Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Pogo the Universe

by Nick Weihs - 48 Hour Compo Entry

What happens if you take a pogo stick and jump on a trampoline? SPACE!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#97Humor3.36
#115Fun3.68
#120Innovation3.83
#153Overall3.67
#209Mood3.43
#218Graphics3.67
#260Audio3.24
#568Theme3.24

Comments

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:47pm

Nice game with a good idea, Great job

Ludipe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:17pm

I just finished the game, quite fun and very original. It was hard to control the character at first but after a few minutes you get the hang of it. I want more levels :D

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Cool artworks... cool soundscape, nice physics... never passed the secound level... I'm a noob... really cool gravity physics...

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:41am

Super solid game, takes a little while to get the hang of those controls, but really satisfying once you nail that landing. Extend it a bit and you could sell this on mobile, definitely.

lakael says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:48am

i had an absolute blast playing this game. Well done.

kewry says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:23am

Super hard to get into but really awesome once you get used to the controls, took me ages thou

Devtactics says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:41am

Happy trails! Nice job. :)

I like the fact that you've come up with a different look for space instead of just making it boring black.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:05am

super awesome game! could do with a bit more music, or make the music a bit louder. keep adding to this game. I want to see more! :D

Lokiman says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:07am

The idea is simple but it works and it's fun! :D

InfectionTeam says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:59am

Awesome idea XD really funny, but daaaamn it's hard hahaha, I kept smashing into the sun until I gave up, btw, found this weird bug lol
I landed in a planet in a way that I got stuck bouncing repeated times, made a little video of it xD https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k8i2aGeGDDo

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Once you get a handle of the controls, it's a pretty fun little game, great job :)

Budaniel says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:26am

I like the simple, clean aesthetic and the controls were pretty tight. I made it to the next universe, and am looking forward to seeing if you make a sequel.

yodamaster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:38pm

The physics drive me crazy!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Haha such a silly idea :D

commodoreKid says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Cool physics and story but really hard to understand how it really works.

Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:39am

Art-style and sounds are great! At the beginning controls are not clear enough and sometimes unpredictable, but after a couple levels you get used to it. Happy trails! :)

nesis says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Lovely game, very creative idea. The physics of it really intrigued me. Nice touch with the trail indicating your trajectory given your current input. I was tempted to see if I could build up enough momentum to slingshot out of one of the earlier levels without the trampoline, but I suspect it's not possible :(

Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:27am

This needs more levels! This is like mega intergalactic pogo trampoline jump. Really fun idea! To bad there aren't enough levels but it's a great work for the compo.

Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Cute story! I included it in part 17 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/02vIiZyi3-c

OrangeeZ says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:35am

Oh, I burned myself over 20 times at second level, lol. But other levels were pretty simple.
It was fun, thanks for this entry!

DeathPidgeon says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:36am

This is like Kerbal Space Program meets pogo sticks. I like the retro '50s graphic design and game play. Took a little pratice to get used to the controls, I thought W and S were to accelerate and slow down respectively but it turned out all the keys were directional.

bob_fish says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:37am

Great job! Loved the physics. Quite hard but good. Loved art and music, really set the mood.

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 5:32am

It was fun to slow the speed down so much that you'd stutter on top of the planets, the spammed pogo sound was just funny to boot :D

AdamHarte says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 5:43am

I was confused on the first world, but ended up playing till the end. Nice little game.

orbitantlers says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 6:47am

Amusing :)
Figuring out the controls at first made navigation difficult, but when I had them figured out it became a bit too easy.
Perhaps what threw me off at first was the way the navigation arrow "jittered"; made it seem like my input wasn't working when it actually was.

plash says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 12:28am

I like the music, but not the theme. Mechanics are too frustrating.

On the very first world, it was unclear (or rather, seemingly ineffective) that I could push the player away from the planet, and I got stuck in an ear-murdering tiny-jump position where the only way out was to restart.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]