Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Star Crossed

by jayemjee - Jam Entry

"Once upon a time, and purely by chance,
The Sun and the Moon would share a dance."

The Prince of the Sun and Princess of the Moon are in love, but can never be together. Now, they've decided to elope, but the forces of the Cosmos stand in their way!

An endless side-scrolling shooter. Made in Game Maker Studio.

Because it's not too clear in-game, whichever character is inactive slowly regains health and energy. Also, the bubbles are enemy projectiles, not bonuses.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#72Audio(Jam)3.82
#99Theme(Jam)3.76
#208Fun(Jam)3.35
#303Overall(Jam)3.33
#472Innovation(Jam)2.88
#505Graphics(Jam)3.06
#1730Coolness33%

Comments

okmmjyygv says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:56am

I really liked that song at the start. Also it was a good idea to use 2 characters. However it gets boring after playing a few minutes. But generally i liked your game :)

wolfmother says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:59am

Don't see why you needed to .zip that, it's a single file.
Excellent intro. Is that you playing Moonlight Sonata on guitar? Very nice. Same with the in-game music.
Mechanics are solid, tag-team shmup.
Nice use of 3D models - not something you see done often in game jams.
Sprites aren't half bad.
Sounds are pretty good.
Fair effort overall.

schizokoa says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Very nice and unexpected use of the theme!

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:03am

Very cool game. Good use of the theme to make your own concept. I like the fact that you made your character 3D while keeping the rest 2D. Good job!

ninjascript says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:27am

Interesting gameplay.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:30am

Loved the gameplay! The switching out was really well done.

strong99 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Loved the switching between characters, didn't feel like the art 3d vs 2d where in balance. I agree with okmmjyygv it became a bit of repetitive. Loved the background!

TKia_ says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:18am

While the game itself wasn't the best, I loved the music and the concept!

MercuryLegba says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 3:59pm

God, I love side scrolling space shooter. This might be for simple for some people, but I loved it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]