Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Super Meru-meru lightroad Deluxe

by callmemonamiral - Jam Entry

Many worlds are at war... Nothing could soothe them.
Nothing but go-kart racing!!

Fight for your world in Super Meru-meru Lightroad Deluxe, an awesome party racing game! Play as an alien, a slime, or even a beefy Pikachu!

This game has been made by Cecile Jaubert aka. Zellk (art) and Jerome Bretheau aka. Callmemonamiral (code).
Some sound effects come from Mario Kart 64.
Some musics come from nosoapradio.us, one is from Sonic.

Frequently asked question : What's the relation with "Connected worlds" ?
Each character comes from a different world, which is connected with other worlds through war ... and love for kart racing!
We really wanted to avoid the stereotype "A normal platformer but when you press a key you go in another world with different platforms.", so we chose to put the relation to the theme in the characters and story of the game instead.

*Note : requires controllers to play in multiplayer.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#92Humor(Jam)3.38
#172Graphics(Jam)3.92
#179Fun(Jam)3.41
#202Overall(Jam)3.47
#250Audio(Jam)3.35
#423Mood(Jam)3.00
#630Innovation(Jam)2.54
#704Theme(Jam)2.11

Comments

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:35am

Can't play, I don't have a joystick.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:22am

It's now possible to play solo without a controller, and to play in a web browser.

midgard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:39am

Played with controller: Controlls seemed a little confusing at first, but when you get onto it, it's really fun, and its mood is awesome! I really liked it, but I couldn't find the relation with the ld theme!

muriel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:43am

Cool game, cool sounds, cool graphics, cool camera system (when it shows you all the map) but I you should clarify how to play it without the controller (when you play single player)

Larzan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:44am

Nice gfx + music :)

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:45am

Very fun game.

Ekilibr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:45am

The game is really fun ! Too bad we can't see more characters from different universes.
Good job, though :)

Majko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:49am

Oh no. It looks awesome, it's the best game I've played so far, really awesome! But... where is the LD theme relation? :( ... Everything except theme 5 stars!

dadman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Just played this game with a friend of mine and really enjoyed it! Would love to play with 4 people and more race tracks.

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Very interesting racing game. The controls feels a bit iffy at first, but once you get used to it, it's actually pretty fun. Only tried single player, but I'm intrigued by the idea of multiplayer. Will try! Give it a go, for sure.

Nylonica says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Wish I had a controller. Nice look.

Makio64 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:31pm

cant play ( chrome / mac )

blindfox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Very good entry. There is extreme polish that is obvious when you start it up and the game handles tightly once you get used to it. A lot like Mario Kart on the SNES from an overhead view. Good track design as well. The theme is unfortunately not that strong, though. Overall a very good job and awesome art assets.

Satyre says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Funny game. It's like Mario Kart mechanics mixed with Ragnarok (the view of the field and the turn of the characters).

Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:29am

It would be awesome if there was a option to play it whith a keyboard or mouse.

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:37am

Just lovely :)

fallingBear says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Awesome game. That pikachu is just epic. :D

Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:49am

Thank you all I really appreciate the comments and feedback :D

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Definitely would've been better if I'd had a controller...and friends. xD Regardless, it was pretty good. A little weird to control, but I think that was due to using the keyboard.

yodamaster says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Hm, works well, but it doesn't show me any time, bonus, score or rating during the game. I also think you can not use ripped graphics.

Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:59am

Nice game, though it is hard for some people to play from this perspective xD

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:02pm

I like the way the theme is linked into the story of the game. Neat little racer.

StMatn says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 11:51am

Very cool game.
Some AI oponents would have really helped getting more fun out of this ;)
The graphics look really great and I kind of like the 8-direction-sprites :) I noticed, that it was a little bit unpleasant to look an your kart while moving, becase it had this "jumpy" movement. Smoothing and syncing it with the camera would be nice.
Great entry!

t4u says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:27pm

It's really difficult to play on keyboard :(

gladers says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Fun game!

Sep 12, 2014 @ 9:16pm

I dont have a controller... I included it in part 23 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/KSNN8ZCA9kQ

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]