Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Big Fish Little Fish

by adamyounis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first "completed" entry to Ludum Dare! Very buggy, very glitchy. but almost feature-complete!

Big Fish Little Fish is a game about the connected worlds of the remora and the shark: Symbiosis.

Control the remora with your mouse to avoid barracuda and to cling to sharks. The remora survives by eating parasites on the sharks skin but it is only possible to cling to a shark that has been working up a sweat. Try to survive while being left, vulnerable in the open water.

If you spend too long without clinging to a shark, or if a barracuda attacks you while on your own, you die :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#56Graphics4.19
#133Innovation3.80
#363Overall3.40
#687Theme3.07
#934Fun2.60
#1985Coolness20%

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:17am

i like this game

Lyszie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:50am

Such a different game :o I enjoyed playing it but oh my, I'm not so great with the controls haha had a hard time trying to attach to the sharks!

adamyounis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:11am

Haha thanks, It's not your fault. I made a decision not so long before i submitted to make it so that you can only attach to sharks when they have less than half of their health, but there's currently no visual feedback that that is happening. If i could spend more time, that would definitely be one of the first things I would change.

hazzahazzam says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:00am

Great idea, not executed as well as it could have been, got a bug where two sharks spawned at the same position and they spazzed. Great art though!

Lancelot Gao says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:26pm

Great mood, love the atmosphere.

renatopp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:37pm

The art, music and mechanics are good. The gameplay not that much, but it have potential! Great job.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:53am

Nice game, the music reminds me of Donkey Kong. Controls felt good too.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Hi there. Love the idea, the music/sounds, the graphics. The way you curl around the animation of the remora is excellent, very organic feeling. Good job!

adamyounis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Thanks for your reviews guys. I am a bit bummed I couldn't quite get that game loop tightened very well but I'm glad you like some of the production values. This was a huge step up from my last Ludum Dare entry, so I expect a lot of myself next time. Hopefully something that's fun and functional.

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Veri good desing, art and mood. And concept also. I enjoyed!

concalf says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:21am

i specially like the intro and the scale of things!

Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:55am

Great mood! Very immersive! But the gameplay except exploration not clear enough. Anyway it was really enjoyable swimming among giant fishes. Good job!

ClownAround says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:18am

Very cool idea. Love the art. A bit buggy and a sorta hard. But, I really liked it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]