Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Void Space

by HuvaaKoodia - Jam Entry

--WARNING!--

There is no gameplay offered at this time.
Said gameplay will be added post haste.

Delivery date uncertain.
DO NOT PANIC.

-- Controls --
Space = Toggle Simulation
Alt = Toggle Between 1x, 5x & 10x Simulation Speeds

MWheel or +/- = Camera Zoom
WASD/Arrows or RMB/Shift= Camera Pan

L = Show Debug Data

--Release notes--
V 1.0 JAM

Initial Release.

V 1.01

Optimization, AI improvement and simulation speed toggle.

V 1.05

Conquest! Debug data.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#493Innovation(Jam)2.84
#496Theme(Jam)2.90
#591Humor(Jam)1.18
#621Graphics(Jam)2.77
#668Audio(Jam)1.07
#692Mood(Jam)2.18
#759Overall(Jam)2.40
#766Fun(Jam)1.63

Comments

Axebane says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:38pm

IM PANICKING!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Pretty interesting simulation, though, despite the lack of gameplay.

cstudios says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Maybe because I am a huge fan of ant colony optimisation or its just mesmerising, I was watching it for 20 minutes... This would be a nice live background for android. How do you plan to make the gameplay? Where can I get the final version?

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:23pm

@vulpineblazeyt
Glad you liked it. Even in its current state.

@cstudios
The gameplay will be about choosing sides rather than playing as one of the factions themselves. Ain't gonna be giving anything else away yet.

I'll update this page with any new versions for now.

Skipi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:32pm

That's pretty interesting. I'd really like to see where this goes.

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:50am

I don't actually know what this is, but it would make a cool screensaver. Interesting simulation, and nice use of special effects.

kidkarnage says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:15am

Looking good! Like a simulation of synapses firing in my brain, except mine contains much more void space.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Relax time! Great simulation! But.. were is the game? However it is a good job. I have long been enraptured ;)

Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:27pm

This is the closest to me the interpretation of the theme of what I've seen here.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Verycool to watch when zoomed out, though not sure if you can class the submission as a 'game' :P

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:40pm

I am not sure what kind of game play you are going for with this, but I am interested in finding out.

LeftRight92 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Exceedingly pretty, however, due to the fact it's not a game it can't score very highly....

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Weird take on the theme. Will be waiting for the gameplay release!

invader says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:51pm

very good looking and meditative visuals...

I have troubles with zooming in and out on macosx, though. And on linux I can't even run it, since there is no unity :(

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:34pm

@invade

I though some people with wheel independent mice might have a problem with the zooms, but don't the + and - keys work either?

Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:20pm

It's only really a screen saver.

Tex Killer says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:44am

This is not really a game yet, but it looks promising! Keep it up!

xRubbermaid says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:16pm

I find it really hard to rate this as a game - I love algorithms so I feel that my opinion may be skewed. I've elected to vote by how much I feel like this should be seen, which is definitely "as much as possible". Lovely visualisation of an ant colony simulation.

frogcheese says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:44pm

It's a really nice visual design, if not very gamey. Like @xRubberMaid said, I can also a bit of an algorithm nerd at times, so I still found this to be a pretty cool thing.

RodRoy1 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Interesting sim

lkr says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:24pm

While it wasn't very interactive, I love the look of the game/simulation and how the moving thingies light up the paths as they move between nodes.

I'd love to see where you're planning on taking this :)

runvs says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Looks interesting. Don't stop! :)

Jeasonfire says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:10pm

A pretty cool simulation, the lack of gameplay didn't bother much while I stared at moving colored rectangles for a few minutes.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]