Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

wrldDIVISION

by orbitantlers - Jam Entry

A spatial thinking vaguely puzzle like game by @orbitantlers.

Controls: WASD or arrow keys
Mute audio: M

Additional Credit:
--Ryan Hill: Extra shapes
--@torahhorse: Fade in/out scripts

*I can put up Download versions if anyone wants to play fullscreen, etc.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#9Innovation(Jam)4.33
#46Audio(Jam)3.93
#62Theme(Jam)3.86
#65Overall(Jam)3.84
#124Graphics(Jam)4.09
#135Fun(Jam)3.52
#139Mood(Jam)3.60
#557Humor(Jam)1.88

Comments

katierose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:11am

this is really neat! super interesting mechanic. gets very hard (in a good way).

moomoo112 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:27am

Trippy, movement was a bit odd at first, but the music and sounds fit great.

Nonameghost says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:32am

Great stuff. Stunning visuals and music. I picked up on the mechanic but I'm stuck on the 4th level. I'll definitely come back to this later!

yagairudi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:40am

I got stuck on the 3rd level, but other than that this game has a good concept. The controls are so-so, and sometimes I get stuck without knowing why (invisible walls maybe?)

orbitantlers says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:49am

@ yagairudi / anyone:

There are indeed "invisible walls", but they are only invisible on one side of the screen. You have to cross reference the screens to figure out how to navigate around them.

If you get stuck on the third level, try using a bit of momentum.

Managore says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:52am

Wow, this game is absolutely incredible! Congratulations!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:12am

Solid puzzle game. I think sometimes, like in level 3, it is hard to tell where exactly the ball needs to be placed. That may just be part of the difficulty tho! either way it was quite enjoyable. :)

monsterkillu says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:21am

Quite interesting indeed ... Sfx & music are cool too .. But quite disorienting :)

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:34am

Interesting mechanical and I like this mood - strange and sometime oppressive. Music adds to sensation of freedom. Well done ++

mcapraro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:54am

love the concept here, great executions too, congrats!

panurge says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:50am

Very interesting mechanics and a nice difficulty curve. Music and visuals pair really well together to create a strong mood. Very enjoyable!

IamAcoconut says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:03pm

I've never seen anything like this before. It's fun but challenging, good game!

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:33pm

That was realy cool! Quit a stubborn ball though :)

NuSan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Great visual and sound, I like this kind of mood. I realy cant figure out the rules of motion, but after a while, I did managed to finish it twice. Keep up the good work !

Aumni says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:52pm

The graphics and music are amazing!! The gameplay and concept are interesting. It was weird to understand the movement at first but eventually got the hang of it!

DarkCart says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Interesting! Why does it say "Trial Version"?

43iscoding says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:01pm

interesting mechanic, but it is extremely hard to move the ball the proper way.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:42pm

Nice music and style in general. Some of the levels, like the invisible cube I just got past them by sheer luck. It's really hard!

nonetheless says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:53am

One of the best, love the style. Idea is pretty neat, getting hard quickly. Great entry :)

zillix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:10am

simple controls, intuitive gameplay, great idea and fantastic visuals. awesome work.

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:10am

Great job, it's a good idea and very fun to play but I had some problem to understand how works the physic

akymos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Really good game!

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:04am

I'm just going to tell you that I put 5 stars on innovation because that was the most innovative game I've rated so far. Great job!

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:06am

Interesting concept and very challenging!

alvivar says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:20am

beautiful.

i like a lot the song.

Ditto says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:33am

This feels VERY different! It's so beautiful, I love the minimalism! <3 The controls are super strange, but after a while I got used to it and then it feels natural. Music is fucking great! Great job overall! D:

The level where the left side is completely invisible was strange, I ended up just randomly rotating 'til I got it .. lol

Aske says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Wow really great soundtrack!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:01pm

The mood of this one is great. The puzzle solving, graphics and music just work so well together. Later levels were to difficult for me but I still had fun trying to get the ball in position.

igoramendola says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Interesting concept. Sometimes my brain couldn't understand the logic and relation between both sides hehehe... but I passed doing randomly movements. And the music sounds very nice.

Fahmi says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:00am

Really like the puzzle. Well done. The mechanics are simple, but the puzzles are quite smart.

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Really nice use of shaders and the audio was spot on. Very difficult. It's hard to grasp how the small ball's physics work. But, overall great job.

jprogman says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 2:27am

This is a strange game, but not a bad thing at all! Although I do myself annoyed with objects obstructing the view of the ball. The physics is not perfect as the ball kept getting stuck when reaching up slopes. Maybe I need to build speed to reach up those slopes? Very nice game overall!

Wertle says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 6:09am

This is like some weird cross between Bounden and Antichamber and I love how weird it feels. The minimilist level was a bit much. Great simple aesthetic and fun exploratory puzzle. Well done!

Nick Weihs says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 6:12am

This idea has a ton of potential, but I feel like the actual level design resulted in some awkward flailing around. If you could clean that up and make the solutions to the levels a bit more elegant, I feel like this has the potential to be a full release.

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 3:50am

Cool concept. Took me a bit to get used to looking at both screens to figure it out but was fun :)

Sep 12, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Fun puzzle game. Well done. I included it in part 23 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/KSNN8ZCA9kQ

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]