Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Far From Home

by Leginar - Jam Entry

An admittedly overambitious project from Governor Cruise Lines, Far From Home is a unique blend of exploration, terror, and collection. With much emphasis placed upon world-building, the framework of a much grander project is evident.

Stuck in a parallel shadow of our own world, can you collect the keys required to reopen the portal that has banished you here?

Beware the denizens of this realm, for you are far from home and they are far from merciful.

*2014/08/26 There have been a few comments pointing out how difficult/boring it is to find keys. To address this, a improved version of the game has been uploaded that provides a map in the first area. The map indicates the starting area, and every building that contains a key. Hopefully this will speed up the search. Thanks for all the great feedback. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#88Mood(Jam)3.79
#341Graphics(Jam)3.48
#470Audio(Jam)2.82
#565Overall(Jam)2.94
#639Theme(Jam)2.40
#668Innovation(Jam)2.37
#699Fun(Jam)2.32

Comments

DeathPidgeon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:43am

It's always nice to see someone make a 3D game. It's impressive that you made an entire world like this in a weekend. I really liked the mood of the game, the limited distance you could see, the snow falling and the characters moving around fit the horror aspect. I found two of the keys before I fell of the map, it felt a lot like playing a FPS, except without the gun. I would have liked it better if you could have interacted with the characters flying around you.

CoopNasty says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:00am

Interesting for sure. However, I had no sound whatsoever when I played. I wandered around for about 10 minutes, found a single enterable building and got a key. I ended up falling off the map shortly after when I wasn't paying attention. Seems like you could've used a few more hours!

shohs says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:54am

First off, it's pretty impressive that you were able to make an explorable 3d city within the time constraints. It was definitely interesting to walk around just to see the scope and variety of the city. However, I felt that searching for the keys was just a test of how long you could wander around before you stumbled into an enterable building. Maybe a map, or some sort of guidance, could have been helpful. Also, it would have been nice if the found keys were displayed. Otherwise, good job!

CoolIron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:01am

Same story. No sound. Found two keys. Fell off the map.

tommyboys0107 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:16am

I love the atmosphere!

If you are not using cursor, hide it will be better.

HellBlazer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:19am

Well, that certainly is a large map. Quite empty though, and with no indication of where to go and nothing to interact with, it gets old pretty fast for my taste. Good atmosphere though. It's a nice attempt, but as you said, probably a bit over-ambitious. I can certainly see the potential though, if you can develop the concept further.

spotco says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:08am

7/10 spookys
didn't find any keys

BMacIntosh says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:11am

The critters were actually kind of scary, even though there was no sound and they didn't interact with you at all.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:27am

Wow, ambitious. The mood is fantastic, just scale the size of your project down. The map only helps a little bit, maybe if the interesting buildings stood out visually. I love the way the enemies ignore you, it makes me feel out of place in the world.

seantheartist says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:36pm

I think this game has a lot of potential. The mood and atmosphere is great. I wish that there were more clues to find the keys and interactivity with the floaty ghoul guys

dook says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Very cool town! I thought it was just a few simple blocks at first, but the highway, the park and the crane were all recognizable! I think I'd enjoy it more as a simple exploration game, perhaps with a compas and without the deadly ghost things. I had a better time just looking around than worrying about random creatures hitting me from behind. The mood in this was fantastic :)

varun says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:30am

Mood was really great - also amazing that you were able to construct an entire city! One thing is that it was kind of easy to get lost and wander around without direction. Instead of a map at the beginning that people have to memorize, maybe do something like the sword in Shadow of the Colossus, where it shows you the general direction.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:44am

Pretty great, nice big world to explore in, however, too many of those things spawn behind me so they touch me without me being able to do anything about it... Impressive on how you made such a big city in under 3 days.
And a tip:
Screen.showCursor = false;
Screen.lockCursor = true;
if (escape is pressed){
Application.Quit();
}

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:04am

3D horror without graphics. But scary.
Actually didn't realize what to do, and just lurked around %)

goffmog says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:42am

Loved the atmosphere but would have liked some more guidance on reaching my objectives, not quest helpers per se but perhaps some subtle visual or audio clues when I'm "getting warm". Impressed by the amount of hand crafted content, there's a reason I almost always do something procedural for Ludum Dare :)

Sunflower says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:35pm

The non-improved version: nay. I was just wandering aimlessly, didn't find any key, tried to get hit by the enemy, but eventually I couldn't.

The improved version: better, but still far from my favourite. There's nice music, sometimes not as nice sounds (the key one was rather loud) better graphics and buildings, I even managed to get hit by enemy even though I didn't want that. However, the walking was still terribly slow compared to this vast, vast city and without any compass I got lost, gathering only one key total. >.<
Plus, I encountered some invisible walls. Perhaps they were intentional, maybe not, but still they don't give a good impression. ^^"

(also, I rated the non-improved version, since that's the one that counted in the Jam; the fixes in improved one are far from minor)

Sep 11, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Nice simplistic style! I also really like the kinda silent hill feeling. Btw. we also had some problems with difficulty - but have not fixed them so far.

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Very moody

fisholith says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 10:21am

Cool game. Very atmospheric. I got within about 200 feet of the last key 6 times, and each time my final scraps of hp got pick pocketed by that ever-unseen guy who always spawns right behind you. I found that it might be easier to work the map counterclockwise, as it seems like the ghost rate increases on a per-key basis. (Or is it just time?) There's less distance between the last keys, so if it's per key, then you spend less time in ghost avalanche (which sounds like a Scifi original movie) mode. The scale is really impressive. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]