Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Who We Can't See

by DrHahn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I wish I was in your world, I wish you were real.

Who We Can't See is based around the idea of imaginary friends, and what if we we're our imaginary friends imaginary friend in another dimension.

Combat isn't taught the best, but both characters experience each others timeline linearly, but the enemies exist across time and space. I'm going to be doing a postmortem on my efforts later this evening, but until then enjoy the game.

EDIT: Source code added, web version tested and failed to function properly. Will continue looking into it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#172Fun3.56
#320Audio3.12
#379Overall3.38
#403Theme3.44
#404Humor2.56
#534Mood3.00
#598Graphics3.04
#713Innovation2.96
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:26am

Very awesome concept! Loved the mechanic of switching in-between the two characters. Thanks for sharing!

2HitMatt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:27am

I only just survived that last battle. Fun little battler.

Nanofus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:38am

One of the best games I've played so far. Loved the graphics and the concept.

Zoomyzoom says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:28am

When I click web, it tries to make me download an EXE?

Zer0 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:38am

I think the Web Player doeasnt work...to bad... :(

DrHahn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:54am

Fixed it, just download the Windows version the web one is broken.

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:55am

Web is for browser-playable games, not for download.

BillToWin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Very nice sprites and animations. The characters' directional attacks were hard to use due to the coupling of aiming and movement. But, maybe I'm just bad.

5T4MP5 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Some way to aim the projectile shots would be nice, but otherwise I really liked this. Good interpretation of the theme, and both characters were fun to play with. Also, the red player character's AOE feels pretty good to execute.

hate-marina says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:16pm

There are no dubstep soundtrack, thanks!
Nice one :D

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Good game. I like the switching between players. Fun hectic little battle game. And the attack powers are nice. GJ

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:32am

The game is really challenging, the idea of switching character is interesting and well executed. The only thing I would complain about is the red character "x" attack, it is kind of hard to aim but that's a minor thing once I got used to the control. Nice work :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Very nice game!

ccglp says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Good idea, I like the graphic elements and the switch between characters.

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:20pm

NICE JOB i died a bunch i suck lol i hope u keep going with it
mine is holiday nightmare check it out

dancingmad says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 11:17am

Very nice game! I was expecting more levels, but hey, it's a 48h compo entry.

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Solid concept

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]