Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Phaze

by Stuffie - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Pilot your ship through an abandoned space station that has gone mysteriously silent, rumour has it that a strange dimensional anomaly occurred. Use the ships dimension jumping capabilities to shift into the other Phaze to avoid enemies or find new paths, who knows how entwined both dimensions might be.

==========================================
Footnotes
==========================================
I left the level making til the end and couldn't finish in time. The game level is currently unfinished, horribly balanced and it just ends in a big wall, but I hope you guys enjoy what v little is there.

This is my first go at sound in a LD so I hope it doesn't melt your ears :D.

====================================
Controls
====================================
WASD or Arrows to Move
SPACE to shoot
X to Phaze

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#84Graphics4.05
#124Mood3.61
#186Audio3.39
#348Theme3.53
#634Innovation3.06
#762Fun2.82
#816Overall2.95
#1836Coolness28%

Comments

nonentheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:32am

Hard, couldn't get to the wall, but pretty

Akurn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:01am

looks gorgeous, but yeah really unforgiving. Still awesome though :)

rohin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:08am

Very nice game. Please upload the source as well.

LeafThief says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:37pm

The stauff that is there is well executed. Shame you couldn't finish :/

TinyHat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Really beautiful, I dig your sounds as well. Incredible mood :)

The concept looks awesome, but I did not manage to die, and the camera was really too slow. I could not really see the link with the theme either ^^

uvwar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:41pm

I dont really get the comments about the game being hard, I just floating through most everything and nothing could actually hurt/touch/kill me. Is that normal? Otherwise really cool look and feel and nice sounds so far!

psydack says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:42pm

I love your art and that suspense. Good job
Second time i've played my ship dosnt has a collider, so I could go until the level turns blue.

Arowx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Really like where this is going. You should check out Superdimensional http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=35646 with your game and their phasing and graphics polish your onto something, contact them!

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Good game. Got to the wall. Thumbs up.

Donutttt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Loved the graphics on this, and it was really fun to play. The concept was cool and this is really impressive for a 48 hour game. Well done!

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Great mood/feel. I see a lot of potential, though it obviously needs work to be a complete piece! I didn't read your description before I played, so I was wondering what this huge blue wall was at the end. Anyway, you've created a really nice game world and I'd like to see more.

Stuffie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Thanks guys, and yeah if your floating through things something probably broke :(. Thanks for the suggestion Arowx, that was a pretty awesome, super polished (and finished :D) entry.

ClownAround says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:51am

Graphics we're very nice. Good atmosphere. My ship just floated through everything, but I could see this being a cool game when fixed.

Pavel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:06am

Great idea and good implementation of the theme. I like the graphics.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:36am

Relly good game actually.
Don't like "shmups" usually.
But this time....

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:15pm

gorgeous shadow play artwork, I really enjoyed what you had, give us more!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:26am

Good art and mood. Fun game

garygreen says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Nice looking game - and good interpretation of the theme. I couldn't get very far though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]