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]