Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Light Year Wars

by nicotuason - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A Galcon-like with gracefully arcing swarms and no numbers.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#26Graphics4.37
#33Fun3.94
#34Overall4.02
#42Mood3.93
#75Audio3.70
#255Theme3.67
#508Innovation3.23
#663Humor2.17

Comments

petrocket says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Sweet! Really like this idea and looks nice too

tillrobby says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Wow this look really good O_O Note for self: learn to do art :P

Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:52pm

Lovely. I really enjoyed it!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:28am

Nice mood for this little war. Original concept and minimalist environment. Well done ++

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:00am

It has a very relaxing vibe. The sound and graphics were beautiful.

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:06am

The minimalist style is really great - the relaxing tones and soft colors complement each other well. My only grip is that the dragging is a bit finicky/repetitive.

iSamurai says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:19am

Awesome art and sound. It's very nice that RTS can be simplified to this dimension, and yet keeps what's most fun about it.
Your work also reminds me of another game Solar Max 2. It's quite impressive to have done so much in 48 hours.
The only minor flaw may be the game is "too minimalism". For me, I would like a bit more data about the current world status. But anyway, impressive work!

cmayhem says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:32am

One of the best so far, quite relaxing even when you are frantically trying to win a planet over.
Gets tedious though in the end. Needs more variety.

iSamurai says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:47am

I want to make some more comments after I finished all the levels.
The game becomes deeper as progress further. More sides are added and more strategic consideration are required to win. This is nice as sometimes you need to act fast, sometimes you need to think more. This adds more variety to the game.

Joshua_S says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:54am

The graphic style and mood combined with the simple sound fx help this game stand out.

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:56am

Nice! Great visualization of sending swarms to another planet.

LaFleur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:56am

Wow. This is flawless. Great mood, easy to understand gameplay, and cute art! Great job!

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:56am

Very addictive! Also loved the way the information was presented. Nice one :)

polarkac says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:57am

Awesome. Really like the game. Great for relaxing.

Kedume Bits says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:57am

Very nice. The best game of the Ludum Dare i've played until now.

Vandash says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:58am

If you haven't played it yet, play Galcon :)

Split82 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:50am

Even though the gameplay is almost the same as in galcon, this looks and plays very sweet. Good job.

pythong says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:29am

very polished game, good job

fizzd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:45am

Wonderful style! Took me a while to understand what the legend meant (filling from outside vs filling from inside for example) but once I did it struck me as being very elegant.

simplesmiler says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:15am

Gorgeous. Sound, visuals, atmosphere -- everything fits together.

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:17am

I could spend hours playing this.

Absolutely fantastic.

Agecaf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:32pm

This is so fun! Also, the graphics and audio are executed brilliantly!

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Wow! This game Is EXCELLENT! Love the mechanics and beat this one!
Last level is very interesting =)

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:53pm

The concept is not very innovative, but the game is very well polished and kept me playing for a long time.

Laralyn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Great game! I'd love to play/buy a full version of it!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Beat all 12 levels, that was fun!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Pretty impresive achiviment on flash.

JaJ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:17pm

I love this. I love how you made size and travel distance between set points an important factor. Makes it feel very fresh and more strategic than similar games.

sharpcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Amazing game. I had a lot of fun with this. It's actually pretty engaging.

Mali says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:32am

Spent a silly amount of time on this. Nice one!

PixelOaks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:40am

This was a pretty fun play. The minimal graphics really looks nice. I wouldn't mind playing something like this on my iPad - SrB

maloki says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:54am

Loving it! Clean style with addicting gameplay. :D

brian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:11am

cool game!

syawqy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:58am

simple graphic but feel polished

EnigmAraigne says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Nice game i like this one.

dustyroom says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Very, very addictive. Clean good-looking style. The audio is clipping though. Congrats!

graebor says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Love it, nice zen feel, easy to pick up and play. Beautiful.

Robinerd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Really great atmosphere from the sounds. Great color palette too.

nikki93 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Initially I thought this wasn't gonna be fun, but I was hooked after I won the first level. This is pretty great. The art style is good too. Good work!

jomomomo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:22am

That was really really satisfying. Thanks!

kebabskal says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:42am

Easily my favourite so far. Had a blast playing it :) Perfectly balanced for my skills. The clean graphics style is great, emphasises the strategic elements. AI was pretty good and level progressing felt perfect. Good job!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:38am

Nice. A love galcon-like mechanics and this one is polished so good. Minimalism rules.

Majko says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:10am

This is the most entertaining game here. The concept is so beautifully simple! This is the one and only game here, I've finished. The only minus is sounds. When it plays at one time, it became really annoying. But otherwise, really, gj.

Navarckyx says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Didn't work in my browser, but the screenshot looks awesome. I like glowy shiny colourful things.

RFMTeam says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Gorgeous take on a classic mechanic!

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Nifty little twitch RTS. Have to react quickly for the best advantage, and gets ridiculous later on. Nice simple visuals & easy to understand concept. Nicely done!

stasss says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Stylish, polyshed, great result. Nothing redundant, everything fits perfectly.Like a lot!

sekaru says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:29am

Nice, simple and well executed, loved it.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Great game! Reminds me of my own a bit :) I really like such strategy/puzzle games!

CaptainNakou says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:19am

Please, release it for mobile :D

nonetheless says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Amazing visuals and sounds. It looks and feels really incredible. Audio seems a little overamplified but maybe it is an error on my side. You did really great job, I love it :)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Hi there. Fantastic abstract game. Really like the movement and the speed - just great. Sounds fit perfectly. Really good job!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Now that I can vote I vote for it. Again, I loved it! About my game I put a few comments explaining what's going on! haha.

goosetickler says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:52am

Fun fast paced twitch game, really liked the minimal style.

bytegrove says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Wow! This is really a favourite of mine! The minimalistic art style manages to convey space battles of a much more epic scale. I feel like I'm watching the battlements display on a large battle cruiser in deep space. The ambient sound effects really solidifies the mood. I like that you've implemented a "progress" bar at the bottom as well.
Really nice work! :)

Simon says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Very cool game. Great job. Look&feel is perfect. Maybe it would benefit from different planet behaviors so that you can have more strategy!

Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Pretty! :D

vividhelix says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:03am

Beautiful graphics and colors and solid gameplay!

silentlamb says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:05am

Please, do mobile version after the LD. I'd pay to play this on my phone. Awesome game.

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Well this is Eufloria :D But it's fit with the theme, the minimalist art is beautiful and the sound design very good. Well done.

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Oh i forget, the gamepley needs you to react and think quick wish is cool !

Moosefly says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Haha, even though our aesthetical approaches are totally different, the core gameplay is almost a 1:1 match (well, we did take inspiration from the same game after all :P). Loved the style, even though sometimes the sound effects were a bit jarring and sounded "scratchy" for some reason.

Trough my inside knowledge I dominated the AIs with ease. The multiple selection was really handy and made the game a lot more fun to play! Really good compo entry all in all!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

mcapraro says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 4:53am

wow, such a lovely and smooth execution. i really really liked this one. great job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]